1. Firaxis celebrates the "Asian American and Pacific Islander Heritage Month", and offers a give-away of a Civ6 anthology copy (5 in total)! For all the details, please check the thread here. .
    Dismiss Notice
  2. We have selected the winners of the Old World random draw and competition. For the winning entries, please check this thread.
    Dismiss Notice

about the new advanced multithreaded AI

Discussion in 'Civ5 - General Discussions' started by parachute4u, Oct 3, 2010.

  1. parachute4u

    parachute4u Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2003
    Messages:
    168
    Location:
    landing
    From the open beta (read: release):
    an example about how the AI behaves.

    emperor game: 1600s AD.

    my points 1634
    rome's points: 787
    aztec's points: 850

    biggest army: me (says the demo screen), 2nd Aztec, 3rd Rome

    met rome about 100 turns ago. We traded resources, signed a research pact. No other diplomatic activities. (Apart for lux to Aztecs for gold)

    A couple of turns back: We sign a resource deal. I give 4 lux resources to Rome, I get 1 lux + 700 gold.
    A coulple of turns later: I bribe Rome into a war with the Aztec. Give open borders and some more lux to rome.
    A couple of turns later. I demand that Caesar doesn't build cities near my borders. (We didn't share borders at that time, he was on a different continent!)
    The next turn: Caesar declares war on me. He is at war with the Aztecs, he is at war with a city state, I am his only ally and I have 4 CS allies. I also have destroyers, rifles, cannons and cavalry, while he has pikemen and caravels.

    bottom line: AI is worse than MTW. If there was a "no diplomacy" game option, I'd turn it on. Congratulations.
     
  2. MarkC1

    MarkC1 Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Messages:
    242
    Location:
    Texas
    Itll get better with updates... Relax
     
  3. dannythefool

    dannythefool King

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    657
    Consider what we do with real people who have "multithreaded intelligence". We give them meds to shut down the extra threads. CiV has shown me why :D
     
  4. Dearmad

    Dearmad Dead weight

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2001
    Messages:
    1,527
    lol. so true. which also makes it SAD! :(
     
  5. Abraxis

    Abraxis

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,313
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    hmm... has anyone tried forcing the game to only use one thread? or do you think it's just the fact that they split so many processes for multi-threading that's causing the problem?

    guess it would be the later...
     
  6. Tylerryan79

    Tylerryan79 Emperor

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,091
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    ^ I've tested one core/thread myself, and it ramps it up to about 60% then 100% during turn loading. It's best to keep it on I'd say.

    In one of the .ini files in my documents there is a line for how to set the threading and how many (forget what it said) actions? To have per thread. It's set at 0 (default) and 100(actions?). I'm tempted to mess around with it, but I have no real clue of how to utilize it.
     
  7. parachute4u

    parachute4u Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2003
    Messages:
    168
    Location:
    landing
    bottom line: consider them to be schizos or worse and you are set. (Which is basically what I do with my RL oppenents in every online or mp-game). It's the new realism: complete randomness. Just like the universe.
     
  8. Abraxis

    Abraxis

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,313
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    If the universe were truly random we would have no understanding of it what-so-ever.

    The only parts that seem random are the parts we don't understand.
     
  9. duxup

    duxup Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2001
    Messages:
    385
    Just because we think we understand it, does not mean that we understand it.
     
  10. pagh80

    pagh80 Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2001
    Messages:
    276
    Location:
    Denmark
    Apparently they dont like to be liberated either.
    Ramsy hated my guts after i liberated him from askia.
    Makes sense? I think not. :confused:
     
  11. kuukkeli

    kuukkeli King

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Messages:
    874
    Location:
    Finland
    Heh, maybe he was just saying that he didn't need your help. That he was just about to liberate himself and enslave Askia :lol:
     
  12. Tridus

    Tridus Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Messages:
    132
    Yeah I've seen that too. City states love if you liberate them. Civs are angry at you for it. Makes no sense.
     
  13. Abraxis

    Abraxis

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,313
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    Drop something next to you, it will fall. If the universe were random, anything could happen.

    Consistency on that scale does not occur in a random environment, chaotic maybe, but there is certainly nothing random about the universe's laws.
     
  14. duxup

    duxup Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2001
    Messages:
    385
    Perhaps it is just not as random as we think it is, or is it? ;)

    I'm just giving you crap. In all seriousness my only issue with your statement is that it seems pretty sure that what little we know about the universe is correct. We've been wrong through history plenty of times, I doubt we've got everything we think we know right on the ball, even the stuff we're really sure about.
     
  15. dexters

    dexters Gods & Emperors Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2003
    Messages:
    4,182
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canada
    Liberated civs appear to be vassal states in all but name.

    When I declared war on another Civ, i went to the 2 civs I liberated for some trades and realize they were both at war with the same Civ.

    What Civ5 is lacking is the news feed is announcements of when other Civs go to war. I don't know why this was ommitted it was so handy in keeping up with relations in previous games.
     
  16. Mahi

    Mahi Prince

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Messages:
    393
    It's a bug I think. When you liberate a civ your units will be within his borders without a open borders agreement which results the AI to be hostile against you. If you move your units out of his borders the relations become much better.
     
  17. bryanw1995

    bryanw1995 Emperor

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,461
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    they remember what they thought of you before. I obliterated suleiman a couple games ago, but he had a city on the other side of india and greece so I made peace. 30 turns later india took out his last city. 150 turns after that india invaded me so I started taking out their cities. When I liberated/reincarnated suleiman he still hated my guts b/c I wrecked his civ in the first place. In that same game I was buddies with alexander the entire time, when I liberate/reincarnated him he loved me even more.

    funny about those last comments, when I went for the diplo victory both suleiman and alexander voted for me. I think that the "vassal in all but name" is correct.
     
  18. skallben

    skallben Diplomat

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    1,005
    Location:
    Cold Country in Europe
    I resurrected Ghandi and Monty from the dead, Bismarck had killed them off.

    Guess what?
    They both hate me...
     
  19. civhawaii

    civhawaii Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    50
    What a laughable excuse for horrible AI.
     
  20. Redoubts

    Redoubts Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    The picture is of Siam's king after he failed to understand his place. I liberated him from 150 turns of total Greek subjugation, only for him to refuse a Pact of Cooperation :mad:.

    I'm not sure what the "one course open to him" is, since this is the second time he's had to do it :crazyeye:.
     

    Attached Files:

    • Lost.jpg
      Lost.jpg
      File size:
      57.1 KB
      Views:
      147

Share This Page