Cannot install mod

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Star Trek Mod' started by stardestroyer00, Apr 21, 2016.

  1. stardestroyer00

    stardestroyer00 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Hi,

    I'd like to start off with a congratulations to the people who created this mod. I played it on an older computer running Windows 7 and it was an enjoyable experience - which is why I've come back to play it again on my new Windows 10 PC.

    Unfortunately, for some reason I'm unable to install the mod. I downloaded it and ran the mod both normally and with Windows 7 compatibility + admin privileges. In all cases, when I get to the screen where I select the Mods folder, it doesn't allow me to hit "Next" in both the Browse menu or manually entering the location in the box. The "Next" button is greyed out.

    Any help would be appreciated.

    [Edit] Oh and I'm running the Steam version with version 3.19.
     
  2. Zapmaster14

    Zapmaster14 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    I am having the same issue as well, I've also done everything you've done I am on Windows 10 as well.
     
  3. Blake00

    Blake00 Civ Archivist Moderator Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2016
    Messages:
    1,148
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Australia
    I'm getting people commenting on my Star Trek Civ4 tour videos about this problem. I still use windows 7 so I had no troubles installing the mod on my steam copy. So this is possibly some sort of silly windows 10 issue with the installer.

    If this mod had been released in a zip file that made users have to drag stuff into folders themselves it would have been annoying however at least it would have been future proof as win10 may not like their 'helpful' installer lol.

    I can see from the FAQ that the installer does more than just stick files into the mods folder, it also sticks files elsewhere and possibly inserts some registry settings too. I can force open the exe installer in 7zip (which you guys could do too) but its hard to tell what is meant to go where. Presumably the creators of the mod are long gone but someone smart enough here can help 'deconstruct' what goes where and if any registry stuff happens in the installer. Then we could make a alternative manual install zip file which just gets the user to extract all files and folders into the root BTS folder and run a manual reg update file similar to what we have people do with the Babylon 5 Civ4 mod.

    However all that being said you guys might just been falling for the same old problem a lot of our B5 mod fans fall for with the steam copy which is nothing Windows 10 related.. its simply the fact that steam calls the vanilla Civ4 folder 'Sid Meier's Civilization IV Beyond the Sword' so then everyone thinks that is the BTS addon folder when it's NOT, it's still vanilla Civ4 and you still have to go into the BTS sub folder (eg here's a picture of my B5 mod install folder showing the double levels of BTS folders in the steam copy). However the Star Trek installer does NOT want you to select the mods folder there either or make your own Star Trek folder in mods which a lot of people probably fall for too. All it wants you to do is select the BTS sub folder within Civ4's install folder.

    So basically this should make the 'Next' button work:
    [location of your steam folder]\steamapps\common\Sid Meier's Civilization IV Beyond the Sword\Beyond the Sword\

    And these common mistakes will NOT work and make it grey out:
    [location of your steam folder]\steamapps\common\Sid Meier's Civilization IV Beyond the Sword\
    [location of your steam folder]\steamapps\common\Sid Meier's Civilization IV Beyond the Sword\Mods\
    [location of your steam folder]\steamapps\common\Sid Meier's Civilization IV Beyond the Sword\Beyond the Sword\Mods\
    [location of your steam folder]\steamapps\common\Sid Meier's Civilization IV Beyond the Sword\Beyond the Sword\Mods\Star Trek\
    Or anything else you can think of lol

    If the 'Next' button is still grayed out there then its a weird win 10 issue and my earlier advice needs to be done somehow.. if its not grayed out then congrats you fell for the rather silly problem caused by steams naming of the Civ4 root install folder along with not properly reading what the installer is asking you to do haha.

    EDIT: The latest guy on my youtube having this issue just confirmed that he was typing in the mods folder and a star trek folder. The Star Trek mod is now working on his steam copy on Windows 10 just fine so it's definitely NOT a Win 10 issue. Shame you guys missed out on playing the mod due to such a simple misunderstanding of the installer instructions and steam folder naming lol, oh well. Hopefully this thread stops this from happening in the future!

    .
     
    Last edited: Mar 28, 2021
    jackal1234 likes this.
  4. Defiant47

    Defiant47 Peace Sentinel

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,603
    Location:
    Canada
    Thank you so much, that solved it!!

    [location of your steam folder]\steamapps\common\Sid Meier's Civilization IV Beyond the Sword\Beyond the Sword\
     
    Blake00 likes this.

Share This Page