Building cities on resources?

Discussion in 'CivRev - Strategy & Tips' started by XxtraLarGe, Jul 28, 2008.

  1. XxtraLarGe

    XxtraLarGe Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Messages:
    268
    If you build a city on a resource, do you get the resource's benefit? For instance, let's say I build a city on an oak resource, and I can use oak, will I get 5 production from that square, or do I just get the base square production value?
     
  2. Endure

    Endure Prince

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Messages:
    307
    Location:
    Canada
    I don't think you get any production out of the tile you settle your city on, and that includes if it has a resource on it.
     
  3. KingDerfliw

    KingDerfliw Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Location:
    WPB, FL
    I'm pretty sure that you don't get the bonuses... I think they should change that so that you get whatever the terrain would give, bonuses included...
     
  4. I-am-a-panda

    I-am-a-panda

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    175
    Location:
    Ireland
    No you only get the surround tiles to work with. so its usless to build on that silk/oil square thats staring you in the face 'cause you don't have literacy/combustion.
     
  5. goofyballer

    goofyballer Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    56
    This is kinda why I hate the Mongols, when you capture a Barbarian camp then instead of getting a resource for later use you just get a city in a generally terrible location.
     
  6. KAZUY4

    KAZUY4 Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    Messages:
    264
    Location:
    Connecticut
    You do not get ANY bonus of that resource. Otherwise everyone will be playing Mongol :p
     
  7. AznWarlord

    AznWarlord Monarch

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    397
    Location:
    Virginia
    Because you no longer need Resources to build something, (at least won't be starting wars for Rubber anymore), building on a Resource does nothing.
     
  8. Endure

    Endure Prince

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Messages:
    307
    Location:
    Canada
    Resources still provide some sort of benefit (extra trade, resources, production, or food) when their within your cities cross (or fat cross with a courthouse) and you have a worker working that title. So there'll still something that are desirable to have and not settle on top of.
     
  9. XxtraLarGe

    XxtraLarGe Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Messages:
    268
    That's definitely a game design flaw. In every version of Civ, you always got some sort of food, trade, or production from the square you settled on. I guess the best square to build your city on then must be desert since you only get 1 trade/2 with trading post?
     
  10. KingCharles

    KingCharles Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    16
    For a defensive advantage you can build your city on a hill. If you add walls to that city it will be very eaisly defeneded. However, if you do build the city on the hill tile you would lose the 3 hammers from that tile. ( after you get a workshop anyway) Key thing is to keep in mind what tiles your are going to get after you build your court house... you dont want your new city too close to your capital or visa versa.
     
  11. Masquerouge

    Masquerouge Deity

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2002
    Messages:
    17,790
    Location:
    Mountain View, CA
    That is not a game design flaw, it's a game design choice. Civ Rev is counter-intuitive for "regular" civ players in that you should actually pick the worst square to build your city since you will get the same thing regardless of the terrain.
     
  12. CrusaderKevin

    CrusaderKevin Pilgrim in Arms

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    90
    I think it's more about knowing your civ than it is optimal bulding locations.

    Germans build near forests.
    Egyptians build near deserts.
    Japanese build near water.
    Chinese build near plains.
    British/Spanish build near mountains and water.

    So, unless you want to hamper you civ's growth, then you pay close attention to your natural & era boons.
     
  13. motor_ola

    motor_ola Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Messages:
    45
    Never played the older versions, but in Civ 4 you always got 1 hammer, 2 food and 1 gold from your city tile no matter what terrain it was on, and any resource underneath dissapeared. And i don't think you even got a defense bonus for placing it on a hill.
     
  14. Endure

    Endure Prince

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Messages:
    307
    Location:
    Canada
    Yeh it does get a defense bonus if you build it on a hill in civ4
     
  15. MrPopov

    MrPopov King

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Messages:
    985
    in Civ 4 building on a plains hill gives not only the extra tile defense, but also an extra hammer and building on a food resource gives an extra food for that tile. They don't stack though so a plains hill with a food tile does not give 3 food 2 hammers 1 commerce.
     
  16. motor_ola

    motor_ola Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Messages:
    45
    Hmm maybe i remembered wrong then.
     

Share This Page