1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

ADDON: Extra Civ pack for RoM 2.0

Discussion in 'RoM Modmods' started by zappara, May 1, 2008.

  1. zappara

    zappara Mod Designer

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2003
    Messages:
    2,781
    Location:
    Finland
    Just give me a couple days... yesterday I had some problems during the full v2.5 RoM upload so after it was done I had no time to upload the RoM 2.5 mega pack which holds both RoM 2.5 and extra civ addon pack pre-installed. I'll try to get it uploaded during xmas, it just takes some hours since it's 400MB pack.

    Though RoM 2.5 + extra civ addon 1.2 + addon patch 1.3 should work since there isn't any conflicts between v2.5 and addon patch 1.3.
     
  2. Kristaps513

    Kristaps513 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    75
    Location:
    Latvia
    Is there Latvia in the new Extra civ pack?
     
  3. zappara

    zappara Mod Designer

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2003
    Messages:
    2,781
    Location:
    Finland
    Umm, no but it will be in the next addon version which has already few new leaders as well... I'll try to get it updated during January.
     
  4. Kristaps513

    Kristaps513 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    75
    Location:
    Latvia
  5. Carwyn

    Carwyn Prince

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2004
    Messages:
    462
    Cool, we were playing with 2.5 and the extra civs on top of it last night, once we got everything running it seemed to be working fine.

    Thanks!
     
  6. Redman77

    Redman77 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Messages:
    28
    Can you add the Moors! They ruled Spain for over 500 years.
     
  7. ggalindo001

    ggalindo001 Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2002
    Messages:
    250
    No, it is Moops!
     
  8. 0100010

    0100010 Prince

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2008
    Messages:
    429
    "Moor" & "Moors" is simply a term derived from Portuguese to describe dark-skinned people. It doesn't properly describe a civilization. Some might find its use pejorative or offensive. What you are probably looking for is Almoravides dynasty
     
  9. Carwyn

    Carwyn Prince

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2004
    Messages:
    462
    One problem I was just reminded of... I have currently the full version of 2.5 with the add on civ packs added on. When I leave my game and go to the main menu and either try to reload or start a new game, I get MAF. If I exit the client entirely, it's fine. This was a problem when I had 2.4, added 1.2 extra civs, upgraded to 2.5 and then 1.3. My friends playing with that upgrade path get a message that my files are not the same as theirs - even my friend that is playing with the same upgrade path that I am!

    I just re-downloaded all the mods and patches and re-installed them yesterday to get my computer and my son's working together. I'm getting good and finding the cache and saved games and all that and getting rid of them, btw. :) We spent a couple of hours playing "almost Civ" until we got that working. He still couldn't join a game in progress, but could finally join in the staging room, so we all hope to play today.
     
  10. zappara

    zappara Mod Designer

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2003
    Messages:
    2,781
    Location:
    Finland
    I've tried to upload the full mod packaged with extra civs couple times during xmas but all those tries failed due to network problems - it takes 2-3 hours to upload that 400MB package and just one error during that time and I'll have to start uploading it again... I'll try to upload again soon while wearing some good luck items... :rolleyes:
     
  11. Kristaps513

    Kristaps513 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    75
    Location:
    Latvia
    I hope that before you release another version of civ pack Latvia will have another LH and 1 or 2 UU. :)

    Good luck uploading that file. :p
     
  12. simonzm

    simonzm Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    Shanghai
    It is easy to divide the whole XXX.rar file into several parts when you compress the files by using winrar, with each part smaller than 100mb or even 50mb, which can make you upload the full mod packaged easier.:)
     
  13. zappara

    zappara Mod Designer

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2003
    Messages:
    2,781
    Location:
    Finland
    True, but then I'd get more questions about install problems so I'd rather have the whole mod in one zip package ;)
     
  14. Redman77

    Redman77 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Messages:
    28
    Thanks for the correction always willing to learn something new. would it be possible to add the Almoravid dynasty? Thanks in advance
     
  15. zappara

    zappara Mod Designer

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2003
    Messages:
    2,781
    Location:
    Finland
    Rise of Mankind mega pack has been uploaded. It includes main mod files + extra civ addon pack 1.3. See first post for download link.

    Now that I finally got it uploaded, I can start adding more civs to the pack and I'll try to release them during January.
     
  16. PresidentDennis

    PresidentDennis Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    49

    Now if only it would work and not give me a runtime error...
     
  17. zappara

    zappara Mod Designer

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2003
    Messages:
    2,781
    Location:
    Finland
    Any other requests for new civs or leaders that should be included in the next extra civ addon pack version? So far to the next version I have added Latvia and 10 or so new leaders for various civs.

    Note that I'll be adding only new civs&leaders which already are in modular format with all the required xml files included with pedia infos etc. I don't have time to make new civs or leaders from scratch (ie. I don't download graphics files, search for pedia+diplomacy texts). I can however convert basic Civ4 or Warlords version modular civs/leaders to BtS version so it doesn't matter for which version of Civ4 the module has been previously made.

    Currently I'm converting some extra leaders from Civ 4 Gold mod to RoM and after that I look through other mods that I have on my computer and see if those have some other leaders that I could use too. It would be good if we give 2 leaders for each Civ so 1 new leader for those civs which currently have just 1.
     
  18. CMKMStephens

    CMKMStephens Serious.

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Messages:
    372
    Location:
    New Zealand
    I'd rather see the extra civs receiving a little more flavour.
     
  19. Kalimakhus

    Kalimakhus Emperor

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,249
    @Zappara

    If you are adding new leaders for existing civs, I would like to have Cleopatra for Egypt and Dido for Carthage. Troy has existed historically so it would qualify for a civ compared to others included. Macedonia is another civ I like to see in RoM.

    I have downloaded the mega pack recently (I had some games going and I liked to finish them first). It is sure nice to have more variety of civs and leaders. It might be however weighing heavily on system resources, I tried to start a game with a large map and I got a run-time error. This is weird. Normally it should be a MAF. I played next on a standard map and all went fine. I will try larger maps once more as they should work for me (I have 4GB of RAM and an NV 8500 GT with 512 MB VRAM). I'll report again if I still have a problem though I don't think there is much you can do about it. Experience tell that systems can fail mysteriously on some occasions though theoretically they shouldn't. I know that there is something about PCs' performance besides their stats. Usually it is the quality of the components, and their enter-compatibility as well as their usage history.
     
  20. zappara

    zappara Mod Designer

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2003
    Messages:
    2,781
    Location:
    Finland
    @Kalimakhus

    Cleopatra and Dido I had added to the pack before your post ;) I'll add Troy and Macedonia - just the other day I was reading about Troy goldsmiths :)
     

Share This Page