1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

[BTS] V.D.R.N. ModPack (Beta Version)

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Modpacks' started by Echo of Celts, Jan 29, 2008.

  1. Echo of Celts

    Echo of Celts Just Plain Crazy

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    Messages:
    143
    Location:
    Vancouver, Canada
    V.D.R.N. (without the D temporarily) V0.2 BETA will be loaded tomorrow in the evening (I live in PST). It includes original V.D.R.N. minus D.C.M. plus Regiments and Influence Driven War.

    I have tested the loading and it works fine for me. anyone else who can give it a try would be helpful. Then I can focus on the succesful integration of D.C.M.
     
  2. Tarquelne

    Tarquelne Follower of Tytalus

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2001
    Messages:
    3,715
    I look forward to trying the next version. I've been having CTD problems, too.

    I second the suggestion to add BUG. I tried merging it with Revolution myself - Everything up to actually getting it working went fine!

    I very much like your mod choices.

    EDIT: Played some this afternoon. New version working fine so far. No CTDs.
     
  3. James009

    James009 Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Messages:
    276
    Great mod! I've been a fan of things like Sevomod, Extra, HiM, and now VDRN.

    I really enjoy the dynamic that revolutions brings, it really makes the game more realistic and ... DYNAMIC! The amount of diversity between civilizations is also excellent!

    I'm certainly looking forward to the new update, I hope it fixes the loading problem. Also, I do hope I can play without Dale's Mod. I kinda can't play without it...

    Anyways, best of luck.

    p.s. I second the BUG mod... at least some of it. Its kinda neat but don't go overboard with too many mods.
     
  4. Echo of Celts

    Echo of Celts Just Plain Crazy

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    Messages:
    143
    Location:
    Vancouver, Canada
    Well, I have Air Bombing Working, however, as Avain has found, Influence Driven War and CASA do not cooperate with each other very well. Either a solution needs to be found or one will have to be dropped.
     
  5. Tarquelne

    Tarquelne Follower of Tytalus

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2001
    Messages:
    3,715
    Tough choice. IMO CASA is the heart of DCM.

    Influence Driven War has some interesting effects and can make for interesting limited-goal wars, though: Arrange for some battles near your culture-challenged city to give it elbow room. But I'm concerned I'm taking an "unfair" advantage over the AI. So far it's always worked to my advantage. OTOH, "Active City Resistance" seems like a nice "rubber band" mechanic... and it all fits well with Revolution.

    Also: I'm ambivalent about Regiments. (I can see why someone would like it, but for now at least I'd rather have fewer men per unit to better see the nifty models and skins from V.D.) Is there an easy way to disable it? Just remove the directory from "Modules"?

    BTW: The only aspect of BUG I really pine for is the city unhappiness alerts. I'm presently playing with Civ4lerts added to V.D.R.N. - no problems yet. The gold-trade notices, which I currently have set to "False", seemed to conflict with something in V.D.R.N. 0.1. Could have just been BTS 3.13, though.

    EDIT: Revolution 1.3 is out! Where's that "crack the whip" icon? :)
     
  6. Echo of Celts

    Echo of Celts Just Plain Crazy

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    Messages:
    143
    Location:
    Vancouver, Canada
    Removing Regiments is very easy.. just remove the regiments folder in the modules folder.
     
  7. Echo of Celts

    Echo of Celts Just Plain Crazy

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    Messages:
    143
    Location:
    Vancouver, Canada
    Well seeing as Revolutions 1.3 is out now (thanks for the heads up), the next build will be a little while. But here is the current plan for V.03

    -Rebuild from scratch (again)
    -Revolutions 1.3 will be merged with DCM 1.3 first, I will achieve a stable build and go from there.
    -Next War will then be added
    -VD will then be added
    -Regiments will be included as a seperate, easily adable option.

    Unfortunately, I have decided that DCM and therefore CASA is an important part of the design concept of VDRN, therefore, Influence Driven Wat will be removed in V.03 so that CASA can function properly.

    Once V.03 is working, V.04 will focus on the inclusion of some BUG features and maybe Enhanced Tech Conquest as a replacement for Influence Driven War.
     
  8. Amuroray

    Amuroray Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Messages:
    72
    what s CASA?
     
  9. mamba

    mamba Deity

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,520
  10. Tarquelne

    Tarquelne Follower of Tytalus

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2001
    Messages:
    3,715
  11. Quetz

    Quetz The Tallest Lilliputian

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    663
    Location:
    Heavensent
    any chance of requesting Wolfshanze's mod (personal love of mine) and maybe Super Spies in this?

    Just downloaded but I guess will wait for the next version to play. Looks excellent though. I'd also vote for CASA even though IDW is interesting.
     
  12. Echo of Celts

    Echo of Celts Just Plain Crazy

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    Messages:
    143
    Location:
    Vancouver, Canada
    Well, I dont want people to think I have given up on this, so here is an update.

    I have used my limited time over the last few days to try and merge Revolution and DCM succesfully, however, despite multiple merge attempts I keep getting the same error on .dll compiling. Tonight I will post the error on here and hopefully someone will be able to give me a hand. Once that is fixed, I should be able to integrate Next War and VD rather easily (provided the first merge functions properly) Then I will add the Regiments Add-On.

    After that, I will think about what to work on next.
     
  13. zulu9812

    zulu9812 The Newbie Nightmare

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2002
    Messages:
    6,389
    Location:
    Athens of the North
  14. avain

    avain (key)

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2006
    Messages:
    2,770
    Location:
    Budapest, EU
    Did you manage to solve it? Will you post it, so we could try to help?
     
  15. strategyonly

    strategyonly C2C Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    20,668
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MN
    Where are you'll hiding the Air Forces XML files? and stuff from that area?
     
  16. Echo of Celts

    Echo of Celts Just Plain Crazy

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    Messages:
    143
    Location:
    Vancouver, Canada
    Sorry, yes I will post the problem ASAP.

    I have been very busy this past week or so, haven't had anytime to play or code. Only able to post while I am at work :/

    Also, I dont have Air Forces included in this MOD... Just Regiments.
     
  17. strategyonly

    strategyonly C2C Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    20,668
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MN
    So the folder with all the Air Forces are not being used then? Why not just get rid of them then (thats 60 folders)??:rolleyes:
     
  18. mice

    mice Moose

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Messages:
    2,180
    Location:
    tundra
    Echo, I'm playing a game successfully right now. It's a very good merge. I'm enjoying revolutions where I didn't in the past. I think I just needed to learn it a bit more.

    The formations and battle effect are good.
     
  19. AljayBoy

    AljayBoy Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2006
    Messages:
    227
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Thanks for merging some great Mods, been a fan of Revolution Mod for a while but never tried the others, they seem to work well together though.

    Only problem I have noticed is when I played as China, the art for the spearman is missing and when it is selected in the build queue the game CtD. Seems to work ok if I just don't select spearman, although the AI managed to build one after I had been forced to give up power for a no. of turns.
     
  20. Prebral

    Prebral Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2006
    Messages:
    81
    Location:
    Prague
    Is there some Earth map with accurate starting locations, which is also proven to be compatible with VDRN? I have tried some ported with CivIV/BtS, but got CtDs because of their uncompatibility.
     

Share This Page