1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Fall Further - Download and Current Changelog

Discussion in 'Fall Further' started by Vehem, Sep 23, 2008.

  1. Vehem

    Vehem Modmod Monkey

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    3,219
    Patch A
    1. Archery Ranges now correctly provide the Archer Training, not Fletchers.
    2. Typo on Hunting Lodge and House of the Grey fixed (now allows training correctly).
    3. Cost of Well reduced to 60.
    4. Default Building for "BUILDINGCLASS_BARRACKS" is now "Barracks", not "Training Yard".
    5. Default Building for "BUILDINGCLASS_JOUSTING_TILT" is now "Jousting Tilt", not "Training Yard".
    6. Cosmetic issue with grids on ocean not lining up correctly fixed (should have been in the initial release).
    7. Combat Log callback re-enabled.

    Solves most of the issues reported so far, but probably not the Vista problem. There was a small amount of badly formed XML in the release that could be causing problems for Vista somehow (so it's worth checking), but I suspect that should have caused it to crash on initial loading if anywhere.

    If you do have Vista - give it a try and let me know, but it's a long shot. I'm installing Civ on a Vista machine now, but it's borrowed and not particularly high spec, so not sure what it'll make of Civ in general.
     
  2. corruptone

    corruptone Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    I have vista and this is what has been happening for me.

    Initially it would go through the map set up and tell me it couldn't unpack the files and would take me in to the game but with no HUD...I installed patch a and now it kicks me out during the map generation.
     
  3. xienwolf

    xienwolf Deity

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    10,589
    Location:
    Location! Location!
  4. corruptone

    corruptone Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Not sure? Sorry, but I am not the most computer literate person so if you can explain it better then I can check and see. :blush:
     
  5. xienwolf

    xienwolf Deity

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    10,589
    Location:
    Location! Location!
    Then almost certainly it isn't. The thing was designed for those who are not very computer literate to help prevent programs from taking advantage of you. It just happens to also prevent many programs from doing their job.

    Here is a link to information on disabling the UAC, should you want to try it.
     
  6. corruptone

    corruptone Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    I disabled it. It still crashes while trying to Initialize the map. basically I hit the start game and while it is initializing it crashes.
     
  7. xienwolf

    xienwolf Deity

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    10,589
    Location:
    Location! Location!
    Try this:

    Go to where your savegames are stored (most likely ...\My Documents\My Games\Beyond the Sword\Saves\single).

    In the folder Auto, you should find a file named AutoSave_Initial_AD-0001. Delete this file. Then try to start a game of FF. After it crashes, check this folder to see if the file was re-created. If the file exists again, try to load it and see if the game works from that point in.
     
  8. corruptone

    corruptone Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Ok, did that. After the crash I went back to the folder and there was no file. :(
     
  9. Munken

    Munken Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    31
    It wasn't re-created for me... damn.
     
  10. deadliver

    deadliver Loud Mouth Amateur

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2003
    Messages:
    1,508
    Location:
    Anvilania
    First off...

    Damn you guys are good. I prefer to play this Modmod over the vanilla (may lord Kael and his host (no offense to the devs intended if they are cooler than Kael) overlook this trangession).

    Had a blast as Cualli, saving the rainforest and pwning the human scum HOWEVER I had a memory allocation error anytime I reloaded my autosave (of course i reloaded due to massive meteor strikes in my hometown, not due to losing Nietz the Bandit Lord to a puny warrior who stood a 2% at living,...dammit)

    Thanks for the kick ass mod guys!

    Yours Truly,

    *some other guy than Deadliver the Mighty Morphin Save/Load Hor*

    edit: this was before patch a
     
  11. xienwolf

    xienwolf Deity

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    10,589
    Location:
    Location! Location!
    Ok, so the file not being created just helps to isolate how early the crash is happening. Doesn't help you immediately, but cuts about half the guesswork out of the equation for us :)


    Could someone post a save that isn't loading properly for me? and/or describe precisely what the game was like at that point? I've loaded the game up and did an immediate save/load, worked fine. Settled a city and tried again, still worked fine. So something isn't saving properly for you, but it is something that doesn't exist till later in the game I guess.
     
  12. Vehem

    Vehem Modmod Monkey

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    3,219
    If it was a MAF rather than "failed to unpack", odds are it's the base Civ/BtS issue with save files. Was it a long game or a large map, Deadliver?
     
  13. heisenberg

    heisenberg Lost in Erebus

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    337
    =P since Vehem's here and my old post seems to be buried by the enthusiasm about 043 this is a shameless bump about an old query
     
  14. Vehem

    Vehem Modmod Monkey

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    3,219
    Aye - that does sound wrong. I'll take a poke at it shortly (I've finally managed to get a working install of Vista, with Civ installed - now to bug hunt the FF issue...)
     
  15. corruptone

    corruptone Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Good luck Vehem...I am really wanting to play the mod but just can't get it to work for me :(
     
  16. heisenberg

    heisenberg Lost in Erebus

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    337
    npnp... take your time lol~ Thanks for the speedy reply
     
  17. Breez

    Breez King

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    924
    Bold - Me

    Post 1. Thought I might save some people who don't scroll down to the next post some confusion
     
  18. Vehem

    Vehem Modmod Monkey

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    3,219
    Thanks - sorted.
     
  19. Wyrmhero

    Wyrmhero Dragon-Lord

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    389
    Location:
    England
    You know, last week, I came back to this forum and thought 'I really want a game of FF'... And then realised I had the wrong version of FfH. And lo and behold, you bring out the next version! :D
     
  20. Elm

    Elm Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    202
    In FfH, the Governor's manor give you one hammer per population. That is, it counts unhappy people before applying happiness to them. In FF, you have changed it so that it is only unhappy people after happiness is applied that gives you a hammer. And the manor also gives you 1 unhappiness, and reduces maintenance only 20%.

    So, Courthouse gives -40% maintenance, whereas the Governor's manor gives -20% maintenance, -25% war weariness and -1 happiness (and +1 hammer for non-working citizens).

    Basically, building a courthouse, when you are at maximum population for a given happiness removes one worker, and replaces him/her with 1 hammer :( Not so useful. If you think +1 hammer per population was too much in FfH, I think you should make it having actual unhappy citizens more useful. Like give them beakers (experimenting on citizens) or more hammers (like +2).

    Edit:

    I take that back. It works fine, display is incorrect.

    I have a Pop 8 city. It has:

    8 unhappy + 1 building unhappy = 9.
    4 Happy (just because) + 2 happy from buildings (bear + capital) = 6.

    So 6 Happy, 9 unhappy, and 8 citizens total.
    5 are working, and 3 are sad faces. My hammers are reported as:
    4 working + 3 from sad faces = 7 total. But the total applied is 13. Totally confused here.

    So, 9-6 = 3 unhappy, 5 happy. The 5 working yield 4 hammers. 13-4=9. So, it is actually giving 1 per unhappy, which is 1 more than the population, since the manor gives 1 extra unhappy. So it works the same as FfH, but the display is incorrect. So I guess I am happy :)

    Spoiler :

    hammerhappiness.JPG
     

Share This Page