1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Civ4 pet peeves

Discussion in 'Civ4 - General Discussions' started by Tervadh, Aug 26, 2011.

  1. Skallagrimson

    Skallagrimson Deity

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,043
    It would be a cool mod to say that depletable resources (e.g., oil, coal) deplete (as opposed to renewables like spices in plantations), and then weaven in a fuel cell tech on the tech tree such that you can build a fuel cell plant in a city and that city "has oil" for the purposes of oil-driven units (which mech infantries ought to have been included!)
     
  2. mitebe

    mitebe Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Perhaps you did not know that if you double-click on a save game it will automatically start Civ and load the saved game. This is particularly helpful for Mods where otherwise you would have to start the normal game, then wait for the Mod to load and then load the save game. A simple doubleclick on the ModSaveGame and after the normal load time for the Mod/save game and you are playing the game.

    If this topic was already addressed I apologize, I couldn't wade through all the OOC global warming stuff.
     
  3. GGracchus

    GGracchus Tribune of Rome

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,377
    This exists here.
     
  4. Skallagrimson

    Skallagrimson Deity

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,043
    I think my biggest pet peeve in civ is myself. I forget stuff all the time. "Oops, forgot to mine that iron" or "oops, forgot to switch that build to scoop up overflow hammers" or "oops, forgot to check the tech trade screen"... every... fricken... game. I might need to break down and start keeping a notepad (physical paper one otherwise I'll forget to check it) with reminders of all the stuff I need to remember to do.
     
  5. AFS

    AFS Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    156
    Location:
    Chile
    That happens to me with civics. 30 turns after researching Civil Service I realize that I didn't switch to Bureoucracy :rolleyes:
     
  6. AJ11

    AJ11 Emperor

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    1,013
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    It gets worse when you have farmed a grass riverside that has iron in it, and then you discover Iron Working, left the farm there for the next 20 turns and keep wondering where you can get iron from... :cringe:
     
  7. Tervadh

    Tervadh Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Location:
    At large
    Cheers, that is useful. That takes care of the #2 issue at least. Surprised it hasn't been done in a simple mod (as opposed to a 300MB download - maybe it has though).

    I wonder how difficult it would be to implement a new technology like Engineering *and* (this would be the tough part I suspect) implement a new worker action to plant forests. I know the former is possible, probably even easy, but I don't know if the latter is even possible.

    As for global warming, there has to be at least a half dozen mods that turn that off. Here's one I just stumbled across, and know I've come across at least 2 others but mod searching doesn't seem to work so well (not for me anyway). So why keep griping about it? Unless it's some sort of political, environmental or whatever "-istic" viewpoint that surely has little to do with the game. In another forum, the mods would've split that discussion to a different topic long ago but... whatever :rolleyes:.

    Maybe a reason I've rarely seen global warming is that I rarely (pretty much never) build coal plants, and beeline straight for the "green" techs and improvements as soon as they're available. But that's more because I hate the nuisance of cleaning up pollution than the comparatively minor nuisance of GW.
    Yes, it gets worse as turns progress. Which stands to reason as there are more units etc. the further along you get. Civ3 did the same but not to the point of a minute or more to load even a large-map game, not that I recall anyway (and I run strictly standard maps in Civ4). A good debugger program should be able to pinpoint memory leaks - surprised someone hadn't fixed that if it's true. (Also, I usually play with *nothing* else running in the background, as someone suggested might be the issue several pages ago.) I suppose there is probably nothing that can be done about this issue (#1) except get a supermachine. Or go back to Civ3 :D. By now, there's probably scores of mods that put the cool features of Civ4 into Civ3 (and leave the uncool ones out).
    I almost always play with tech trading off. This is actually an improvement over Civ3, because you couldn't do that there (or I don't recall being able to anyway). I think tech trading is stupid, and fairly unrealistic, certainly for advanced technologies. *Maybe* pottery, agriculture and the like, but even spreading such simple technologies can take thousands of years, not a single turn. Plus the AI has some algorithm where they always get the best techs at the best prices from each other before you even get a chance to trade for your benefit. So it makes more sense to research everything yourself. No problem trading pigs for sugar (or whatever) - that's completely reasonable, and a little less cutthroat than Civ3, where civs would often refuse to trade such simple commodities even though the trade would benefit them as much as you.
    Heh, same here. They should have an advisor that actually *helps* you for a change, not give stupid advice like "Sire, this city is a great centre of learning! You should switch from building a settler to a monastery!" On the other hand, I might actually listen to someone who said, "Sire, this plot contains iron and would be much more productive if we built a mine here!" What do I pay these people for, anyway? :D
     
  8. karadoc

    karadoc AI programmer

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2005
    Messages:
    1,568
    Location:
    Australia
    The AI players do offer better deals to one another than they offer to you (they don't do heaps of trading, but when they do trade, the deals are better than you're likely to get), but never the less trading is vital. Consider this: suppose there are 6 AI players, and you. Suppose you have 2 techs that no one else has, and every AI has at least one tech that you don't have. If you give your two techs in exchange for one tech with each of the AIs, then you gain 6 techs and each AI only gains 2 techs. So even though you were paying double the price, you still come out on top.

