1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Embassy

Discussion in 'Civ5 - General Discussions' started by brewgod, Aug 25, 2013.

  1. brewgod

    brewgod Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2006
    Messages:
    340
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Jet City
    Hello Fellow Civ Fans

    What are the pro s and con s to having embassy's with other civs.
    Thanks

    Brew God
     
  2. Snes

    Snes Warlord

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2013
    Messages:
    108
    Location:
    Texas
    You know where their capital is, how big it is, and what's around it and they know the same about yours.

    Snes
     
  3. joshua43214

    joshua43214 King

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2012
    Messages:
    985
    The only con is that they know where your capitol is if they did not already.

    The pro is that it gives a very minor positive diplo hit that might slow or stop and DoW.
    You must have shared embassies to make an RA, and get open borders (you want their open borders)

    Most people recommend selling your embassies right away for 1gpt.
    I always trade mine and never sell them. I find that knowing the map layout helps scouting immensely, and I don't then have to buy embassies back later in the game
     
  4. Strategist83

    Strategist83 King

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2005
    Messages:
    625
    The main pro to an embassy is if you don't, the AIs will constantly nag you about establishing one.
     
  5. SS-18 ICBM

    SS-18 ICBM Oscillator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2006
    Messages:
    15,242
    Location:
    Here and there
    I don't think there's even a situation where you don't want an embassy.
     
  6. DudewiththeFood

    DudewiththeFood King

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Messages:
    899
    Location:
    Round the Corner
    When you want to save all your spies for city-states/stealing tech rather than counter-spying? I can normally keep track of any civ that comes up on a hill or next to plains on the border of my capital and only accept embassies with them.
     
  7. SS-18 ICBM

    SS-18 ICBM Oscillator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2006
    Messages:
    15,242
    Location:
    Here and there
    And clearly those civs won't spy on you, right?
     
  8. joncnunn

    joncnunn Senior Java Wizard Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,621
    Location:
    Missouri
    If the AI has already discovered your capital, there is no real con at all.

    But if they don't have it already, then the AI could develop land envy from it.

    Yup, the AI can't spy on your capital if they've never gotten visibility. (Less of a factor in BNW; AI seems to prefer Diplomats)
     
  9. MerchantCo

    MerchantCo Merchant

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013
    Messages:
    394
    Location:
    Venice
    Embassies are great. Don't hesitate to set an embassy in another civilization's capital.
     
  10. pozz

    pozz Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2013
    Messages:
    106
    This... Gawd I hate it, same with open borders. Give us an option to say "nah, and don't bother asking again I'll come to you if I have an interest" :p
     
  11. WarIsPeace

    WarIsPeace Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2013
    Messages:
    49
    In the early game (I'm still on G&K, maybe it's different in BNW), I always sell my embassy for what I can get and rarely place an embassy in another civ's captial until later in the game when 25 :c5gold: doesn't mean so much. I used to do this just to generate early cash, but I also realized that it sets up an opportunity for a CS to give you a quest to discover the other civ's lands. Then it costs just 25 :c5gold: for 40 influence with the CS. Well worth it IMO.

    I've also noticed that CIVs with whom I have a DOF won't offer RAs if I don't have an embassy in their capital. Makes sense, as an embassy is required for RAs.
     
  12. AW Arcaeca

    AW Arcaeca Deus Vult

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2013
    Messages:
    2,958
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Operation Padlock ground zero
    Really? In a game as Polynesia/Terra/Huge, I made it my goal to forget about the continent I start out on and dominate a completely different one early on with the help of the wayfinding trait. Honolulu was captured, and I didn't exactly want Spain and/or the Huns (my enemies) finding out where the other continent - MY continent - was located, because then they would capture every last bit of it that they could, and they would destroy me.

    So I refused all their requests for embassies. Wouldn't you say that's a valid situation?
     
  13. Walter R

    Walter R Great Engineer

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2013
    Messages:
    713
    Location:
    England
    How about if you are trying to found a religion and the Celts etc. don't know where you live? Otherwise expect to get flooded by missionaries...
     
  14. Kalmah

    Kalmah Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Am I doing something wrong? I try to sell my embassy for 1gpt upon meeting the civ every time and no one has ever accepted. I play on epic speed if it makes any difference.
     
  15. Browd

    Browd Dilettante Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    11,737
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Rural Vermont
    1 gpt on epic is too much. 1 gpt on standard is 30 gold (30 turns at 1gpt), but on epic is 45 gold -- too much to ask for an embassy.
     

Share This Page