Domination victory

wozza120490

Chieftain
Hi all,
Long time stalker first time poster. I am currently playing a game as the Maya on the Eastern United States map. I've taken out one of the other civs and the other civs have taken out another 2. It has gotten to the stage where I'm building up to wipe out a small civ (England) but my main enemy, Darius has just declared war on Germany (another smallish civ). He is just ahead on score and military and has been engaged in a war with everyone but me so far. Civs keep telling me he is plotting against me etc etc. I have faced these kind of situations before but never really 'won' in dominating my last major enemy. What would you do in this situation? I'm not that great a player and I'm still learning. This is on prince.

Edit: tried uploading a picture but didn't work sorry

Darius being ahead on points doesn't mean much (larger pop, more cities and perhaps more wonders - all of which makes him a a tasty target). I'm curious how you conclude Darius is ahead on miltary. Are you relying on the pointiest sticks report (not a good measure), or have you seen specific advanced units running around (e.g., he has gatlings and you are still 20 turns away from industrialization)? How far along are you in researching the military techs?

Thanks for the reply,

I'm furthest ahead in tech (according to the info provided by the game). The military I concluded from the same info. I have artillery, gatlings etc and we have both just entered the modern age. Would I be better going after him then a smaller civ?

The longer you let him develop, the harder he will be to take down. The smaller civs will be there for the taking later.

Hi all,