1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

any realtime no turn mods?

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Creation & Customization' started by kirklar, May 9, 2010.

  1. kirklar

    kirklar Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    im looking for a mod that takes turns out of the game for 100 percent real time gameplay.
     
  2. El_Salmun

    El_Salmun Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Location:
    Belgium
    :rotfl: buy Rise Of Nations...
    I don't think that what you're proposing is possible. Why would you want to make it RTS anyway, trun-based is practically the essence of the Civ series?
     
  3. Freakwave

    Freakwave Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    263
    Location:
    Deventer, The Netherlands
    Why would this be so impossible? Multiplayer is sort of realtime. When a player leaves AI takes over and continues the game.
     
  4. Jarlaxe Baenre

    Jarlaxe Baenre Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,959
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    This is just about impossible to do. I see a way it could work, but it would involve millions of turns auto-going by in the game.

    And, Freakwave, that statement is non-sequitur. What does that have to do with multiplayer and realtime?
     
  5. Freakwave

    Freakwave Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    263
    Location:
    Deventer, The Netherlands
    What i mean is that if you can "fool" the pc into thinking you are playing a multiplayer game.

    Like playing multi but with only AI opponents.
     
  6. The_J

    The_J Say No 2 Net Validations Retired Moderator Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    33,136
    Location:
    DE/NL/FR
    Not really.
    The engine, which civ uses (GameBryo) is a real time engine, and they had to hack into it to make it turn based.
    But to make it again real time you'd probably have to have access to the .exe.
     
  7. phungus420

    phungus420 Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    6,296
    You would need to entirely rewrite the game, pretty much from the ground up.
     
  8. kirklar

    kirklar Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    what i mean if "if" people misunderstood is the option to not hit the end turn button to continue the game.
     
  9. Jarlaxe Baenre

    Jarlaxe Baenre Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,959
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    There's an option for that. It ends your turn once you finish everything.
     
  10. Freakwave

    Freakwave Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    263
    Location:
    Deventer, The Netherlands
    There is a turn timer in multiplayer. I continued multiplayer games as singleplayer. So they are not mutually exclusive thats why i didnt think it impossible.
     
  11. GoodGame

    GoodGame Red, White, & Blue, baby!

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2004
    Messages:
    13,725
    Turn-based with a turn timer is still turn-based. A real-time game is essentially a simulator, where the game-state is updated by elapsing the CPU clock. Fundamentally, they are different.

    In terms of "tricks", you might emulate some of the feel of real-time, in a turn-based, if you set a limit on the number of units that each player could move per turn. You'd also have to rewrite the AI to make it less CPU-intensive (and dumber), so the the end of turn sequence took less time.
     

Share This Page