1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

do you play with the grid on?

Discussion in 'Civ3 - General Discussions' started by ybbor, Aug 23, 2004.

?

_

  1. Yes

    76 vote(s)
    37.4%
  2. sometimes

    51 vote(s)
    25.1%
  3. No

    71 vote(s)
    35.0%
  4. other

    5 vote(s)
    2.5%
  1. Turner

    Turner Deity Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2002
    Messages:
    28,169
    Location:
    Randomistan
    Check the .pdf's in my sig... they should have a list of commands.
     
  2. Chieftess

    Chieftess Moderator Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Messages:
    24,160
    Location:
    Baltimore
    :lol: I remember that!

    Anyway, I always have it on. Just makes movement easier...
     
  3. general_kill

    general_kill Deity

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2003
    Messages:
    2,870
    wow, its morning already, i started playing at around 8 last night and its already 6:30 am here in nyc. No sleep for me i guess. I can actually see grids on my wall because i've been playing for so long. :lol:
     
  4. rainmaker

    rainmaker Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2003
    Messages:
    187
    Location:
    Merritt Island, Florida
    Always have it on. Wish there was a preference for it to stay on rather than always having to turn it on each time (PTW).
     
  5. Grohan

    Grohan Bug-hunter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,080
    Location:
    Sword Coast
    I allways play grids on.
    Though it's very annoying to allways press Ctrl+G at the start of new session.
     
  6. MrRats

    MrRats Back for a while

    Joined:
    May 17, 2004
    Messages:
    420
    Location:
    Earth
    Always. One wrong move can lose you a war.
    That goes in real life too, not just Civ!
     
  7. bob rulz

    bob rulz Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2004
    Messages:
    568
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, Utah
    :lol: I know what you're talking about. Sometimes after I've played forever I see roads in the carpet. :lol:
     
  8. Turner

    Turner Deity Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2002
    Messages:
    28,169
    Location:
    Randomistan
    Ever been looking at a square tile floor and twist your head around so you get the diamond pattern? :crazyeye: Hate it when that happens.
     
  9. Kalach

    Kalach Infantry Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Messages:
    122
    Location:
    Australia
    I hate the look of a grid, and don't find any use for it.
    If I need to count squares i'll just use the 'go' command and space it out with that, or just count the fingerprints on my screen :p
     
  10. Tomoyo

    Tomoyo Fate

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    9,698
    Location:
    Boston, Mass
    Why use the grid when you can have isometric fingerprints on your screen? :lol:

    Which by the way I don't have.

    I don't use the grid. It looks like I'm god.
     
  11. MikeH

    MikeH Prince

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2004
    Messages:
    407
    Yeah I agree, but I use the mouse to turn it on, see the other poll :) .
     
  12. crazyluke2001

    crazyluke2001 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2004
    Messages:
    73
    so THAT'S ow you switch it on! :)

    I never knew... :crazyeye:
     
  13. Wolfwood

    Wolfwood Elite Commander

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2003
    Messages:
    670
    Location:
    Finland
    I voted no. Using the grid is like admitting that I cannot visualise the grid myself. It's like admitting that I'm not enough of a man... (kidding!) :)
     
  14. Bigfoot

    Bigfoot Emperor

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2003
    Messages:
    1,002
    Location:
    Orange County CA
    I play with the grid on, its just easier. Plus I am a 'wargamer' from way back, so a grid (or a hex pattern) doesn't bother me at all.
     
  15. ManOfMiracles

    ManOfMiracles Hogwarts Class of '86

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2004
    Messages:
    623
    Location:
    River Styx
    I'm not a man. I can't see this kind of stuff in my head at all so grid is always on.
     
  16. BlueBomberDude

    BlueBomberDude Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2003
    Messages:
    69
    Location:
    CANADA
    Generally leave it on... hate to make a mistake planning my cities.
     
  17. homeyg

    homeyg Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    Messages:
    3,618
    I cannot stand the grid. I know how the squares are separated without the grid.
     
  18. crimson238

    crimson238 War Correspondent

    Joined:
    May 17, 2004
    Messages:
    187
    Location:
    Philadelphia Pa
    I definitly have to second that. Nothing quite like the feeling of being god while not sleeping. After awhile you even wind up telling your pets to worhsip you.
    Oh, the question, no grid, ever. If i make a mistake I live with it and move on.
     
  19. miller4242

    miller4242 BassMaster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Messages:
    76
    Location:
    drunken stupor
    I use the grid to study city placement, and to think over my tactics to during a war.

    otherwise, I like to see the "amber waves of grain" unfettered by the chain link fence
     
  20. ForbiddenPalace

    ForbiddenPalace Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2002
    Messages:
    231
    Grid is nice. Sometimes it is hard to distinguish between land and sea, and grid helps.
     

Share This Page