1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Widescreen Monitor Support

Discussion in 'Civ4 - General Discussions' started by francois9, Nov 12, 2005.

  1. francois9

    francois9 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2005
    Messages:
    27
    Hi.

    For those who might know, does the game support the 1680x1050 of the Dell 2005FPW 20" monitor?

    I am seriously considering getting this monitor, but I need to know how Civ4 might look on it. It would be a BIG bonus if the game could be displayed in the monitor's native resolution of 1680x1050.

    Thankx!!
     
  2. padlock

    padlock Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2003
    Messages:
    106
    I'm playing at 1920x1200 (16x10 ratio) on my monitor with no issues. The game supported it right out of the box.
     
  3. francois9

    francois9 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2005
    Messages:
    27
    :eek:

    *faints*
     
  4. Equisilus

    Equisilus Unlikely

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2005
    Messages:
    157
    Location:
    Canada
    I'm playing on my 2005FPW 1680x1050 without a hitch. Fun.
     
  5. Kornflake™

    Kornflake™ Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 23, 2004
    Messages:
    15
    Location:
    West Yorkshire
    Playing 1920x1200 on my Dell 2405FPW, runs perfectly
     
  6. Loopy

    Loopy Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2001
    Messages:
    202
    I'm playing at 1920x1200 on my 2405FPW too and the only catch is you need a wee bit more GPU power than normal to run at all the highest graphics levels.
     
  7. werdna

    werdna Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2001
    Messages:
    112
    I also play on dell 2405 with 1920x1200 resolution with no prob.
    And my system is not that good: Radeon 9800 pro, Athlon 2200+ with 1GB Ram.
    It gets a bit slow by the end of the game, but the graphics run smooth.
     
  8. screwtype

    screwtype Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Messages:
    291
    Don't you find the text too small to read at really high resolutions?

    My 17" monitor is set to 1024x768 and I have to up Windows' DPI setting to 120 or the text is too small to read. But a lot of programs don't recognize other than the default DPI.
     
  9. AER

    AER Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Messages:
    43
    His resolution on that monitor probably results in larger text than your resolution on your monitor.

    Actually, I did the calculations, and it is a bit smaller on his monitor. Yours is 12" wide with 1024 pixels, and his is 17" wide with 1900 pixels:

    1024/12" = 85.3 pixels/inch
    1900/17" = 111.76 pixels/inch
     
  10. werdna

    werdna Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2001
    Messages:
    112
    where did you get the measurments from?
    I just measured my screen and it's 20.25 in wide by 13 in high (just the screen itself)
    so that's 93 pixels/inch which is close to standard 96 dpi.
    I don't find the text too small at all.
     
  11. screwtype

    screwtype Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Messages:
    291
    Okay AER, I'll take your word for it on those calculations ;)
     
  12. screwtype

    screwtype Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Messages:
    291
    Still smaller than mine :lol:
     
  13. AER

    AER Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Messages:
    43
    I dunno, a google link to a 2405 review said that it was 17" wide viewable. It seemed kind of small.
     
  14. francois9

    francois9 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2005
    Messages:
    27
    On this site:

    http://www.widescreengamingforum.com/masterlist.php

    it is mentioned that CIv4 implements widescreen by simple stretching the normal 4:3 image. This is obviously incorrect, not?

    If it was stretching to accomplish widescreen, you wouldnt actually see more of the map, everything would just strectch horisontally, creating "fat" graphics.

    Is this site wrong with their facts?
     
  15. francois9

    francois9 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2005
    Messages:
    27
    On this site:

    http://www.widescreengamingforum.com/masterlist.php

    it is mentioned that CIv4 implements widescreen by simple stretching the normal 4:3 image. This is obviously incorrect, not?

    If it was stretching to accomplish widescreen, you wouldnt actually see more of the map, everything would just strectch horisontally, creating "fat" graphics.

    Is this site wrong with their facts?
     

Share This Page