1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Civ V Beta 1

Discussion in 'Civ5 - Hall of Fame Discussion' started by Ozbenno, Sep 28, 2010.

  1. Tiphereth

    Tiphereth Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Thanks for your answer. (And for your last report, it's very helpuf for the beginners like me.) ^^

    So you built a warrior and an archer in the beginning? Could you build all the wonders (GL, Oracle, Stonehenge)? (In fact, more simply, my question could be : what was your build order ? :D )

    This thread is awesome to learn how to play. : )
     
  2. pagh80

    pagh80 Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2001
    Messages:
    276
    Location:
    Denmark
    Wow nice job, and with only one turn. I guess that means i have to do another game to see if i can beat that. :D



    It was:
    Scout - warrior - worker - collosus - GL - Oracle - National College
    And in between i bought library

    From here on i cant remember if i made another building or began making horsemen.
     
  3. Rammones

    Rammones Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Location:
    Czech Republic
    Ok, hey guys. So I tried to participate as well but it was not easy at all with still poor knowledge of game systems etc. I read your posts here and tried to follow approach which has proven already to be the right (mostly from pagh80).

    I just wanted to try and I managed to finish in the year 1984. I managed to do that just with my capital and 1-3 allied CS. In the midgame I had Ankara as one and only puppet city but it was finally taken by evil Romans.

    I started on the coast with just 2 or 3 river tiles, marble and plenty of wine close to my position, there was some wheat as well etc., not such best position but I really did not want to spend all evening restarting the game for best possible location. I was in the edge of the continent and there have been some CS as well, but not many, narrow passage to the other part of the continent was covered by city state - it was very problematic for me to travel to Romans or Ottomans or even try to conquer their cities.

    So I run just with my capital and one cultural and one maritime city state, later I was far away in army etc., so Romans attacked me and started conquering my allied CS and my only puppet. This is the aspect of the game I cannot say I really like. Augustus has been real friend, we traded together, we made some alliances and pacts, we fought against Suleiman as well - but as he managed to knock out all the city states and Suleiman, he just punched me in the face and our friendship was over - this slowed my progress a lot. Luckily I managed to make peace with him, finish policies and UP.

    One question to answer, please - It is my empire and one allied city state - I go to war with another empire and my allied CS goes in the war with that empire as well. Later, I make piece with the empire, but the particular city state remains at war and in diplomacy meeting with the other empire I cannot demand them to make peace with that with me allied city state, because it shows that the city state declared permanent war against that empire and I cannot do anything at all against that. So finally that empire overwhelm that CS of mine and conquer it - really annoying. Is there any way to prevent that? Other way than just sending them troops?

    Saves (I had some crashes due to broken memory module, I simply loaded autosave, I hope it is not big problem in the case that it is beta competition, in HOF rules I read some other more complicated approach how to solve this issue):
    g1 - start 4000bc
    g2 - win 1984ad
     

    Attached Files:

  4. DrakenKin

    DrakenKin Prince

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    461
    Location:
    Montreal
    1) Why colossus instead of oracle asap?
    2) how can you afford to buy the library? I usually have to save all my early gold so I can get CS when i hit patronage, especially since you are killing Ais early so you can't trade as much...
     
  5. Neuro

    Neuro Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2002
    Messages:
    298
    I think he meant Stonehenge, not Colossus.

    You should be able to afford Library at around turn 40 or so, especially if you got some ruins with gold, or some barb camps.

    You sell your luxuries off to other civs whenever you can, to keep your happiness between 5-10. You don't want to hit the 500 Golden Age too soon.
     
  6. DrakenKin

    DrakenKin Prince

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    461
    Location:
    Montreal
    That is what I usually do. My early money is spent on buying an extra warrior + the first two CS (500 gold x2). You can get lucky with missions, but it is not consistent enough to rely on.

    Killing the AIs I meet early doesn't help either since it reduces my trading opportunities and thus gold. I don't see a clear cut timing for buying the library without sacrificing either early conquest or early CS.
     
  7. iggymnrr

    iggymnrr Deity

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    2,175
    Curious. I can usually buy a warrior, library and monastary by turn 70 and still have trade opportunities. My scouts never upgrade they pop archery instead. OB can be sold to raise cash. Broker everything.
     
  8. mushroomshirt

    mushroomshirt King

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    Messages:
    629
    Location:
    Northern CA, USA
    Well I finished. First time actually I managed to have the patience to finish a civ V game. If they were trying to get rid of the end-of-game tedium they really haven't done it yet.

    Just my 2 cents, but I think every game is going to play like a domination victory. At least for me I could easily have won by conquest centuries before a culture victory.

    Since this was my first time, I didn't realize that the Utopia project was actually a really expensive wonder that I would have to build. If I had realized this I would have saved my great engineer for this instead of CR. As it was I rush bought a factory and hydro plant and ran a perpetual golden age (except for the last 2 turns) to finish of the project.
     

