1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

[BXP] BAT Xtras Packs - Modpacks for BAT 3.0 and above

Discussion in 'Civ4 - BTS Unaltered Gameplay (BUG, BAT and BULL)' started by Lemon Merchant, Oct 29, 2010.

  1. Bloodstone

    Bloodstone Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Messages:
    276
    Location:
    Tallahassee
    Very cool. I downloaded and started a fresh game, but I don't know if I got it right. I followed link for the BAT download from SF, got it all done and set up, but I'm not sure if I got the "extra's" part of this thing. Was looking for the Australian Civ specifically mentioned here but I'm not seeing it anywhere. Are the "extra" portions needed to be loaded seperately or something? Maybe I'm missing that part. I can download and install the mods w/o any real big questions, but I'm not sure if I'm supposed to be loading the other content differently.

    Thanks for guiding me. Your entire team has made this game the greatest of all time for playability purposes, and I'm eternally grateful to all of you for the hard work you all put into it.
     
  2. BufordTJustice

    BufordTJustice Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Messages:
    92
    The links for the extra content you are looking for can be found in the first post in this thread, below the spoiler. Download the Civilizations and if you want the additional modern units, download the MEE (Modern Era Expansion) support as well.

    Lemon, now that I think of it, one could get the impression that you seem to try to hide your work. ;)
     
  3. ruff_hi

    ruff_hi Live 4ever! Or die trying

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Messages:
    9,027
    Location:
    an Aussie in Boston
    First 2 posts in my game are up. I need your input!
     
  4. Bloodstone

    Bloodstone Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Messages:
    276
    Location:
    Tallahassee
    Sweet. Many thanks Buford. I figured it out, I was looking at the SF site wrong and just missed the extra content the first time around. Gonna install now, are these all pretty much free standing (other than the Civs) or do the Apps. need to be loaded in a certain order? I'll try digging through this thread to make sure, but I'm assuming this all just gets loaded into the BAT folders.

    Awesome stuff, thanks to Lemon, and the many, many other Modders and testers that make it possible for a caveman to play!
     
  5. Lemon Merchant

    Lemon Merchant Thread Killer Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    6,784
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Red Sector A
    Firstly, thank you for the nice words. :)

    The extra civ packs will install to the right spot for BAT to use, there isn't anything that you need to do beyond checking off the MEE box if you want the civ pack to support it. You must have the MEE pack installed first if you want your extra civ to install with it properly.
     
  6. ruff_hi

    ruff_hi Live 4ever! Or die trying

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Messages:
    9,027
    Location:
    an Aussie in Boston
    say what? Are you saying that I have to install the MEE pack and then the extra civs (with MEE checked) for it to work?

    What happens if I install the civs (with MEE checked) and then install the MEE pack?

    How do I tell if I have it installed it in the wrong order?
     
  7. Lemon Merchant

    Lemon Merchant Thread Killer Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    6,784
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Red Sector A
    I just said it that way to keep people from forgetting and then getting confused. It really doesn't matter what order you do it in. (Shhh.)
     
  8. Bloodstone

    Bloodstone Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Messages:
    276
    Location:
    Tallahassee
    OK, I'm sure there's an easy answer to this problem that I'm just not seeing.

    I started with the first post of this thread, and went through the process of downloading the Hungary and Polynesian Civs in the Spoiler link. I then found out that I could get everything from the SF site that Lemon linked to so I went there and downloaded the MEE Pak, LeaderHeader, Italy, Poland, and Australia. Installed everything (including the two through Atomic Gamer), all is good in the world. I run BAT, and I've got everything loaded up except Hungary and Polynesia. I tried to re-run them and I get a mssg. that they are already installed, but their not showing up. Am I missing them somewhere or do I need to have the VD program that is referenced on their download pages maybe? Sorry for all the confusion, I'm sure I'll get better at how to figure all this stuff out someday.

    EDIT: Problem Solved. I went back to the SF page and downloaded the Hungary and Poly files from there installed them, and they are showing up fine. Not sure why the other files don't show though. Should I install the VD stuff, or do I need to even worry about it.
     
