1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Beta 11

Discussion in 'Rhye's and Fall: Europe' started by 3Miro, Jun 5, 2011.

  1. 3Miro

    3Miro Deity

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,480
    Location:
    Knoxville USA
    Austria stats late and is somewhat weak, a buff would be good for them.

    We can control the German AI, currently it is at a reasonable level (not the powerhouse they used to be). I will incorporate the changes and see how it works out.
     
  2. Kartoffelvampir

    Kartoffelvampir Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Messages:
    49
    @Daffy
    Whoops, must have missed that one, but i don't think that i have to put up a new version for this

    @Caliom:

    About the argument Augsburg and Salzburg aren't on the Danube:
    Technically correct, but first: Preslav isn't on the Danube either, and neither is Marseille on the Rhone or Cadiz on the Guadalquivir or Prague on the Elbe or etc., and second are both next to rivers who end in the danube (Lech and the Salzach iirc), so I think they should definitly be next do the river (because otherwise there would probably a need to rearrange the whole map, if we take your argument in account)

    Also, I think Salzburg is to far Western in your map, that spot is imho already in Tirol. Salzburg should be halfway between Augsburg and Wien, here there are 2 spots to the first and 5 to the second.

    As am alternativ, i would suggest to move the Mountain there to the west and Salzburg to the Mountain, like on the picture.

    Bavaria_new.jpg

    I personally don't think there should be another city between Salzburg and Wien, btw - the area would me much to crowded, and also i prefer to have a few good cities over a lot mediocre ones, which just leaves annoying Micromanagement, not to mention the higher tech-cost.

    Also, what are the plains in bohemia suppose to be?

    Edit: Also, Prague lies south of th Elbe, so somehow bohemia looks kinda less accurate to me now.
     
  3. Caliom

    Caliom Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2007
    Messages:
    164
    I agree with you. The river thing was a poor argument, but i didn't move the cities because i thougth they shouldnt be on the river, but to make room for another city.
    I have no problem if we stay with only three cites, Augsburg, Salzburg and Wien. The area is very small, and most people would prefer a few good cities over many medicore ones, as you do. It was just a try to see if it could be done differently. And i for myself like the idea to have a few small cities, if they are historic and have at least a strategic use (the problem is strategic locations arent important in civ and that one rare resource can be aquired in a different way).
    I also like it when city radiuses overlap. This creates tension and cities/civs have to battle over tiles.
    I also thought that one more city would help the austrian AI, as austrian cities tend to be very small due to lack of helath and happines. But if we can make the AI to settle the space between Wien and Venedig i would be fine.
    Research isnt a problem. Upkeep is very low, there is commerce from traderoutes
    and research is slowed down by the timeline anyway.

    As i said it was only a try. I have no knowledge of the area raound Prague. The plains are there to compensate for more flatland in that area. They can be changed if you want, also the riverplacement. But i think Prague would fit one tile north.


    What i realy find important is that salt and barley are removed from german territory and that austria on the other hand has access to more health resources.

    Also notice that i switched the positione of iron and silver north west of Prague. This way germany has easier acces to iron if they fail to get the iron on the rhine.
    Btw. Lithuania has problems to get access to iron. They have one but its far to way east. They often found the city very late and they alo found it in moscows flip zone.
     
  4. merijn_v1

    merijn_v1 Black Belt

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    5,887
    Location:
    The city of the original vlaai
    I didn't play vanilla RFC for a long time, so I don't remember.
     
  5. Hameigh

    Hameigh Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    I just recently updated to beta 11 hoping the AA issue was fixed. I played a game as the Dutch and it appeared correctly. However I then played a game as portugal, conquered all of both spain and cordoba, but then the AA didn't appear when I finished astronomy. I waited until other civs reached astronomy, but it still didn't appear and I don't know how to add it in WB. The game then crashed from memory allocation so I don't have a save, but if other people could test it and see.
     
  6. 3Miro

    3Miro Deity

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,480
    Location:
    Knoxville USA
    On Beta 11, the AA is there the whole time, there is nothing to "not appear". Do yo have a savegame?
     
  7. merijn_v1

    merijn_v1 Black Belt

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    5,887
    Location:
    The city of the original vlaai
    You can use the autosave.
     
  8. Kartoffelvampir

    Kartoffelvampir Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Messages:
    49
    Ah, I see. I initially tought there were supposed to balance the new "food"-recourse in Prague, which seemed strange to me, considering its a plain-(hill?)-barley.

    For the health resource in Austria: maybe adding a deer in the Carpats near moravia would do the trick (would make that position a pretty strong city, through).

    Or Moving the pig in Caranthia a bit and/or discouraging the venetian AI from founding a city there somehow: being possible to found a City in Southern "Austria", like Graz or Laibach, would imho be a better solution than putting another City between Salzburg and Vienna.
     
  9. Hameigh

    Hameigh Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Here is my latest game as venice where I just finished astronomy and sent my galleon to portugal to find out which city to conquer to get the AA, but there wasn't one there. Then checked WB and didn't see any, anywhere else.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. 3Miro

    3Miro Deity

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,480
    Location:
    Knoxville USA
    Your savegame doesn't open on Beta 11. Something probably went wrong when you were installing the new Beta and you are still running on Beta 10.

