1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

[GS] AI Use of Hwacha

Discussion in 'Civ6 - General Discussions' started by bitula, Apr 15, 2019.

  1. bitula

    bitula Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Messages:
    271
    Yesterday, when I invaded Korea with chariots, archers, swordsmen, several Hwacha was defending. They did nothing so I just slowly took them out. I then thought it is probably a very week ancient era unit. More than 30 turns later I upgraded to crossbowman and after conquering the 5th city a lonely hwatcha decided to shoot, and uhnn..., what..., one-shot an almosst fully promoted crossbowman (then I read the civilopedia entry and got informed). Is this an AI bug or an RP feature :)? This game made no sense, since she could have elminated my whole army long ago, so I just quit playing and started another game...

    Edit: I cant edit the title, a moderator please change the title to include AI. (like AI Hwacah). THx!

    Moderator Action: Title edited. leif
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 15, 2019
  2. Tech Osen

    Tech Osen Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2016
    Messages:
    1,173
    I've had it happen too that AI units do nothing or at least nothing useful. Don't think it's related to the Hwacha.
     
  3. Victoria

    Victoria Regina Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    8,598
    It has always been the case, It does seem that if you attack with overwhelming odds the AI does its best but if you are weaker it decides not to be as nasty to you. Regardless it has always been there that units and cities refuse to shoot you from time to time. So much of the game sucks, just nice graphics and sounds to suck you along a journey of surprises.
     
  4. bitula

    bitula Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Messages:
    271
    I also, but it was usually when I had an overwhelming army. This wasn't the case here. Her army with Hwatcha was superior. Also, catapults do nothing when defending, but that is another issue, since this is a ranged unit.

    Oh really? So far I experienced the opposite, as seen above. Well I would really take out that "AI charity feature", it doesn't make any sense. At least take it out on Deity (game was on Deity)! For lower levels it could be fine so as not to scare away beginner players. But on Deity????
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 15, 2019
  5. Victoria

    Victoria Regina Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    8,598
    I have accidentally walked an archer past an enemy Hwacha on immortal without harm. Whether intentional or not it seems we all have similar stories. My biggest bugbear was two city centres can fire on you but only one does.
    I no longer have this issue in my life and it feels quite nice.
     
  6. Bibor

    Bibor Doomsday Machine

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2004
    Messages:
    2,607
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Zagreb, Croatia
    The AI is really bad in using using units in any form that's not a carpet of doom, so I don't see the specific issue here :D
     
  7. Infixo

    Infixo Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2016
    Messages:
    3,215
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Warsaw
    Could be also related to the fact that Hwacha is considered by AI as a siege unit but since it has 0 bombard strength then AI could calculate damage to be 0 and not use it. Or it is simply not selected for defense operations because siege units are optional for them.
    I have a fix in Real Strategy that makes it a normal Ranged unit.
    Code:
    DELETE FROM UnitAiInfos WHERE UnitType = 'UNIT_KOREAN_HWACHA' AND (AiType = 'UNITTYPE_SIEGE' OR AiType = 'UNITTYPE_SIEGE_ALL');
    
     
  8. Bradypus

    Bradypus Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2019
    Messages:
    75
    In my personal experience, AI warfare abilities vary a lot. I just had a catastrophic Deity game as India in which my neighbor was Hungary. It was a narrow/snaky continent, and I placed my 2nd (and only other) city in between Delhi and Hungary. Thinking I was clever in forward settling and blocking off direct access to Delhi, I thought Delhi was safe, so I didn't keep units there and I didn't build a wall. Then suddenly Hungary declares war and beelines right past my 2nd city. He didn't even attack it at all. All his 9 warriors and 3 slingers just head straight for Delhi, which has 1 slinger moving in to protect. He takes out Delhi and it's my fastest ever loss but a valuable lesson.

    The more common experience though is the AI just sending in wave after wave of mindless units to be picked off 1 by 1.
     
  9. Victoria

    Victoria Regina Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    8,598
    So this is typical, sit back and let the enemy smash themselves to bits on your defensive position, then take out their cities. I have even seen people say they do this on one breath and then claim the AI is not aggressive enough in the next breath.
    When you go and attack a strong enemy just for fun, you find these odd no-shoot situations you will not find when the enemy has taken a siege city decision tree and still has all the requirements. The variation is what ‘mood’ the AI is in at the time (mood or mode... same thing to me)
     
  10. bitula

    bitula Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Messages:
    271
    Oh, thanks! This should be it. I'll add it to my bug report in bugfix forum.
     
  11. bitula

    bitula Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Messages:
    271
    Seems my bug report got deleted? Recreated it in bugfix forums. Please dont delete it, I removed my generic remark about AI posing no serious challenge in general :) ... What is it really removed because of this?... Ohmy.
     
    Last edited: Apr 15, 2019
  12. Pietato

    Pietato Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2014
    Messages:
    1,216
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Might be the same bug Catapults have (had?). The 'cannot move and shoot' confuses the AI.
     

Share This Page