1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

auto-setler

Discussion in 'Civ4 - General Discussions' started by cologne, Mar 10, 2012.

  1. cologne

    cologne Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    i just got civ 4, (german version, thats why i lack some of the vocabulary)
    i will use the "***" using german words, and (***) to describe them

    simple question, about the "bautrup" (the unit that makes roads and stuff)

    i have a qutie simple and strict system
    grassland gets irrigation
    hills get mines
    special-ress get their designaited whatever, which get the most bonus
    plains get "hütte" (that new thing makin money and evolving through 4 stages)

    my question is this
    is it possible to make a mod, that can manipulate the way the unit acts on automation?
    i mean, it is not very individual, how i improve my land, it realy has a clear system, so it should be possible to give clear instructions for the automation

    is it possible? and, if, how?
    or, maby i´m not the first to think this up
    is there a mod for it?
     
  2. Sojuz

    Sojuz Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012
    Messages:
    40
    Location:
    Verona
    I don't know if there's a mod for improving the workers on automatization. However, i am used to control each worker during first stages of the game, especially in the multiplayer games. Workers may be automatized later. Thrust me, the AI often better knows than human what each city needs. Workers automatically will work around the cities, changing from villages to farms etc... This because the AI knows what each city needs best usually. But for what regards the first eras, it's better to order yourself workers on each improvement.
     
  3. cologne

    cologne Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    cool
    i kinda already had the feeling that might be the fact
    played maby 5 games till now (i´m a veteran since civ 1, so i fastly develope an opinion)
    but than again i´m not 100% sure the automation is 100% right, or, better sayd, i´m kind of a know it all, so, maby my system is beter, (i still have to figure it out, since 5 games can´t be enough input)

    of course, startup is a manual-build-must-be, anyway, even with perfect automation, thats true..... though, there are some conflicts, i think, so, a self manipulated automation might be better (i heard about back and forth building in certain situations)

    i think maby a self made "if, then" could solve it ^^
    i´m just speculating

    someone knows if it is MOD-able?
     
  4. Seraiel

    Seraiel If you want anything from I please ask in German

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011
    Messages:
    8,156
    Gender:
    Male
  5. Archon_Wing

    Archon_Wing Vote for me or die

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    Messages:
    5,020
    Gender:
    Male
    The Automated Workers's effectiveness goes down like 90% once you know the wheel. It wasn't that high before, but they'll waste like 643634643 turns building worthless roads and not improving tiles.

    They also like to commit suicide a lot when you capture new cities.

    There really needs to be a automatic "Clear jungle" command.

    I HATE microing workers. However, it's for your own good. :S
     
  6. vandermerwe

    vandermerwe Butt of many jokes

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011
    Messages:
    161
    Location:
    Wales
    Sorry, but that's just wrong. For proof that the AI doesn't know better - take a look at pretty much any established AI city. No specialisation, resources not connected, working unimproved tiles, and so on. To use your example - OK, there are maybe some situations where you might want to replace cottages with farms (perhaps, to run urgently needed artist specialists if you're under culture pressure). But you'd have to be pretty desperate to give up the worker turns used in building the cottage in the first place. And there's no way that worker automation will identify and act on those situations anyway.

    To the OP - your system, whatever it is, is almost certainly better. Stick with it.
     
  7. Sojuz

    Sojuz Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012
    Messages:
    40
    Location:
    Verona
    Ok perhaps i needed to explain myself more. Meanwhile it is true they do commit suicide (rarely), they do build a lot of worthless roads, i ALSO said that you may NOT automatize them in the first eras of the game, let's say until renaissance? But why would i automatize workers? Well, when your empire has like 20-30 cities, it gets kind of annoying checking each single damn city, i still somtimes do it with the capital or when i see a famine, but still would be really time-consuming-raping. Automatizing workers, AFTER the most is done, is not a bad idea, especially for the single player. Multyplay is kind of different.
     
  8. Pojman

    Pojman Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Messages:
    83
    Sorry dude, not sure if anyone here wants to thrust you.
     
  9. MilesBeyond

    MilesBeyond Prince

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    432
    I tend to get my system of improvements up and running by maybe the Medieval period, and then set all my Workers on automated trade network. That way they'll flock like seagulls to any new resources that pop up without me having to worry about it, and I get an extensive Railroad network up and running as soon as the tech becomes available. It also means they're out and about so if I need to start changing some of my improvements around, they're usually nearby.
     
