1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Brave New World Patch notes! Version 1.0.3.276

Discussion in 'Civ5 - General Discussions' started by MadDjinn, Oct 27, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Lambatatte

    Lambatatte Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2013
    Messages:
    36
    Didnt see this coming with the release of BE just the other day (y)

    Guessing does mp problems will be fixed pretty soon.
     
  2. Empedocles

    Empedocles Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 18, 2012
    Messages:
    62
    I am disappointed that they would release a patch that they obviously didn't even test in multiplayer. They would have had to play a game for all of 5 minutes before running into the easily reproducable resync bug. Or else they just don't care about multiplayer in the slightest and released it even though they knew. That is even worse.
     
  3. PhilBowles

    PhilBowles Deity

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2011
    Messages:
    5,317
    This is welcome (the new resources were expected in the main game a while ago), but it would have been nice to have more as a 'bow out' patch - perhaps including a Deluxe version of one or more of the existing scenarios (such as 1066) that hasn't received one, and possibly extra resources such as rice for marsh (which lacks many resources).

    It's the same resource as in the scenario, so will be a bonus resource in plains.
     
  4. civjou

    civjou Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2013
    Messages:
    43
    MadDjinn and co...

    I am asking because i know you might have been involved in the preparation of the patch.... sorry if you weren't

    I think the patch's rebalancing touches are terrific. Bringing reformation into play is awesome. Nerfing Tradition so that not 80% of the games go for it is good.

    However, has this been tested with multiplayer at all?

    Can someone make a statement to how this was tested in MP?
     
  5. Conspirator

    Conspirator Prince

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    Messages:
    388
    The excitement in the MP scene was palatable when the news spread of the patch and the changes. I can attest that everyone was very surprised and incredibly pleased. Personally I think the Tradition nerf is subtle and clever, and new resources is always a pleasant sight.

    Imagine our frustration then when we can't even get into the game long enough to relish these changes at all! It's really sad.
     
  6. MadDjinn

    MadDjinn Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011
    Messages:
    4,554
    Posting log files will help get this resolved.

    Just spamming in a thread won't help anything.
     
  7. dogfish44

    dogfish44 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2014
    Messages:
    78
    Location:
    UK
    Hah!

    Scientific Wins in BNW now come with a lovely button directing you to the store page for BE.

    Spoiler Big Pics :



    The more you know~
     
  8. cuc

    cuc Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    Messages:
    211
    Someone says Carthagian workers can no longer end their turn on mountains, meaning they could no longer build roads over mountains. Wait, are you kidding me, was that really a thing?
     
  9. MadDjinn

    MadDjinn Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011
    Messages:
    4,554
    Just played a 5 player mp game with ppl around the world and no crashing. So logs are important.
     
  10. civjou

    civjou Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2013
    Messages:
    43
    So just now is when this started being tested?

    Honestly - I wanna find out what Firaxis does in terms of testing.

    Also you state multiple times to provide log files.

    Can you be more specific about where they are and where they should be posted - get the community testing for you - i suppose that was the intention all along.
     
  11. Pietato

    Pietato Emperor

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2014
    Messages:
    1,729
    Location:
    New Zealand
    'Literally heartbroken' would mean they are dead.
     
  12. Nikolai II

    Nikolai II Prince

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2013
    Messages:
    369
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    Logs are found in mygames/civ5 folder. You need to enable logging in the config.ini file first.

    This is what I have in my config.ini on logging:
    Spoiler :

    [Debugging]

    ; Set to 1 to enable the fire tuner to connect to the game.
    EnableTuner = 0

    ; Set remark levels (ex. /R0 /R1:Video - means all off except video level 1) (default "/R1"
    Remarks = /R1

    ; Set remark log filename; empty for no remark log
    RemarkLog =

    ; Sets a breakpoint on a specified object allocation order number (debug only).
    CrtBreakAllocNum = 0

    ; Set to 1 to validate memory on allocations
    MemoryManagerValidateOnAllocation = 0

    ; Set to 1 to validate memory on deallocations
    MemoryManagerValidateOnDeallocation = 0

    ; Frequency at which to do memory validation (in operations) 0 = off
    MemoryManagerValidationFrequency = 0

    ; Set to 1 to send FRemark output to the tuner
    SendRemarksToTuner = 0

    ; Set to 1 to enable mem tracking when using a mem tracker build
    EnableMemTrackerSystem = 0

