Why Does The Game Engine Auto Assign Citizens To Suboptimal Plots?!

Discussion in 'Civ6 - General Discussions' started by OzzyKP, Mar 11, 2021.

  1. OzzyKP

    OzzyKP Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2000
    Messages:
    1,729
    Location:
    Washington, DC USA
    Can someone explain why the city picks the 1 food, 3 production tile over the 1 food, 3 production, 2 faith, 2 gold and 1 science tile? Grrr.



    Moderator Action: Updated title so subject of thread is more clear.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 13, 2021
    Hellenism Salesman likes this.
  2. Elhoim

    Elhoim Iron Tower Studio Dev

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    2,654
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    San Isidro, Argentina.
    Why? There's no why.

    Did you just improve it? I think that the game does the auto-assign at end of turn.
     
    Hellenism Salesman likes this.
  3. OzzyKP

    OzzyKP Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2000
    Messages:
    1,729
    Location:
    Washington, DC USA
    Nope, it was improved a long time ago. So it was sitting like that for a while before I noticed.
     
    Hellenism Salesman likes this.
  4. iammaxhailme

    iammaxhailme Emperor

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2015
    Messages:
    1,858
    Do you have your citizen focus on "avoid faith" or something similar?
     
  5. OzzyKP

    OzzyKP Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2000
    Messages:
    1,729
    Location:
    Washington, DC USA
    Nope, none of the citizen focus things are selected.
     
    Hellenism Salesman likes this.
  6. Hellenism Salesman

    Hellenism Salesman Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2020
    Messages:
    404
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Macedon
    :undecide::sad::dunno:
     
  7. AntSou

    AntSou Deity

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2019
    Messages:
    2,039
    I've seen this occur on occasion. Maybe there's coal in those woods.

    Edit: nvm, there would be no reason for the code to prioritise working a strat resource.
     
    Hellenism Salesman likes this.
  8. Time Tested

    Time Tested Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    Messages:
    115
    Wonder if it's something new or if I've just been micromanaging tiles more often these days. I just had something similar in my recent game where the auto pick was a 2-food tile when a 2-food, 1-prod tile was available.
     
    Last edited: Mar 12, 2021
  9. chazzycat

    chazzycat Deity

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,918
    I swear I have seen some funky things like this in the recent patch. will keep my eye out for an example to capture
     
  10. kaspergm

    kaspergm Deity

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2012
    Messages:
    5,295
    Here's one from my current game kind of in the same genre:
    Spoiler :
    upload_2021-3-12_23-20-52.png

    Game decides to expand to the 4F rice tile instead of claiming the 6F2P1S hill to the south-east, they are same distance from city centre.
     
    Zaarin, Banazir864 and AntSou like this.
  11. chazzycat

    chazzycat Deity

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,918
    I believe OP was referring to the tiles being worked, not the candidates for expansion. The expansion algorithm is a whole nother thing...it has always preferred flat ground as well as resources so I am not surprised by that choice.
     
    Babri and Banazir864 like this.

Share This Page