1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Barbarian Black Hole!

Discussion in 'Civ5 - Confirmed Bugs' started by BARBEERIAN, Nov 1, 2010.

  1. Rubin

    Rubin King

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    Messages:
    950
    I just encountered this annoying bug again in v. 1.0.1.275. :(
     
  2. The_J

    The_J Say No 2 Net Validations Retired Moderator Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    33,090
    Location:
    DE/NL/FR
    Thanks for noticing :), i updated the list.
     
  3. Rubin

    Rubin King

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    Messages:
    950
    I just encountered this annoying bug again in v. 1.0.1.332. :undecide:
     
  4. The_J

    The_J Say No 2 Net Validations Retired Moderator Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    33,090
    Location:
    DE/NL/FR
    Thanks for updating :), i adjusted the list accordingly.
     
  5. Bergerperson

    Bergerperson An actual Canadian

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Messages:
    528
    Location:
    Canada
    This bug plagues me in every game I play, usually in and around turns 1300+. What really bugs me about this is that these “black holes” don’t fall into the jet fighters’ area of vision, as can be seen in this screenshot

    Spoiler :


    and as already said, it also plagues me inside my own territory.

    Spoiler :


    Does anyone have a theory of how to fix this? It’s very annoying to deal with in later games.

    My operating system is Mac OSX Lion 10.7.4, 4GB hard drive, NVIDIA GeForce 320M 256 MB. My processor is 2.4 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo.
     
  6. Rubin

    Rubin King

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    Messages:
    950
    Gods & Kings v. 1.0.1.674 (and I think most--if not all--DLC).

    Did a longer test game to explore the new mechanics of the expansion pack, and got one of the worst cases of "black holes" through the mid-late game to the very end (almost).

    Attached is a save file (1.8 MB).

    There are plenty black holes on this map--e.g. jungle trade post southwest of Rome. I left a Great General and 2 Mechanized Infantry idle in the save. The Great General can build a Citadel; pointing to a larger cluster of black holes. The two Mechanized Infantry units can explore a larger black hole zone.

    I really wish we had an option to redraw the map--even if this takes a long time. The game becomes dangerously unplayable with all these black holes. Switching to the strategic map does not fix the problem.

    Why this bug is still left unaddressed is beyond my comprehension :dunno:
     
  7. Louis8k8

    Louis8k8 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2012
    Messages:
    81
    I think getting for Satellite/Hubble Space solves the problem. It's 1 turn after the research completes. I'll provide a save file when I get home but I wish I saved it just before my satellite finished.

    Pain in the ass because I can't see the city I wanted to capture and had to derail to a Science Victory :(
     
  8. Rubin

    Rubin King

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    Messages:
    950
    IIRC this does not fix the problem.

    A Great General citadel "may" fix tiles that are inside your borders, but I haven't tested this.

    The ONLY way I've found to reveal black hole tiles is using spies, and this only applies to cities and adjacent tiles. I just had a particularly nasty black hole sitting on the last Aztec city; effectively making it impossible to wipe out Montezuma. However, when I sent a spy to the city, the black hole disappeared. (I have a save file, if needed.)

    This also suggests that it should be possible to fix the bug.

    Edit: Removing the spy from the Aztec city makes the black hole return.
    Edit 2: The Great General Citadel does fix black hole tiles within your own borders.
     
  9. Thibaulthc

    Thibaulthc Prince

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2009
    Messages:
    346
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Brussels
    I've had units hidden, which i can't select directly with the mouse.

    I also had several times invisible enemy units (which were graphically 3-4 tiles away most of the time): could be surprising, but I always was able to attack them though
     
  10. Bergerperson

    Bergerperson An actual Canadian

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Messages:
    528
    Location:
    Canada
    I have an update. I upgrades my ram to an 8GB one, and my current game, I'm at turn 270 (or so, game year 2090's), and no official black holes. There's some spots that don't fall under my destroyer's extended vision (That I made my missile cruisers get), and my aircraft carriers don't seem to have a problem unless the spot is not in the hip's direct line of sight. I'm playing non-Gods and Kings.
     

Share This Page