1. Firaxis celebrates the "Asian American and Pacific Islander Heritage Month", and offers a give-away of a Civ6 anthology copy (5 in total)! For all the details, please check the thread here. .
    Dismiss Notice
  2. We have selected the winners of the Old World random draw and competition. For the winning entries, please check this thread.
    Dismiss Notice

Civ 3 for MAC

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Macintosh' started by John123john, May 25, 2017.

  1. John123john

    John123john Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 25, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Gender:
    Male
    Where i can find Civ 3 for my Mac? Any suggestion? Thanks.
     
  2. timerover51

    timerover51 Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2006
    Messages:
    3,594
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Chicago area in Illinois
    You might try Amazon, or check the Firaxis website directly. I am running it on a Mac under OS 10.5.8, but I am not sure how it runs under the newest OS.
     
  3. John123john

    John123john Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 25, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Gender:
    Male
  4. AlanH

    AlanH Mac addict, php monkey Moderator Hall of Fame Staff Supporter GOTM Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    29,428
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    England
    You won't be able to get the Mac version from Firaxis.

    I'm have Civ3 Complete on my Retina iMac running Sierra, latest version. I don't play it seriously, and really only use it to support the Game of the Month activities in these forums. It seems to run OK - both Play the World and Conquests versions. I bought it on CD when it first came out from Aspyr, but I doubt if the CD is even available now.

    If you are able to find a working, legal installer, you need to be careful about updaters - they typically depend on older Mac coding standards ("Carbon" if anyone else remembers?) that are no longer supported by recent Mac OS versions. I think I only still have my working versions because they migrated from my old systems into my current one.

    You have a rather better chance of getting it working if you can install a Windows virtual machine - Parallels, VMWare or maybe VirtualBox, and then get a copy of the PC version on CD or Steam.
     
  5. timerover51

    timerover51 Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2006
    Messages:
    3,594
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Chicago area in Illinois
    Amazon is showing several copies of Civilization 3 Complete for the Mac available.
     
  6. John123john

    John123john Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 25, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Gender:
    Male
    Thanks for reply!
     

Share This Page