1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Antiquity Sites are Untouchable? That's Pretty Inconvenient.

Discussion in 'Civ6 - General Discussions' started by steveg700, Nov 1, 2016.

  1. steveg700

    steveg700 Deity

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    3,535
    I'm playing Russia, been getting plenty of great writers, painters, and musicians. No real need for archaeological museums, but that civic is a necessary stop on the path to getting to broadcast centers.

    So, now that antiquity sites are revealed, the tiles appear to be locked down. Can't improve them, can't district them. Pretty frustrating. Anyone know tricks for getting around this?
     
  2. mnf

    mnf King

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2006
    Messages:
    659
    Sounds like the only good way to take care of that is to mod a Builder action to destroy antiquity sites... :(
     
  3. Ozisl

    Ozisl Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    Messages:
    137
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Yea, I noticed this... antiquity sites are really, really freaking annoying.

    Another thing for the community to fix.
     
  4. CaiusDrewart

    CaiusDrewart King

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2015
    Messages:
    834
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Yep, this is a pain. Particularly since an archaeology museum and an archaeologist are a huge investment if you're not playing culturally.
     
  5. redwings1340

    redwings1340 Emperor

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2011
    Messages:
    1,408
    Location:
    Maryland
    Yeah, I've found it annoying too. Not gamebreaking, just frustrating.
     
  6. Ozisl

    Ozisl Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    Messages:
    137
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    It isn't entirely game breaking, but it can be city breaking... I've had a city with several antiquity sites around it, preventing the building of districts (to be fair, also usually cornered off by ocean and desert)

    Why we can't go all ISIS and blow up antiquities, I don't know.
     
    PrairieDad likes this.
  7. steveg700

    steveg700 Deity

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    3,535
    Yeah, I had made a ring of mines around my planned industrial district, and then it was all broken up by the antiquity sites.
     
  8. redwings1340

    redwings1340 Emperor

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2011
    Messages:
    1,408
    Location:
    Maryland
    I guess for now, it's good to have one archeological museum in your empire, just to get rid of any super annoying antiquity sites that may pop up?
     
    nzcamel and PrairieDad like this.
  9. Siptah

    Siptah Eternal Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2016
    Messages:
    5,141
    Location:
    Lucerne
    You just need one or two museums to get rid of the most ill-placed archeological sites. Doesn't seem too hard to do and may be worth the investment. If the AI was better with digging up sites, you could also just open borders or hope whoever built the wonder that allows digging up sites in foreign territory comes for a visit.
    Come on, it's really just one or two district places in underdevelloped cities... If at some point district cost is dependend on how many of this district you've already built, it's not even an investment any more.
     
  10. bladex

    bladex Emperor

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,358
    build archeologists and dig them up
     
  11. Baleur

    Baleur Prince

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    526
    Location:
    Qingdao, China
    Do they give anything before being dug up? Like culture output or something to at least make a surrounded city somewhat semi-useful before investing in archaeologists?
    They should, frankly.
     
    Zaarin likes this.
  12. bladex

    bladex Emperor

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,358
    they pretty much do nothing except get in your way unless you dig them up
     
  13. Cymsdale

    Cymsdale Prince

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2005
    Messages:
    397
    This may be a good case for "pre-building" a district in a spot you plan to put it. Alternatively, you could place a builder improvement there temporarily.
     
  14. Disgustipated

    Disgustipated Deity

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    Messages:
    11,230
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    I try to delay this civic until I have most of my tiles already improved. It is annoying. My current game I only had two pop up in tundra and snow.
     
  15. Big J Money

    Big J Money Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,026
    It is annoying, but the alternative is someone destroying the artifacts that someone else wants to get, which is unbalanced.

    In order to destroy one you should pay the same cost as the person who puts in the effort to harvest it. And since archaeologists are much more expensive than builders, it's not fair to let builders take them out.

    Really the solution here is you should build a museum to get rid of them. There can't be that many you want to improve.
     
  16. SammyKhalifa

    SammyKhalifa Deity

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2003
    Messages:
    5,587
    UNESCO would like a word with you . . .

    :D
     
  17. andydtoma

    andydtoma Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2014
    Messages:
    18
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Paris, France
    But in real world there are infrastructure projects that are long time halted by unexpected archeological findings. I like this similarity.
     
    Ace Belder, Bosque, Zaarin and 5 others like this.
  18. bbbt

    bbbt Deity

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2013
    Messages:
    2,232
    I don't know why the removed the ability like in Civ 5 where you could make them into tourist improvements, it seems like it would work well with the current model.

    You could also unearth them and then sell them to the AI.
     
  19. joncnunn

    joncnunn Senior Java Wizard Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,621
    Location:
    Missouri
    [QUOTE="bbbt, post: 14542386, member: 251092"
    You could also unearth them and then sell them to the AI.[/QUOTE]

    In Civ VI, you can only dig them up if you have a place to store them so there's no real point in selling them to the AI if you've gone to the trouble of building the theater district + archaeology museum + archaeologist.
     
  20. bbbt

    bbbt Deity

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2013
    Messages:
    2,232
    In Civ VI, you can only dig them up if you have a place to store them so there's no real point in selling them to the AI if you've gone to the trouble of building the theater district + archaeology museum + archaeologist.[/QUOTE]

    I usually have tons of sites, so I was thinking of having like one museum and a mercenary archaeologist - i.e. dig up, put in the museum, sell it. Repeat like ten times. But you're right that's it's probably wouldn't pay off the investment of hammers -and archaeologist only last what, 3 times I think?
     

Share This Page