1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

When does the epoch change?

Discussion in 'Civ4 - General Discussions' started by hong, Sep 9, 2006.

  1. hong

    hong Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Messages:
    21
    Location:
    Australia
    Possibly a newb question, but how does the game determine when you enter the Classical era, Renaissance, Industrial etc? Is it a matter of having the right techs?
     
  2. holy king

    holy king Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    16,323
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    yeah, it changes when you get your first tech of that era
     
  3. Civ4rulesTH

    Civ4rulesTH Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2006
    Messages:
    106
    So basically sometimes you discover a classical tech and enter classical era and then if you build The Oracle in the same turn and get a medieval tech you are in the medieval area within the same year :)
     
  4. wkndwrrr

    wkndwrrr Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Messages:
    155
    Yes. I have done that more than once actually.

    For Example, researching any one of these before the others in its same list will move you into the epoc that it is connected with


    Starter Classical Techs:
    Iron Working
    Metal Casting
    Monarchy
    Literature
    Alphabet
    Drama
    Math

    Starter Medieval Techs:
    Machinery
    Theology
    Civil Service
    Feudalism
    Philosophy
    Music

    Starter Rennaisance Techs:
    Printing Press
    Gunpowder
    Education
    Liberalism
    Nationalism
    Military Tradition


    Assuming you bought a normal copy of the game, all the starter techs are listed as the first row of techs for each epoc on the tech tree poster that came with the game, as well as in the Civilopedia and in-game progress tree.
     
  5. hong

    hong Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Messages:
    21
    Location:
    Australia
    Thanks for the list! My copy of Civ came bundled with the video card, so the manual is in pdf form. Not very convenient for browsing away from the computer.
     
  6. Older than Dirt

    Older than Dirt King

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2005
    Messages:
    874
    Location:
    Swamps of Houston
    Is there any significance to the changing of eras, except to warn you of the change in music?
     
  7. Mewtarthio

    Mewtarthio Emperor

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2004
    Messages:
    1,930
    The techs in each successive epoch are significantly more costly (note that this only applies to the techs of the latest epoch: The techs in previous epochs do not become more expensive). Also, advancing through the epochs updates the look of your cities. Lastly, playing a custom game and starting in a later era gives you all the techs from any epoch before that (starting in the Future Era gives you every tech in the game and starts you at Future Tech 0).
     

Share This Page