(1.0.12.28) Barbarians Not Attacking City Center?

Urlance Woolsbane

Chieftain
I started playing Civ VI again, after an absence of a few months, and I've noticed something strange: Barbarians attack my units and plunder my improvements, but, when they come right next to my city center, they sit there indefinitely doing nothing, until I kill them, whereas I recall barbarians razing my cities and even attacking my capital's center (though it can't be razed), prior to the recent updates. The one factor I can think of is that I'm playing with Barbarian Clans mode off this time around, so maybe default barbs are just a bit tamer, but there's no mention of that on the wiki. The only mod I'm using is Tomatekh's Historical Religions. Is this a bug or am I just missing something?

The default barbs are working fine for me. They were definitely attacking my capital. I just started a game earlier and they were hitting it. I think they do still raze cities. They go for mine but by the time I've got another city out I'm better defended. I'm not familiar with that mod, but perhaps that's your issue.

The default barbs are working fine for me. They were definitely attacking my capital. I just started a game earlier and they were hitting it. I think they do still raze cities. They go for mine but by the time I've got another city out I'm better defended. I'm not familiar with that mod, but perhaps that's your issue.
It only adds religions and changes some leaders' religious preferences, so I'd be surprised if it somehow affected barbarian-AI

I play without Barbarian Clans mode and the barbarians seem even more aggressive than I remember. I had a city razed yesterday by them.