[G&K] How to replace/add custom 2D leader scenes for your diplo screen

LuvToBuild

Prince
First, let me say that I am well aware that this was done before by Pazyryk. It is not my intent to denigrate the fine work he did previously, but to be honest, his tutorial is somewhat outdated and confusing. So, I have taken it upon myself to create a new one that is more to the point and up to date for those of us who are complete noobs to Civ5 modding. This tutorial assumes you are using G&K with the latest patches installed. The old thread may still be relevant if you are not. I wouldn't know as I am using G&K with the latest patches and I've only been modding for about a month.

Now to the reason you came here.
  1. Create the 2D leader scene artwork as a DDS file 1600x900 with no compression. I'm not sure if the compression really matters much, but when in doubt, follow what Firaxis did with their 2D leader scenes. For a specific example, look at alexander.dds located in ...Steam\steamapps\common\Sid Meier's Civilization V\resource\DX9. If you don't have that file and/or folder, it is probably because you haven't unpacked the games artwork using Nexus. Go Here. If you open the alexander.dds using a DDS viewer like WTV, you will notice that it shows the Format:, i.e. compression type (in this case, 32bit-A8R8G8B8 or in other words none), and pixel Size: at the bottom. This is very useful for making sure your new artwork matches what Civ5 was intended to read. Again, I don't know if compression and size matters a whole lot, but some people seem to think so ;). You should probably also read through whoward69's [TUTORIAL] DDS Texture (Image File) Creation and Usage for Beginners if you haven't already done so.