1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

[TUTORIAL] For those who use steam to play C2C.

Discussion in 'Bugs and Crashes' started by Toffer90, Dec 15, 2018.

  1. Toffer90

    Toffer90 C2C Modder

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2011
    Messages:
    6,624
    Location:
    Norway
    If you only have one suitable drive and need to shorten the install path for BtS then the only option would be to re-install steam as close to the root of the drive.
    This is the shortest you can get it with steam:
    C:\Steam\steamapps\common\Sid Meier's Civilization IV Beyond the Sword\Beyond the Sword\Mods\Caveman2Cosmos​
    It is short enough to avoid any problems with the path length to the deepest C2C assets.

    A custom game installation location would still have the same folder structure as games installed within the steam software location, so there is no way to avoid this "[Drive Letter]:\Steam\steamapps\common\"
     
  2. tmv

    tmv Emperor

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2015
    Messages:
    1,276
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Germany
  3. Toffer90

    Toffer90 C2C Modder

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2011
    Messages:
    6,624
    Location:
    Norway
    Yes, that seems legit.
    But I would cation those who are not comfortable with editing the windows registry that you can seriously break your system by making the wrong change in there.

    If you feel insecure about editing the registry my advice is not to do it, though following guides like that is usually safe if you understand everything the guide is saying and feel sure that the guide is tested and true.

    The Group Policy Editor method described there is however completely safe in comparison to the registry hack method.

    I can't say for sure that this will work for BtS
     
    tmv likes this.
  4. Mind Flower

    Mind Flower Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2018
    Messages:
    53
    Gender:
    Male
    Am I doing it right?
     
  5. Thunderbrd

    Thunderbrd C2C War Dog

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    27,247
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    I don't think so... It looks like your mod folder has a needless extra shell mod folder. There must only be one folder named Caveman2Cosmos and if you have another one within that one, you gotta get it out of that empty shell folder. That happens on steam on some install methods it seems.
     
  6. Toffer90

    Toffer90 C2C Modder

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2011
    Messages:
    6,624
    Location:
    Norway
    No way to really tell from that picture, the background picture can be changed between three choises in game options, and only one of them is unique to C2C.
    Do you hear music that is definitely not standard BtS music in the main menu there?
    In custom game, is there mapscripts with names starting with C2C_something?
     
    Last edited: Apr 13, 2020
  7. Mind Flower

    Mind Flower Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2018
    Messages:
    53
    Gender:
    Male
    I didnt even really install. I had trouble finding the right place to install to. I even installed bts to D: and still not getting it to work right because of confusing info online. I seem to have miraculously got it running. Stone tool builder not showing. Many things to build arent showing in the usual channels
     
    Last edited: Apr 13, 2020
  8. raxo2222

    raxo2222 Time Traveller

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    7,407
    Location:
    Poland
    1. Make sure mod isn't in my documents and is named Caveman2Cosmos
    2. Delete your User Settings folder.
    3. run game as admin - right click BTS exe and run it as admin.
    4. After User Settings is recreated righclick it, click on properties and unselect "read only".
    5. Use english language.

    If you meant city build popup with units and buildings:
    Intentionally it was made so it lists only few things, as it was slowing down late game.

    If you meant city building/unit buttons on bottom:
    It was replaced with three categories and processes.
    Click on each category button to see units, buildings and wonders.
     
    Last edited: Apr 13, 2020
    Yudishtira likes this.
  9. VCrakeV

    VCrakeV Prince

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2014
    Messages:
    428
    When I run C2C as an administrator, my steam controller doesn't work, though it otherwise does. I never had any issues without running C2C as an administrator until now. I tried running it as administrator because I am having a CTD when I try to end my turn after loading my save (earlier saves crash once I catch up with the newer save and end my turn).

    Does it seem like the CTD could be related to the administrator status? What might be done about the Steam controller? It works if I alt-tab to a different window, but not in the C2C window (when ran as an administrator).
     
  10. raxo2222

    raxo2222 Time Traveller

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    7,407
    Location:
    Poland
    Upload save and user settings
     
  11. VCrakeV

    VCrakeV Prince

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2014
    Messages:
    428
    Where can I find the user settings file? I found a folder by that name, split among many files (I believe they represent the BUG settings). Should I upload every file?
     

    Attached Files:

  12. Toffer90

    Toffer90 C2C Modder

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2011
    Messages:
    6,624
    Location:
    Norway
    Running it as admin won't fix CTD's, only run it as admin if the game is unable to write to the files in usersetting. Meaning bug option changes won't be saved between sessions.
    Steam controller.... do you mean the steam overlay?
    CTD's should be reported in another thread, and to upload a folder, just zip it with 7z or something.
     
    Last edited: Apr 13, 2020
  13. VCrakeV

    VCrakeV Prince

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2014
    Messages:
    428
    I was referring to my physical controller (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Steam_Controller), but the overlay doesn't work either.
     
  14. Toffer90

    Toffer90 C2C Modder

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2011
    Messages:
    6,624
    Location:
    Norway

Share This Page