    Attached Files:

  9. iggymnrr

    iggymnrr Deity

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    2,175
    One tip: If you have trouble getting a scout to upgrade build warrior first then scout. Two warriors and scout can take out AI and scout can catch up faster. Attack with warriors first then scout. Also, warriors tend to upgrade while scouts do not. If 2nd AI not around look for militaristic CS.
     
  10. vitorbaixinho

    vitorbaixinho Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    25
    Location:
    Braga, Portugal
    100 turns better than my last victory.
    This time i realized how important is to unlock the Patronage tree before save
    im getting better
     

    Attached Files:

  11. vontos

    vontos Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Utopia is technically a project like Apollo Program or Manhattan Project, so it can't be rushed with an engineer.

    This is what I have been trying lately with pretty good results. I managed to capture six cities with my three warriors before I had any horsemen. Sadly that game ran into a lot of problems and I had to quit. If you want to finish before 1600 though, you need a lot of luck. Might as well roll the dice and hope to get an upgrade for your scout and a free technology or two. Restart if you don't haha. For a viable strategy that can work in most games, build a warrior instead of a scout.
     
  12. Suliz

    Suliz Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Location:
    Vancouver
    That is about all of the good news :)
    2042 AD, turn 486

    Started off with a scout, then found and annexed my two opponents on the same continent. Then made the mistake of trying to connect them by roads. My economy eventually recovered...

    Oh well, I can see there were lots of other things that could have been done better, especially having that read through this thread, but I still have time to try again, so I will!
     

    Attached Files:

  13. mushroomshirt

    mushroomshirt King

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    Messages:
    629
    Location:
    Northern CA, USA
    As Governor Schwarzenegger says, "Thanks for the tip" :)
     
  14. iggymnrr

    iggymnrr Deity

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    2,175
    Hoot of a start, all out war:

    Have a game going with GL at turn 67 and 4 puppets. Built warrior, bought scout, worker, warrior, Stonehenge, GL no SPs so far and no marble. Scientist due as soon as I can get back to it. DoW'd Bismarck at turn 18, a military CS ~ turn 37, stole a worker off another CS, DoW'd England even though she has pike but near Berlin not York, got York, Dow'd France for Orleans while trying to find London. Mecca's in flames from barbs so bought a tile to prevent starvation but forgot to micro and starved anyways. But I got the GL and 5 turns to go on scientist when I can get to it. Every unit has attacked, even scout. No losses yet.

    Downside: permanent war with a cultured CS when I stole worker. Why couldn't it be a military one? Haven't adopted patronage yet. That should repair mucho damage.

    Edit: OMG!!! Turn 70 and accoustics for free. Played just 3 more turns and brokered treaties with England and France for cash because I stumbled on Babylon defended by a bevy of workers. Nebby had lots of cash and me nothing to sell. So to stop him from buying a bowman I signed a research agreement. DoW'd him next turn and got accoustics. OMG! OMG! OMG! Babylon fell at turn 70 so 5 puppets already. OMG! I almost don't care what happens now. The all out war approach is huge. Mecca's still in flames.
     
  15. vontos

    vontos Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    I'm gonna play the other gauntlet and might not try this one again before it ends, so I'll go ahead and submit my best game so far. I don't remember much from it, but I did the same basic idea that has gotten the sub-1600 times. I took two capitals with warriors, then took three English cities with horsemen. The English cities had a lot of wine. I'm sure I could get around 1650 at least if I played this map now.
     

    Attached Files:

  16. Xicivilian

    Xicivilian Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    This is real funny. If I let my governor focus on hammers I do 24 a turn. If I focus on culture I do 25 a turn. How is this possible?

    EDIT: On food focus it is even 39 hammers... :s
     
  17. zehcoutinho

    zehcoutinho Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2005
    Messages:
    69
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Brazil
    My second try. I improved a lot from my first one reading the tips here. This time I made it in 1914.
     

    Attached Files:

  18. TravisFreeman

    TravisFreeman Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Location:
    Minneapolis
    On my third attempt. Went with thee cites. Had four until Cristo then razed one. Made some mistakes for sure. Didn't find last cultural city state until near the end of the game. Should have taken the cultural boost for cities with wonder policy as soon as I hit ren era. It was fun. So hard to keep the number of cites low.

    Best part: plugging into 32in HD TV
     

    Attached Files:

  19. Xger

    Xger Prince

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    510
    Location:
    Denver
    I've noticed this happens when you have it also manage specialist, because for some reason, production focus means you need to fill every last specialist slot. It's also just wrong a lot
     
  20. Rammones

    Rammones Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Location:
    Czech Republic
    Yeah, that is very annoying facts. My idea is that the game focuses on production for example but somehow is failing at it ;) Sometimes it is even more productive to have people unemployed. As someone wrote, it is maybe with these specialists, but almost always I can spare some other tiles to get even ore production.


    Anyone has sth to say to that, please?:
     

Share This Page