    My advise is to trade as much as possible, unless you're trying to prevent the AI from getting a particular tech for some reason (eg. don't trade education until you are confident you can get liberalism...)
     
  9. InnateGamer

    InnateGamer Emperor+2

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011
    Messages:
    48
    I have the solution to global warming and greenhouse gases

    Spoiler :

    Just mod it out!
     
  10. AJ11

    AJ11 Emperor

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    1,013
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Did it as soon as I figured out how xml worked. Civ4 actually made me learn what xml was all about... which is scary if you think about it. Nongamers will never understand... :lol:
     
  11. 6K Man

    6K Man Bureaucrat

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    2,325
    Location:
    in a Gadda Da Vida
    I play huge maps and don’t experience much lag, or crashing issues… except when I try to run the game in windowed mode. That inevitably crashes, usually when a diplo window opens. And it’s easy to accidentally window the screen by pressing the Windows key instead of CTRL or ALT. This problem has prevented me from playing succession or RPC games (something I did a lot of with CivII) due to the difficulty of logging turns in some sort of text editor.

    I’d like to see SOME kind of option to improve desert. Make it difficult as hell, or expensive, or time consuming. Make it of marginal utility, even. Just give me the option. This might indirectly help mitigate the issues many have with global warming.

    I would like to be able to set my Airships (or really, any aircraft) on auto-reconnaissance. I use them as an early warning system, scouting big swathes of ocean when a potential enemy is on the other side. It’s annoying as hell to have to repeat this, every turn, with as many as 10-12 Airships.

    Being able to customize the difficulty or settings of each game would be nice. The higher levels are hard enough in terms of AI production and research bonuses without giving them free units, too.

    And, once again, I’d love to see a naval unit between Frigate/SoL/Ironclad, and Destroyer. Something available around Steam Power, STR 20, MV4, can cross ocean. Call it a pre-dreadnought, perhaps. Might have to tweak when Ironclads are available, or just replace them with the Pre-Dreadnought.
     
  12. el toro loco

    el toro loco Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    Messages:
    152
    Location:
    arcata, ca
    this just happened in a recent game and in past games. it always seem to irritate me when i'm dominating someone in a war and they won't capitulate because their afraid of my enemy. even though said enemy is across the map, i'm 5 times more powerful than enemy, dominating that enemy, and have already sacked 4 to 6 cities of player i want to capitulate. i think ai should be afraid of the army that is destroying all cities compared to the one that will take minimum 20 turns to reach him.
     
  13. Chieftess

    Chieftess Moderator Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Messages:
    24,160
    Location:
    Baltimore
    Moderator Action: Global Warning/Socialism debate moved to OT. This thread is about things you find annoying about Civ4, not what should be in the game, or to debate real life parallels.
    Please read the forum rules: http://forums.civfanatics.com/showthread.php?t=422889
     
  14. Holycannoli

    Holycannoli Deity

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,406
    I have to add knights/cavalry upgrading to gunships, which cannot capture cities. If they upgraded to tanks it would be fine (didn't they upgrade to tanks in civ 3?). If gunships could capture cities it would be fine. But nope, my main city-capturing units all of a sudden cannot capture cities anymore.

    My biggest pet peeve though is the way siege units are used. It's silly to have to sacrifice them in order to do collateral damage.
     
  15. anti_strunt

    anti_strunt Warlord

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    Messages:
    180
    This, times a hundred. Like the final, big battle scene from a historical epic... The general gives the order to "send in the artillery"... A hundred barrels appear from behind the crest of a hill... The guns reach the top and... Keep rolling, faster and faster until they smash into the enemy lines in a mad suicide charge. A pretty slow, mad suicide charge. But still strangely effective?

    ...

    I mean, they have no trouble knocking down walls/city defences from afar, what's the deal? (Balance, obviously. Still.)
     
  16. Linkman226

    Linkman226 #anarchy

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,493
    What I think should be done is the feature from Dale's Combat Mod where catapults can attack from a ranged distance, but only from the plot next door. In other words, siege equipment has no defense, but can hurt units in the next plot.

    Or make bombardment of walls cause collateral damage as well.

    Accordingly, they should be nerfed.
     
  17. nfw

    nfw King

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    733
    Basically even in the modern or future era, your people still live like those in the ancient city states of Mesopotamia.

    Cities like Las Vegas would not exist in Civ4 because there's no farmland nearby.
     
  18. karadoc

    karadoc AI programmer

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2005
    Messages:
    1,568
    Location:
    Australia
    Las Vegas can grow big with Cereal Mills or Sushi Co. :p
     
  19. nfw

    nfw King

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    733
    Still, it's backwards. Nobody would move to Vegas if there are no jobs, no matter how much food is available.
     
  20. Holycannoli

    Holycannoli Deity

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,406
    Pretty sure that's how it was in civ 3. Siege units were ranged and had no defense, and they had zone-of-control which is another feature I miss.

    I wonder if there's a mod out there that makes civ 4 siege units operate like in civ 3, with AI that can use it?
     

Share This Page