1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Why I still play CIV:BERT.

Discussion in 'CivBE - General Discussions' started by Lightjolly, Mar 13, 2016.

1. Lightjolly

Lightjolly Chieftain

I'm new to 4X games, I've always been more of an RTS and MOBA player. But I just wanted to give these type of games a go.

I've heard many things about the CIV franchise, how 5 is supposedly the best and BE was dissapointing.

So you'd think I'd go buy the game that has the biggest fanbase and better reception from the 4X games community.

But I didn't, why? The setting enticed me, the idea of colonizing an alien planet to me just sounded so much cooler than nuking ghandi.

Do I regret it? No.
    Is CIV 5 better in everyway? Probably , I don't know since I haven't played it and probably never will since I'm kinda of tired of history/Fantasy based games ( Coming off of games like Age of Empires and Dota)
    But nevertheless, I'm having a blast playing BE , maybe it's cause i'm a flithy 4X casual.

Yes the game has some glaring flaws but I still love it and really hope Firaxis give's the game one final chance and release a second expansion and fix most of the games problems.

TLDR: I love BERT mostly cause I'm a 4X noob who loves SCI FI settings. :lol:

So why do you still play this game, when there's supposedly better options out there?

PS: I have tried another 4X games after BERT called Endless Legend but the fantasy setting just bored me.

2. Gorbles

Gorbles Load Balanced

I'm a lot like you; I'm very bored of historical Civilisation, and Beyond Earth was something fresh and new. If I didn't have too many new things going on I'd still be playing BE, but I'm a bit busy with the new attention Dawn of War II has been getting in recent months.