1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Worth buying?

Discussion in 'Alpha Centauri' started by gedet, Jun 16, 2012.

  1. Eran of Arcadia

    Eran of Arcadia Stormin' Mormon Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Messages:
    23,090
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    The Sunshine and Lettuce Capital of the World
    Well, they came in the mail yesterday. I started a game on Citizen as Lal, so far so good. About half of the other factions are SMAX.
     
  2. Kilkakon

    Kilkakon King

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2006
    Messages:
    739
    Location:
    Perth, the other side of Earth!
    Enjoying it? :)
     
  3. Eran of Arcadia

    Eran of Arcadia Stormin' Mormon Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Messages:
    23,090
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    The Sunshine and Lettuce Capital of the World
    Very much. I was planning on staying up last night to finish, but long story short, I discovered Ascent to Transcendence is much more expensive than I thought, so it will take me a bunch more turns to actually finish, especially because I wanna wipe out Morgan while I'm at it.

    (When I originally played the game way back when, I never got a Transcend victory.)
     
  4. Eran of Arcadia

    Eran of Arcadia Stormin' Mormon Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Messages:
    23,090
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    The Sunshine and Lettuce Capital of the World
    Also, a question: does the bureaucratic base limit apply to captured bases as well? If I already have more bases than I should, will conquering some more add to the problem? Seems reasonable to assume it would but didn't know.
     
  5. vyeh

    vyeh Emperor

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,204
    Yes, it does.
     
  6. Eran of Arcadia

    Eran of Arcadia Stormin' Mormon Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Messages:
    23,090
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    The Sunshine and Lettuce Capital of the World
  7. civac

    civac Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    108
    Drones are the only effect of exceeding the bureaucracy limit.

    Of course, if you have lots of bases inefficiency will also be more problematic since your fringe bases will be farther away from HQ than for a smaller faction.
     
  8. Eran of Arcadia

    Eran of Arcadia Stormin' Mormon Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Messages:
    23,090
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    The Sunshine and Lettuce Capital of the World
  9. Petek

    Petek Alpha Centaurian Administrator Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Messages:
    3,647
    Location:
    Berkeley, Calif., USA
    Those captured bases may have facilities that require maintenance (energy credits [EC]) each turn. As civac pointed out, those bases may not produce sufficient EC due to inefficiency. You could disband certain facilities, such as Energy Banks, that require maintenance but don't produce anything in return.
     
  10. Eran of Arcadia

    Eran of Arcadia Stormin' Mormon Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Messages:
    23,090
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    The Sunshine and Lettuce Capital of the World
    Do redundant facilities cost upkeep? For example, if I have the Citizens Defense Force, and capture a base with a perimeter defense, does it cost money for the extra one until I scrap it?
     
  11. chuft

    chuft Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Messages:
    94
    Why would you not scrap it immediately for the cash value?
     
  12. Eran of Arcadia

    Eran of Arcadia Stormin' Mormon Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Messages:
    23,090
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    The Sunshine and Lettuce Capital of the World
  13. chuft

    chuft Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Messages:
    94
    A legitimate point. I rarely pay that much attention myself, so I didn't know the answer offhand.

    But as it turns out, if you look in the Datalinks you will see Perimeter Defenses have a maintenance cost of 0 anyway.

    So the answer to your question for this example at least is no. :lol:
     
  14. Eran of Arcadia

    Eran of Arcadia Stormin' Mormon Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Messages:
    23,090
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    The Sunshine and Lettuce Capital of the World
    Another question!

    So I know that you only get the clean mineral limit benefit of tree farms, et al, after the first fungus pop. But does a sea fungus pop count?
     
  15. Petek

    Petek Alpha Centaurian Administrator Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Messages:
    3,647
    Location:
    Berkeley, Calif., USA
    AFAIK, yes. For example, the clean mineral mechanism works the same for the Pirates, and they typically get their first >pop< from sea fungus.
     
  16. vyeh

    vyeh Emperor

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,204
    Of course, a rioting base doesn't produce energy.

    In addition, if you are using doctors to balance the drones, you lose the energy those doctor citizens could have been producing as workers or other specialists.

    If you rush build drone control facilities, their maintenance cost will affect your net income.

    Similarly, if you adjust the psych scale to counteract the drones that will affect your income.

    What was your strategy for drone control?
     
  17. Eran of Arcadia

    Eran of Arcadia Stormin' Mormon Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Messages:
    23,090
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    The Sunshine and Lettuce Capital of the World
    Well, my main strategy was playing on Citizen level. I am so cool like that.

    I am Yang, decided to build a crapton of bases just for fun. Got the warning but built a few more anyways. I haven't had any rioting, or even any drones appear that I can think of (using lots of police units as garrison) but I noticed all of a sudden I was losing a bunch of money and hadn't recently changed my SE settings. Thought maybe it was connected.
     
  18. Kilkakon

    Kilkakon King

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2006
    Messages:
    739
    Location:
    Perth, the other side of Earth!
    I like your strategy. :lol:
     
  19. Eran of Arcadia

    Eran of Arcadia Stormin' Mormon Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Messages:
    23,090
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    The Sunshine and Lettuce Capital of the World
    To be fair, it is the second game I have actually played (at least past the first few turns) in over a decade.

    To be less fair, when I play games I usually prefer dominating the computer or whatever over challenging myself. :p
     
  20. vyeh

    vyeh Emperor

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,204
    If you were building facilities in your bases, there might be a maintenance cost associated with them. Since small bases don't produce much income (especially if they are far from HQ), this would result in the loss of income.

    I assume you are building colony units to create your bases. Each time a colony unit is built, the population of the base drops (unless it is already at 1 at the Citizen level). Since the population drops, there is one fewer worker and there is less energy. In addition, the game will readjust the remaining workers, usually to maximize population growth (taking workers away from high mineral and/or energy tiles). This also has an impact on income.
     

Share This Page