    Try to delete the existing mod and reinstall Beta 11.
     
  11. AbsintheRed

    AbsintheRed Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    8,288
    Location:
    Szeged, Hungary
    I agree, it looks better this way
     
  12. AbsintheRed

    AbsintheRed Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    8,288
    Location:
    Szeged, Hungary
    I like many of your changes, but IMO Salzburg should be one tile east, with the salt and sulphur resources switched. Or either the sulphur or the coal removed to another city
    Also, Wien's historic spot is one tile west, and it has way too many resources the way it is now

    EDIT: Kartoffelvampir also made some good points. I will make a few updates to the map this weekend based on these comments
     
  13. Daffy

    Daffy Prince

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    388
    I'm curious about that map too :)
    But.. SVN? Is that available to me?
    I need more information :eek:
     
  14. Caliom

    Caliom Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2007
    Messages:
    164
    here is a link to the svn repository
    RFCEuope repository

    you can download a directory by clicking on the "Download GNU tarball" link on the bottom.

    here is a link if you want just the map
    Map.tar

    some of the changes can be seen in the frst picture in this post
    Picture of bavaria
     
  15. 3Miro

    3Miro Deity

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,480
    Location:
    Knoxville USA
    You should try to use Tortoise SVN as it will download the increments only. The GNU tarball is large and you will have to redownload it every time we make changes.
     
  16. Daffy

    Daffy Prince

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    388
    thanks :goodjob:
     
  17. Highlander_

    Highlander_ Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    39
    Location:
    Gdansk, Poland
    Hi!

    I've found recent huge changes in this very interesting - provinces & adding Lithuania to fill the gap on the map were very good ideas. Thanks!

    Small feedback from playing Poland and Lithuania:

    1) UHV culture counter is needed (I found that somebody already posted this). Hovewer, this UHV should be changed to more accurate one.

    2) Please change Polish civilization logo (shown i.e. in the F5 "Military Advisor" view), as it is not historically accurate - such crownless eagle was used only in XXth century, during soviet domination over Easter Europe, including Poland. For middle ages this would be a better one: http://bochenskie.republika.pl/postacie/pl_kw.gif. Full collection of eagles is here: http://akromer.republika.pl/orzel.html
     
  18. jtb1127

    jtb1127 Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    2,498
    Location:
    Arlington, Virginia
    Is there anything to be done about those Ottomans building huge, massive, ginormous, mega stacks of doom?
     
  19. rock_star

    rock_star Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    134
    Location:
    Columbus OH
    The colonial game seems like it could use some tweaks:

    Scandinavia no longer receives AA - in Beta 9, the Norse and the Dutch were the only ones to receive AA within their waters, but since Beta 10, I haven't seen the resource appear near them. If the Ottomans hold Istanbul, Russia will have an uphill battle to take the Bosporus from the massive Ottoman stacks. Holland is often an easy target (the only catch is hoping you can get the necessary open borders agreements needed for your stack to reach Holland), and sending a settler to Iceland is another easy route (since the Norse tragically never settle it), but capturing the Scandinavian AA is the best way for Russia to play for its goal, and the most historical since Peter's primary motivation in the Great Northern War was to take the Baltic coast from Sweden (since for some reason, no one seemed to want to sail around the Nordkapp to trade at Arkhangelsk - go figure).

    Also, in Beta 9, everyone in the game built the trading companies whether they were advantageous or not. I haven't heard the bell toll for a trading company in the last 2 betas - the colonial game is kind of uncompetetive at the moment, since the AI scrambles to build the initial Carribean and Mesoamerican colonies, but then quits when it reaches the trading company stage, leaving all the large or exotic ones for the human player, which all but guarantees the UHV goal for the human. (Speaking of East & West trading companies . . . should these really count as colonial projects for UHV goals, or is this a bug?)

    The AI also doesn't appreciate the value of AA resources. When I'm at war, a rival colonial power will pillage my fishing boats, then bombard my cities, then pillage my trade route once my cities are down to 0%. This seems fairly odd, as disrupting shipping channels and supply lines has always been a huge part of naval logistics, and not the afterthought the AI treats it as. The AI also frequently fails to protect its AA during naval warfare (the only time a ship protects it is on coincidence of using all its movement points for the turn).

    The AI also trades AA away for pennies. Given the value of colonial projects, one would think the AA resource could be extorted in trade, but the AI places the same value on it as clams or honey. Civs without access resources should treat an AA offer the same way the Khmer treat an offer of iron in vanilla RFC - willing to give whatever they have to get their hands on it.
     
  20. 3Miro

    3Miro Deity

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,480
    Location:
    Knoxville USA
    Good points.

    AA is pre-set for the Dutch. AA should appear near Sweden in 1680AD.

    Trading Companies now require AA, so only Colonial powers would build them. TC also don't count towards UHV anymore (future Beta).
     

Share This Page