  10. Seraiel

    Seraiel If you want anything from I please ask in German

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011
    Messages:
    8,156
    Gender:
    Male
    You can give consecutive orders with Shift.

    I already did, look at the smilies :p
     
  11. s.bernbaum

    s.bernbaum Mostly lurking

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Messages:
    2,780
    Location:
    The wilds of Montana
    @cologne:
    English for "hütte" is "cottage" in the CIV game.
    English for "bautrup" is "worker" in the CIV game.

    As for worker automation, if you must use it be sure to go to the options screen and check off the options to not replace existing improvements and to not chop forests. Otherwise, your forests will get randomly chopped and the workers will be constantly replacing improvements that you want with ones that you don't want. Personally, I would say take the time to control the workers yourself.
     
  12. OneLeggedRhino

    OneLeggedRhino King

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011
    Messages:
    656
    I'd recommend controlling the workers yourself. There must be exceptions to your scheme. Also, your scheme is definitely not what high-level players usually do, so you'll probably want to change the pattern eventually, meaning it's not all that valuable to automate those particular rules.
     
  13. stoferb

    stoferb Prince

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011
    Messages:
    309
    I don't mind workers building roads, heck that's all they can do by the mideval time, but automated workers are really, really dumb. They cannot chain irrigate properly, they put cottages on hills, which is a waste, they cottage obvious production cities and farm obvious commerce cities, they put down way too many wind mills, but worse of all instead of the nearest guy going to do something, someone from the other side of the empire gets the order so they spend most of their time travelling.
     
  14. God-Emperor

    God-Emperor Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Messages:
    3,551
    Location:
    Texas
    There is a mod that lets you select what kinds of things workers will do, possibly even on a city by city basis, although I think it is part of the rather large Rise of Mankind: A New Dawn mod, and Caveman to Cosmos which is derived from it - I don't think it was in plain Rise of Mankind and I don't think it is in BULL. I don't know if it was ever a separate stand-alone mod or made specifically for RoM:AND and never released separately. It adds things (or possibly an entire tab) to the BUG options screen where you can make the selections.

    Aside from that, I can't tell you much about it since I have never used it. I almost never automate any workers and on the rare occasions when I do it is only trade route building automation (making roads and hooking up resources).
     
  15. cologne

    cologne Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    thanks for all your input

    meaning what?
    what strategies are mainly established?
     
  16. Seraiel

    Seraiel If you want anything from I please ask in German

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011
    Messages:
    8,156
    Gender:
    Male
    There's a complete Guide on city-specialization in the war-academy, it's quite well written.

    Usually, as a high lvl player, you want to have something like +6 :food: surplus (maybe even more) so that the city grows fast even while whipping. One will want to specialize cities to :hammers: cities with mines, farms, workshops (those get :hammers: multiplying buildings and mainly build wealth or units, then they get a barracks in addition and maybe even a stable) or :commerce: cities, those get the :food: surplus rest all cottages / mines and especially windmills (these cities get more buildings like i. e. a library, a bank, basically the :commerce: multiplyer buildings. ) What all cities have in common is only the granary.

    At last, one wants to have at least 1 GP Farm, that one has at best some mines to build some wonders, some forrests to chop them out, and loads of :food: . This city gets all Farms and works Specialists for :gp: .

    But these are only the basics in short. Building "mixed" cities like with your system is subpar.
     
  17. JBryan314

    JBryan314 US Army Combat Vet and Intelligence Agent

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2012
    Messages:
    109
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Deep South
    Careful with that thought. That's how "Skynet" came to be...

    J/K.

    Sort of.
     
  18. ChanceDanger

    ChanceDanger Warlord

    Joined:
    May 2, 2011
    Messages:
    122
    Location:
    Desert Flood Plains
    You can influence your automated workers with your city governor, if I'm not mistaken. If you go to the city screen, to the right of your build options, the :food: :hammers: :commerce: :gp: :science: buttons allow you to tell the governor which tiles to work (not totally competent but better than without any guidance). I believe TMIT has an Immortal difficulty victory using both governor and automated workers and there's a write-up somewhere on the forum, though I don't know the name.
     
  19. gps

    gps King

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    885
    To make things easier in the future: there (usually) is no difference between European versions except the packaging. Even with the "German" version you should be able to change languages anytime you want in the options menu...
     
  20. rah

    rah Deity Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2005
    Messages:
    10,119
    Location:
    Chicago
    I really wish in the settings for automated workers there was an option to fix sabotaged squares.
     

Share This Page