Wonder Movies

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Graphics Modpacks' started by GIR, Sep 9, 2007.

  1. GIR

    GIR It'sNotStupidIt'sAdvanced

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2005
    Messages:
    884
    Location:
    EU
  2. ambrox62

    ambrox62 Emperor

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    Messages:
    1,294
    Sphinx movie gives me an error (CTD) when pharaon comes out from a building :confused:
    I've downloaded and tested great wall/via appia/forbidden palace successfully ;)
     
  3. oaklanbash

    oaklanbash Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Messages:
    31
    Why the Great Wall movie if you don't mind me asking :) I live in China (well I have for almost 3 years now) so anything Chinese related I love to download. But don't want to take a chance of messing up a fresh install of BtS on this just yet hehe.
     
  4. asioasioasio

    asioasioasio Fallout Scrubber

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    3,058
    Location:
    Poland, EU
    Hi awesome movies.

    I have just one question
    About forbidden palace - where i should place this code?

    def onBuildingBuilt(self, argsList):
    'Building Completed'
    pCity, iBuildingType = argsList

    ########################
    ### FORBIDDEN PALACE ###
    ########################
    if ( iBuildingType==gc.getInfoTypeForString("BUILDING_FORBIDDEN_PALACE") ):
    popupInfo = CyPopupInfo()
    popupInfo.setButtonPopupType(ButtonPopupTypes.BUTTONPOPUP_PYTHON_SCREEN)
    popupInfo.setData1(iBuildingType)
    popupInfo.setData2(pCity.getID())
    popupInfo.setData3(0)
    popupInfo.setText(u"showWonderMovie")
    popupInfo.addPopup(pCity.getOwner())

    could you give example or more explanation - i'm dumb in python, sorry
     
  5. hrochland

    hrochland Prince

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,339
    Location:
    Czech Kingdom
    Hi
    I have question too. I made xml settings for my wonders in BtS version of my mod. Video not display...
    Is it problem of whom write Asio? Must I write something to the python for new video displaying?
     
  6. GIR

    GIR It'sNotStupidIt'sAdvanced

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2005
    Messages:
    884
    Location:
    EU
    Anybody else with this problem?
    Currently I’m at home and can’t test the movies (didn’t test them after uploading).
    If it’s a corrupt file I will upload the movie again.

    Well, the Wonder movies I uploaded are very old. They where part of my SevoMod add-on and this was before Warlords (there was no Great Wall in vanilla civ 4).
    I just uploaded them because maybe someone can use the movies as well.

    the easiest way is if you open the eventManager.py file in your mod folder and search for:
    “def onBuildingBuilt(self, argsList):”

    then add the lines like above.

    Currently I’m at home and don’t have a copy of civ4 so I can’t upload an example, sorry.


    If you have a normal wonder you don’t need any python code to display movies.
    For new wonder movies you have to add the movie line in the CIV4BuildingInfos.xml file:
    Code:
    <MovieDefineTag>ART_DEF_MOVIE_FORBIDDEN_PALACE</MovieDefineTag>
    And the movie line in the CIV4ArtDefines_Movie.xml file in the art folder:
    Code:
     		<MovieArtInfo>
    			<Type>ART_DEF_MOVIE_FORBIDDEN_PALACE</Type>
    			<Path>Assets/Art/Movies/wonders/forbiddenpalace.bik</Path>
    			<KFM>None</KFM>
    		</MovieArtInfo>

    then you should see your new wonder/project movies.
    (Only for national wonders you need the python code)

    (Note: i'm not sure if there is a KFM line in the BtS version of the movie.xml file - just make it like the other wonders in the file.)
     
  7. hrochland

    hrochland Prince

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,339
    Location:
    Czech Kingdom
    I can already see it. I don´t write ASSETS to the path to bik file...
    Thanks
     
  8. GIR

    GIR It'sNotStupidIt'sAdvanced

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2005
    Messages:
    884
    Location:
    EU
    That was the vanilla version. In BTS you don't need the "Assets/..." I think...
     
  9. hrochland

    hrochland Prince

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,339
    Location:
    Czech Kingdom
    In vanilla version have had a number new wonders and video displayed no problem...
    In BtS version of my mod i used same path style
    ART_DEF_MOVIE_... in buildings.xml
    and
    <MovieArtInfo>
    <Type>ART_DEF_MOVIE_DUBAI</Type>
    <Path>Art/Movies/Wonders/Dubai.bik</Path>
    <KFM>None</KFM>
    </MovieArtInfo> in art movie defines
    but video not display :( I can not find where I have error :( Not video, not a blue border - nothing
     
  10. GIR

    GIR It'sNotStupidIt'sAdvanced

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2005
    Messages:
    884
    Location:
    EU
    Now I have uploaded a DEMO mod for this wonder movie: ForbiddenPalace Mod




    hmm, i have no problems with my vids... try to not use the KFM line:
    Code:
    		<MovieArtInfo>
    			<Type>ART_DEF_MOVIE_FORBIDDEN_PALACE</Type>
    			<Path>Art/Movies/Wonders/forbiddenpalace.bik</Path>
    		</MovieArtInfo>
     
  11. Roamty

    Roamty BTS

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2005
    Messages:
    538
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    South Park
    Gir can we ask you to make a Christmas Wonder Movie for Christmas Civ
     
  12. GIR

    GIR It'sNotStupidIt'sAdvanced

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2005
    Messages:
    884
    Location:
    EU

    what Christmas Civ :confused:
     
  13. hrochland

    hrochland Prince

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,339
    Location:
    Czech Kingdom
    I already manage it :) My big error with movies. I set my new wonders as national :) :) :) No movies:)
     
  14. I'm your Daddy

    I'm your Daddy Your just my play thing

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    93
    Just download the great wall movie.. Nice!! Thank you! I look foward to more of your movies! :goodjob: If there is one thing that has gone down hill from the previous civ games its the movies, you really bring some of that atmosphere back!
     
  15. GIR

    GIR It'sNotStupidIt'sAdvanced

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2005
    Messages:
    884
    Location:
    EU
    Added Galileo Telescope Wonder Movie.
    See first post.
     
  16. Dida

    Dida YHWH

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    3,426
    Please have the decency of noting that these movies are not your original creation but are rather conventions from the CTP and CTP2 wonder movies.

    The effort is great, but I don't think it is right for you to take the entire credit. Don't you agree?
     
  17. GIR

    GIR It'sNotStupidIt'sAdvanced

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2005
    Messages:
    884
    Location:
    EU
    well, i never said or wrote that i made them. and in all my works i give proper credits to the creaters but in this case it was controversial, because it's not legal (CTP2 media is not OS). So i thought it's better to be quiet because as long as nobody askes it's kinde of "ok" but now it's probably a problem. I just wantet to share the movies with the civ4 modder community as long as possible.
     
  18. Arian

    Arian No more ghostbusting!!

    Joined:
    May 10, 2008
    Messages:
    2,088
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Thanks GIR for this piece of code. Very useful!
     

Share This Page