    ; Set to 1 to do various embedded memory tracker dumps
    DoMemTrackerDumps = 0

    ; Set to 1 to disable hotloading of objects
    DisableHotLoading = 0

    ; Set to 1 to enable asserts in debug mode
    EnableAsserts = 1

    ; Set to 1 to have loose files override PAK files if the loose file is newer
    LooseFilesOverridePAK = 0

    ; Set to 1 to quiet D3D warning and leak msgs
    D3D Mute = 0

    ; Sub-directory where the game code DLL resides, set to empty string to let the game decide
    GameCoreSubDirectory =

    ; Set to 1 to disable hotloading of objects
    DisableHotLoader = 1

    ; Enables the use of the standard Lua debug library.
    EnableLuaDebugLibrary = 0

    ; Set to 1 to enable the dialog popup for asserts in multiplayer
    EnableAssertDialogInMultiplayer = 0

    ; Validates the game database whenever it is changed.
    ValidateGameDatabase = 0

    Spoiler :

    [DEBUG]

    ; upload assert logs and crash dumps to the server
    UploadReports = 1

    ; Delete reports after uploading to the server
    MoveReports = 1

    ; Controls the threading strategy: (0=default,1=no display lists,2=one DL per command set, 3=split mode, 4=aggregate mode)
    ThreadingMode = 0

    ; Number of commands per diplay list to aim for in SPLIT and AGGREGATE thread modes
    TargetJobSize = 100

    ; Enables stack-trace collection on random number generators and FAutoVariables. Slightly slower and uses more memory
    EnableOutOfSyncDebugging = 1

    ; Set App on Auto-Run
    Autorun = 0

    ; Number of turns to autorun before exiting (0 for no limit)
    AutorunTurnLimit = 0

    ; Enable message logging
    MessageLog = 1

    ; Enable rand event logging
    RandLog = 0

    ; Enable synchronization logging
    SynchLog = 0

    ; Enable AI logging
    AILog = 1

    ; Enable Builder AI logging
    BuilderAILog = 1

    ; Enable Serialization logging
    SerializationLog = 0

    ; Enable Tutorial logging
    TutorialLog = 0

    ; Enable Tutorial debug window
    TutorialDebug = 0

    ; Split AI Logging into separate files for each Player & City
    PlayerAndCityAILogSplit = 0

    ; Overwrite old network and message logs
    OverwriteLogs = 1

    ; Enable the logging system
    LoggingEnabled = 1

    ; Show combat debugging overlays
    CombatDebug = 0

    ; Enable AI performance logging
    AIPerfLog = 0

    ; Use a background thread for asynchronous D3D submission.
    ThreadedExecute = 0

    ; Maximum number of frames to allow D3D to queue up. 0 means default. DX11.1 only
    MaxFrameLatency = 0

    ; Saves the game after the human player presses 'next turn' but before the game logic advances
    PostTurnAutosaves = 1

    [TextKey Settings]

    ; Enable triggered sounds from units (3dsmax Note tracks) (default 1)
    Enable markered sounds = 1

    This is probably a user error, is my guess. Do you have any mods installed? Are your install fresh? Try validating your files in Steam.
     
  13. MadDjinn

    MadDjinn Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011
    Messages:
    4,554
    No, this has not just started testing. But if you are having an issue that the 5 person ffa game I played Tonite is not showing, then you have to provide some information to help find out why.

    Edit -- and grab the logs each time you leave the game. -zip the whole folder.

    Else, turn off the overwrite logs line.
     
  14. TheGrumpyBuddha

    TheGrumpyBuddha King

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013
    Messages:
    822
    This may be the saddest SP patch I've ever seen, given how many problems there are with the trees right now. C'mon, guys. You couldn't give +1 culture to shrines? Or give Liberty a boost? Just steal a *little* from the awesome SP mods out there, maybe (e.g., Policy Plus or Reform and Rule).

    Instead make it so that if you go Tradition, the first policy you pick is something that will essentially be worthless. Not that the free monuments so early weren't broken, but this is the kind of fix someone comes up with and puts into place on their lunch hour.
     
  15. Redaxe

    Redaxe Emperor

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2013
    Messages:
    1,519
    I think its pretty clear at this point that Piety is a supplementary tree. You should never open it first. It seems like Liberty, republic & free settler is the pre-requisite to a game focused on religion.

    Now that reformation is 1 policy earlier that should actually make a hybrid Liberty/Piety or Tradition/Piety much more viable.
    The only thing is I don't know why religious tolerance is a prerequisite seeing as it has no use in the early game. RT would be better as the finishing policy.
     