  9. Lemon Merchant

    Lemon Merchant Thread Killer Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    6,784
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Red Sector A
    No. You don't need any of the VD components unless you want to play BTS with VD itself. It's a good mod, but BAT includes all of it, so...

    BTW, anything for BAT will only be hosted at SourceForge, and nowhere else. I'll edit the instructions to make that more clear. I provided those links only so that prospective users of the BXP packs could see in advance what they will be getting. There is no need to download any of those items in the spoiler.
     
  10. Bloodstone

    Bloodstone Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Messages:
    276
    Location:
    Tallahassee
    Sweet. Thanks Lemon, I'm sure that should have been obvious, but your helping out a non-tech savy gomer is greatly appreciated!

    I believe between BAT and PIG I should have more than enough to keep me happy until 2012, and if I'm lucky by then they will have Civ V patched up and ready to play!
     
  11. Norvin_Green

    Norvin_Green Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,874
    Location:
    The Garden State
    I can't thank this team enough for this mod and now these modpacks! Without a doubt my favorite way to play my favorite game. I especially love the new wonder movies Lemon Merchant. Nice touch.
     
  12. Lemon Merchant

    Lemon Merchant Thread Killer Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    6,784
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Red Sector A
    Thank you. We're happy that you're enjoying it. :)
     
  13. Bloodstone

    Bloodstone Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Messages:
    276
    Location:
    Tallahassee
    Minor Annoyance but not sure if it can be changed. When I open a City screen the top 3 tiles (northern part of BFC) is partially cut off. It allows me to move things around and everything, but you can only see 1/2 of the tile. I can obviously still figure out what the yield is, but it's a little annoying at this point. Is there anyway to fix it? I'm running Blue Marble, which may be the issue, but I'm not sure.

    Happy Holidays to all, and a big Salute to our troops out in harms way.
     
  14. ruff_hi

    ruff_hi Live 4ever! Or die trying

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Messages:
    9,027
    Location:
    an Aussie in Boston
    That is caused by the screen zoom (slider on the top right). The default setting is 42 but if you have it higher (shows much more than BFC) or lower (shows less than BFC) and you only have 1 city, then you run into the problem you mentioned. It is also an issue for the first city you open when you have more than 1 city. It is fixed by hitting the left / right arrows - effectively looping to the next city and then back again.

    We've tried to fix it for the first city, but cannot.
     
  15. Bloodstone

    Bloodstone Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Messages:
    276
    Location:
    Tallahassee
    Cool. I will make note and adjust accordingly.
     
  16. Todd Hawks

    Todd Hawks Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2005
    Messages:
    228
    So... how is the Better AI merge coming along? Any news? I'm really looking forward to playing BAT 3, the new stuff sounds fantastic... but not without Better AI.

    Cheers and keep it up! :)
     
  17. Lemon Merchant

    Lemon Merchant Thread Killer Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    6,784
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Red Sector A
    There was a bit of a hiccup with something in BetterBUGAI that Fuyu corrected. I've been a bit busy in r/l lately, but I'm hoping to finish things up during the Christmas break, and release shortly after Christmas. Much sooner, if I can find the time.

    I'm as eager as you are. :D
     
  18. Bloodstone

    Bloodstone Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Messages:
    276
    Location:
    Tallahassee
    Thanks ruff_hi
    I changed the field of view slider to 50 (default is 42) and it fits everything in perfectly. Hope you and the team enjoyed your holidays.
     
  19. Norvin_Green

    Norvin_Green Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,874
    Location:
    The Garden State
    Is there a way, after having dl'ed and installed the modpacks, to NOT have them available in a game? Sometimes, I want to play a game with only the original leaders and sometimes I don't. Thanks for any help.
     
  20. ruff_hi

    ruff_hi Live 4ever! Or die trying

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Messages:
    9,027
    Location:
    an Aussie in Boston
    See post #34 and prior.
     

Share This Page