Your Biggest Mistake

aimeeandbeatles

watermelon
Tell your biggest mistakes here, so the rest of us don't repeat ;)

I haven't really made any mistakes, except for building a city in the middle of the jungle and everybody started getting sick (How was I supposed to know? Its my first time!)

My first time playing, fortifying my entire army in the jungle!! They were there, waiting for the enemy to attack, and they all died of sickness. After that, this is when the enemy attacked xD.

In my first game, I was Rome. I built my capital, and everything started out normally. I sent out a Settler and built a new city, except it was about 10 tiles away. I then declared war on Greece. I started sending out military units, one by one towards Greece. So there was a trail of Roman units arriving and attacking Athens. Of course, these units were mostly Spearmen and Warriors, against Hoplites.

In another game as Rome, I had gotten to Gunpowder. I built 4 Musketmen and loaded them onto Galleys and sailed them to the other continent thinking "I have guns now. I'll destroy them!". Of course, the Babylonian Cavalry soon proved that thinking wrong.

One of mine was not realizing that galleys could in fact go into ocean squares, even if they ran the risk of sinking. After I cleared my continent, my galleys spent centuries circling my continent, waiting for someone to show up . . .

By the way, here's another thread on the "Biggest Blunders." Happy reading. :D

http://forums.civfanatics.com/showthread.php?t=181073&highlight=blunders

Automating my workers at first.

I've made a ton of mistakes along the way, but I can't figure that any of them are worse than automating your workers when you consider the vast inefficiency that automating has on getting your cities up to maximum production and size.

I've said this before, but automated workers will literally run around in circles, wasting turns and productivity without getting enough done.