  16. TheGrumpyBuddha

    TheGrumpyBuddha King

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013
    Messages:
    822
    Given that the opening is double-speed shrines and temples, and you generally need early religious buildings to get a religion, it seems odd that should be the opening benefit for a policy you might not take until turn 50 or later.

    There are so many good nerfs to Trad/Honor/Piety out there, I just think it's bizarre that they'd do such a half-assed patch. It looks like an afterthought, down to the little leftover policies there being all stranded and alone.
     
  17. joncnunn

    joncnunn Senior Java Wizard Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,621
    Location:
    Missouri
    My own thought is that the policy tree change a good idea for Piety, but it really should have included changing the requirement to open to the Classical era to save the poor AI from itself. (Similarly while at it the Honor opener could also use a delay to Classical era to help the AI)

    On the Tradition change, while it might slow down those that had already been building a monument in their capital first anyway, those that weren't are now going to which will cancel that slowdown. It would actually be a more significant nerf if the free Aqueducts were to require Engineering to be granted with it one tech off the path to Education.

    No, Liberty does NOT need a boost, any boost to it and even those only wanting 4 self founded cities will switch to that as a first tree and use Tradition as a second one. (Along with always picking Oracle and always wanting Worlds Fair first)
     
  18. werothegreat

    werothegreat Warlord

    Joined:
    May 19, 2013
    Messages:
    290
    Location:
    Virginia
    Are Cocoa and Bison bonus or luxury resources?
     
  19. Barathor

    Barathor Emperor

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,202
    A nice lil' patch!

    I like the reduced warmonger penalties in the earlier eras -- they were violent times after all!

    The branch manipulations within Tradition and Piety are interesting and will certainly delay/hasten the acquisition of the powerful policies at the end of the trees.

    I'm also surprised they decided to throw cocoa and bison in; especially bison, since as a bonus resource, it wasn't really needed since all holes are already filled. Oh well, grass and plains overall are now a tiny bit more fertile. :)

    - - - - -

    Though, Firaxis, I found a new bug in AssignStartingPlots.lua with your new additions:

    GetListOfAllowableLuxuriesAtCitySite

    Code:
    local allowed_luxuries = table.fill(false, [COLOR="Red"]35[/COLOR]);
    You need to increase the size of this table to 45 too, just as you did with the other ones at the top of the file, shown below.

    Code:
    amounts_of_resources_placed = table.fill(0, 45), 
    luxury_assignment_count = table.fill(0, 45),
    luxury_low_fert_compensation = table.fill(0, 45),
    Since the new resources are added at the end of the BNW Resources XML file, Cocoa has an index number of 41, and you've decided to include it in this function. It will always be nil and some city-states may never get a luxury or some civs will never get their 2nd luxury type at starts.
    EDIT: Actually, what would probably really happen is that cocoa would simply never be assigned to city-states or as 2nd luxuries for starts, and is just a waste to include in the function until the table is enlarged.

    - - - - -

    Also, I was surprised to see Cocoa added here when the Gods and Kings luxuries are still not present for some reason.

    - - - - -

    Additionally, if you want to address another bug which has existed for a long time while you're working in this location:

    There really needs to be a check for an existing resource (the existing regional ones placed in the start location) on the tile before the function starts setting resource types to "true" for that tile.

    Code:
    if plot:GetResourceType(-1) == -1 then
    Because, if that one tile is the only one useable by the randomly chosen luxury, it will never be placed and will be ignored if another luxury already exists there.

    I imagine this was an oversight because the function was probably originally only used for city-states earlier during development (who don't have other luxuries placed in their areas - and other resource types come later.), until it was then also used for 2nd luxury type placement at major civ starts.
     
  20. Redaxe

    Redaxe Emperor

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2013
    Messages:
    1,519
    Hmmm not sure about this. Liberty gives each city a point of culture & productivity and makes it a lot easier to get settlers out. This makes it a lot easier to expand and build more shrines/temples over the longterm.
    The problem with getting a religion is that on Diety the AIs start with pottery, 2 cities and a production bonus so they have a huge lead in securing a religion that the player doesn't.
    That imo is the real problem. But one fix could be to change the Ancestor Worship pantheon into providing 1 faith and 1 culture per shrine. I've never seen a time when Ancestor Worship was an optimal pantheon.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page