1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Crashes, Crashes and More Crashes

Discussion in 'Civ6 - General Discussions' started by ThunderLizard2, Apr 24, 2021.

  1. aieeegrunt

    aieeegrunt Prince

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2021
    Messages:
    574
    Gender:
    Male
    Crashes greatly reduced the last couple patches; I am on xbox one X

    sounds like I am the unicorn
     
  2. Tuvok694

    Tuvok694 Civ6 addict

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    346
    Gender:
    Male
    I am not completely sure but as far as I remember, I had the last complete game without at least one crash in September 2020.
     
  3. LMT

    LMT Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2013
    Messages:
    203
    Yes, I've had more crashes since the patch, greater load times, and a lot of lag.

    Just curious...how, exactly, does one bypass the launcher?
     
    Hellenism Salesman likes this.
  4. ferretbacon

    ferretbacon Obsessor

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2012
    Messages:
    1,558
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    North Texas
    Not literal crashes, but I had to force quit my game twice due to getting stuck on a turn processing the AI moves. Like, the little globe in the corner was spinning for five minutes kind of stuck. At the point of the game I was in (standard size map in the Medieval era), I this usually takes no longer than 10 seconds.

    Playing on Windows 10 with all official content owned/enabled, no mods enabled.
     
  5. racha

    racha Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2013
    Messages:
    286
    Location:
    Surrounded by barbarians
    Instructions are in the thread on the first page of Civ 6 General Discussion. :)
     
    Hellenism Salesman likes this.
  6. Peserwin

    Peserwin Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2017
    Messages:
    83
    Gender:
    Male
    Yeah, I have a lot of crashes as well. One of them was shortly after I built my capital at a great spot, right next to mount roriama. I met Peter on turn 2 and three turns later he attacked me with his warriors and a slinger. Then the game crashed. I believe Fireaxes made a build-in rage quit simulator.
     
    Pietato likes this.
  7. LMT

    LMT Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2013
    Messages:
    203
    So as an update, I have not been able to get through more than a few turns without the game crashing. Am I the only one experiencing this? Not sure what's going on.

    This is on top of the longer load time and lag. Is there some setting that's causing this?
     
  8. Stilgar08

    Stilgar08 Emperor

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    1,521
    Location:
    Zeven, Germany (Lower Saxony ;)
    After the April patch I have longer loading time and lag, too. But no crashes yet, whatsoever. PS4, though.
     
  9. Pietato

    Pietato Platonic Perfection

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2014
    Messages:
    2,146
    Location:
    New Zealand
    I crash after every hour or so now. Also sometimes get weird slowdowns. Never had it before this stupid new launcher was introduced, so going to disable that and see what happens.
     
  10. gaiko

    gaiko Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2003
    Messages:
    225
    Of course, all are encouraged to log bugs with the vendor. I believe a key part of the issue relates to what platform you are running on, rather than mods or source code defects. Particularly with the many comments concerning hangs or CTDs during AI processing. This is when I see problems on an Alienware m17 R3 platform. This machine runs its CPU core at high temperatures, and autothrottles CPU processing when they spike to 100 degrees C (sure glad chips aren't made of H2O!)(And don't even think of turning off throttling unless you want to melt your machine down to silicon slag). Civ6 is especially good at ramping all 8 cores to > 95 C and therefore its threads get throttled all the time. Other games will tend to do this as well (it's why you get a gaming platform) but *only Civ6* has a problem handling the throttling. The utility "CPUID HWMonitor" shows that Civ6 slams against the 100 C limit especially during the AI turn processing. The Civ6 app simply doesn't handle having its (multi)thread processing throttled and may lose control during multithread context switching.

    The Civ6 Dev/QA team really need to benchmark against gaming platforms that implement heat driven throttling.
     
    Kotofei and Pietato like this.
  11. Pietato

    Pietato Platonic Perfection

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2014
    Messages:
    2,146
    Location:
    New Zealand
    This is exactly what is happening to me. The game freezes during the AI phase, or during vote tallies. My laptop is also heating up immensely more than it used to, and the throttling I set is kicking in.
     
  12. Yzman

    Yzman Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Messages:
    2,768
    Location:
    Illinois, USA
    Have you disabled the launcher? The launcher caused me quite a few crashes until I disabled it.
     
  13. Tychusfindlay919

    Tychusfindlay919 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2020
    Messages:
    24
    Gender:
    Male
    It's horrible. I used to get a crash once every several hours or so of continuous gameplay. But ever since the last patch, I can barely get through an hour of gameplay before getting a crash.

    Unhandled Exception
    Code: EXCEPTION_ACCESS_VIOLATION
    Error reading address 0xffffffff

    Call Stack
    -----------------------------------------------------
    ??? ! ??? ???, line 0
    ??? ! ??? ???, line 0
    ??? ! ??? ???, line 0
    ??? ! ??? ???, line 0
    ??? ! ??? ???, line 0

    ^ is the most common thing I get too which boggles my mind.
     
  14. Pietato

    Pietato Platonic Perfection

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2014
    Messages:
    2,146
    Location:
    New Zealand
    I had crashed twice in over 1000 hours of gameplay. Now I crash every single time.
     
    Smity2k1 likes this.
  15. Tychusfindlay919

    Tychusfindlay919 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2020
    Messages:
    24
    Gender:
    Male
    Unhandled Exception
    Code: EXCEPTION_ACCESS_VIOLATION
    Error reading address 0xac

    Call Stack
    -----------------------------------------------------
    ??? ! ??? ???, line 0
    ??? ! ??? ???, line 0
    ??? ! ??? ???, line 0
    ??? ! ??? ???, line 0
    ??? ! ??? ???, line 0
    ??? ! ??? ???, line 0
    ??? ! ??? ???, line 0
    ??? ! ??? ???, line 0
    ??? ! ??? ???, line 0
    ??? ! ??? ???, line 0
    ??? ! ??? ???, line 0
    ??? ! ??? ???, line 0
    ??? ! ??? ???, line 0
    ??? ! ??? ???, line 0
    ??? ! ??? ???, line 0
    ??? ! ??? ???, line 0
    ??? ! ??? ???, line 0
    ??? ! ??? ???, line 0
    ??? ! ??? ???, line 0
    ??? ! ??? ???, line 0

    All these things look the same, except the address on this one is different and much longer
     
    Galvatron likes this.
  16. Pietato

    Pietato Platonic Perfection

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2014
    Messages:
    2,146
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Just disabled the new launcher and managed to play without crashing. Hope that fixed it.
     
    Last edited: May 2, 2021
  17. Tabieth

    Tabieth Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2019
    Messages:
    2
    Gender:
    Female
    I had the same problem and I can’t seem to bypass the launcher (I’ve tried and for some reason it just doesn’t work). I’ve turned off barbarian clans, that seems to have stopped the crashes.
     
  18. Rotomagus

    Rotomagus Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2018
    Messages:
    81
    Gender:
    Male
    all settings to full, 2 other games running in parallel... no crashes
     
  19. Tech Osen

    Tech Osen Emperor

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2016
    Messages:
    1,798
    I had two or three freezes in my last game. That's new. And submerged tiles still showed as landtiles. Restarting the game fixed that though.
     
  20. Galvatron

    Galvatron Prince

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2017
    Messages:
    331
    I'll try that. I know for fact that my last couple crashes coincided with delegations from new ais...
     

Share This Page