1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Photobucket has changed its policy concerning hotlinking images and now requires an account with a $399.00 annual fee to allow hotlink. More information is available at: this link.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Dismiss Notice
  7. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

Early War vital?

Discussion in 'Civ6 - Strategy & Tips' started by benjspurs, Jul 14, 2017.

1. benjspurs

benjspurs Chieftain

Since i started playing the GoTM i have noticed how many other players go to war early and i can see the obvious advantages (unit promotions, expansion without settlers, and cripple opposition)

I use to enjoy more peaceful playthroughs but now think the advantages of early war are to great to miss out on.

Does everyone else feel Early War is vital? especially if going for a fewer turn victory. Or is there a good strategy to get ahead in the game without early war?

2. juanpavo

juanpavo Chieftain

Growing your empire fast, early in the game, is vital. Whether you get that by spamming settlers or taking AI cities is your choice. It is easier to take a bunch of cities. Also, the AI will bring war to you if you expand in their face. Bottom line: expect war if you intend to win.

JamesCivFan and Japper007 like this.
  3. EpicWestern

EpicWestern Chieftain