1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

AI attitude change

Discussion in 'Civ2 - General Discussions' started by Skyer1, Jan 16, 2006.

  1. Skyer1

    Skyer1 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Messages:
    16
    As you know, AI is very hostile in Civ2 MGE. It is hostile during peace treaties and uncooperative in alliance with a much desire to cancel that alliance the very next contact.
    All this because it has attitude towards you = 100(maximum evil) and this is set every turn, no matter what you have done to him. Program was designed so - every turn it sets attitude=100 towards you of any civilization, whom you had negotiations with.
    So it's like a cheat menu - like you would every turn set attitude=100 on every civilization in cheat menu.

    In my opinion, it is unfair and removes from the game interesting relationships.

    Here is a variant, where there are no such "equations". Everything is the same, except "attitude=100" set every turn. So, relatioships go as they should go - if AI becomes Enthusiastic, it will not become Uncooperative or Hostile next turn - it will stay Enthusiastic as long as he wishes and until he decides to change his attitude.

    _____________________save your copy of civ2.exe_____________________

    Rename those .txt files into .rar files and extract to the directory with Civ2.

    Enjoy!
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Skyer1

    Skyer1 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Messages:
    16
    This post is edited:)
     
  3. ElephantU

    ElephantU Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    2,272
    Location:
    Phila PA
    Seems to me you're going the wrong way. What we'd really want would be an AI Attitude that was the SAME as the end of the last turn, unless there were negotiations during the AI's turn. Then you could keep an alliance going like in Classic.
     
  4. Skyer1

    Skyer1 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Messages:
    16
    Done! The first post is changed.
     
  5. Andu Indorin

    Andu Indorin Retired Druid

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2001
    Messages:
    1,483
    Location:
    Colorado Spgs, CO
    You know, the few times that I've played MGE and I've really had such attitude problems that are very different from Classic. ... But then again, as a rule, I gift the AI civs Gunpowder and Industrialization, which seem to be the two techs that really destroy one's relation with opposing civs.
     
  6. Sub

    Sub in omnia paratus

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Messages:
    600
    That's probably the greatest thing anyone has ever done with Civ 2. You've just taken away the one thing that I didn't like about the game.
     
  7. Duran

    Duran Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2005
    Messages:
    14
    Location:
    Seattle
    I have always wondered why they are always mad at you... i give them gifts and then next thing i know they shot me down... thanks man
     
  8. Sub

    Sub in omnia paratus

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Messages:
    600
    Is there any way you can get rid of the goto bug?
     
  9. Skyer1

    Skyer1 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Messages:
    16
    What is this bug about?
     
  10. ElephantU

    ElephantU Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    2,272
    Location:
    Phila PA
    When you do a GoTo command for a unit that spans the DateLine it will try to go the wrong way. Some sort of error in the program algorithm that flips a sign or adds rather than subtracts when computing the direction based on start/end coordinates.
     
  11. Skyer1

    Skyer1 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Messages:
    16
    Sorry, didn't understand anything:)

    What?:)

    Wwwwwwwhhhhhhhhhhhaaaaaaattttt?:)
     
  12. Ali Ardavan

    Ali Ardavan Mathematician Moderator Civ2 GOTM Staff

    Joined:
    May 29, 2002
    Messages:
    2,930
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    It is not just across the dateline (dateline is where x=0, the tiles to the left of this line have x=the first dimension of the map). I have seen it take longer routes over shorter ones. I have seen it get into an endless loop. Fortunately they have put a catch in the code for this situation where it stops after a few iterations and asks "Continue?"
     
  13. Sub

    Sub in omnia paratus

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Messages:
    600
    When you use the goto command, units will often not get to where they are told to go. They'll often move one space forward, than one space backwards. They'll repeat this a few times and then a pop up occurs asking if you want the unit to stop moving. It's pretty annoying if you have to manually move hundreds of units all because this bug.
     
  14. stilicho

    stilicho Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2001
    Messages:
    12
    Hi Skyer,

    I installed this patch and found to my delight that AI relations behave just as promised (and as I remember in original Civ 2.) :)

    However, I now see that the "Find City" function no longer works. In fact, whenever I do a "Find City" by keyboard shortcut or pulldown menu, I find a new feature:

    If I inspect any of my cities with the "Happiness" button, all citizens start out black for doubly unhappy, and military units within the city do not surpress any unhappiness. :confused: This results in most of my cities slipping into anarchy. The only way to recover is to reload the game from before attempting the "Find City".

    Can a patch be made that gives us both a non-hating AI without altering the "Find City" or any other functions?

    Thanks very much,

    Stilicho
     
  15. LordValuna

    LordValuna High Lord

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Messages:
    270
    Location:
    Hamilton Ontario Canada
    Any chance of getting this as a ZIP file, dont know what .rar files are, but dont think my computer uses it.
    or even post the actual civ.exe file!?


    :mischief: A question arises is this patch approved for Game of the month play?
     
  16. ElephantU

    ElephantU Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    2,272
    Location:
    Phila PA
    RAR is a different compression algorithm than ZIP, but there are several free unzippers that will handle both. You cannot post an EXE to CFC, it only permits limited file extensions.

    I don't remember Duke ruling on using this patch, but if it turns MGE AI into 2.42 AI why not use the latter anyway?
     
  17. LordValuna

    LordValuna High Lord

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Messages:
    270
    Location:
    Hamilton Ontario Canada
    Thanks Elephant I found a rar unzipper, i couldnt figure out how to join the two files, or why there are two files

    I tried find city and one of my cities rebeled. maybe I will try next game of month with it but remember not to use find city
     
  18. Duke of Marlbrough

    Duke of Marlbrough The Quiet Moderator Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2001
    Messages:
    9,702
    Location:
    Southern CA, USA
    Any 'unoffical' patches are not allowed for use during GOTM play.
     
  19. TLF

    TLF Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    324
    I just tried this and also found that the 'find city' function throws all of my cities into anarchy.

    Oddly, they also decide to honor me by working on Throne Room improvements.
    Multiple improvements at that!
    This patch seems to make my people somewhat insane!
     
  20. synergy87

    synergy87 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    I know I'm a few years late but Skyer... you are a SAINT.

    Thank you so much for this! you just improved my civ gaming experience a thousand fold!!! THANK YOU!!!
     

Share This Page