1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

GOTM Techniques, Cheats, Rules & Discussion Thread

Discussion in 'Civ2 - Game of the Month' started by starlifter, Jul 16, 2002.

  1. LordValuna

    LordValuna High Lord

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Messages:
    270
    Location:
    Hamilton Ontario Canada
    Supreme - Purple
    Mighty - Orange
    Strong - light blue
    Moderate- Yellow
    Inadequete- Dark Blue
    Weak - Green
    Pathetic - White

    has to do with turn position of AI. Have seen this posted many times
    ;)
     
  2. ElephantU

    ElephantU Deity

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    2,272
    Location:
    Phila PA
    Narz -
    (repeat of post in Strategy section)

    The definitive answers to questions about Key Civ, Beaker Numbers, and Tech Gifting were published on APOLYTON.NET over a year ago. You have to read through several threads, but here are the links and some explanation:

    In 2000, several civvers researched sequences of Beaker Numbers required for consecutive techs:

    http://apolyton.net/forums/Forum3/HTML/000881.html?date=17:02

    In April 2001 Samson discovered the secret of Tech Gifting to Key Civ:

    http://apolyton.net/forums/Forum3/HTML/001828.html?17

    Shortly thereafter Samson developed a formula for Cost (in Number of Beakers) of Research:

    http://apolyton.net/forums/Forum3/HTML/001831.html?6

    Talk about "Scrolls of Ancient Wisdom"!
     
  3. Narz

    Narz keeping it real

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2002
    Messages:
    27,693
    Location:
    St. Petersburg, Florida
    Well, since I'm "supreme" and theres no purple Civ, I guess I'm out of luck... :( oh well, I don't need these little bonuses anyway... ;)

    - Narz :king:
     
  4. ElephantU

    ElephantU Deity

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    2,272
    Location:
    Phila PA
    Starlifter - over on Apolyton.Net Samson has posted a description of using a "phantom road/RR" to get the road/RR trade bonus. I think the GOTM community needs to decide whether that will be allowed. I tested it and went from a trade route of +16 to +27, so it is pretty powerful if used correctly.

    Here is the link:

    http://apolyton.net/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=66560
     
  5. Ali Ardavan

    Ali Ardavan Mathematician Moderator Civ2 GOTM Staff

    Joined:
    May 29, 2002
    Messages:
    2,950
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    ElephantU, thanks for the link. Very interesting indeed. As far as I know we can use any tactic that is not specifically banned for GOTM. So until it is explicitly banned you can use it.
     
  6. ElephantU

    ElephantU Deity

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    2,272
    Location:
    Phila PA
    Personally, I think we ought to ban it, but I'm bringing it to everyone's attention as an issue...

    Certainly gives a big boost in trade routes when you are not playing OCC...
     
  7. Duke of Marlbrough

    Duke of Marlbrough The Quiet Moderator Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2001
    Messages:
    9,702
    Location:
    Southern CA, USA
    Well, let's have a vote then. :)
     
  8. kennycjr

    kennycjr Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    15
    6. Seeing enemy's explored land (not trading maps)
    (Using enemy's mini map in a city status screen)

    Just how is this done???


    and i know that this might be considered a bit off topic, but i just put a cordless usb mouse on my computer and its drivers also allowed me to configure pushing both of the buttons of my wired mouse as a third button. right now i have it set as a hypermenu, which gives me instant access to all of the menu's wherever the cursor happens to be. it's much faster checking advisor's, demographics, and what not. so i can spend my time doing what's really important -- micromanaging my settlers.

    obty that brings up another subject, i've noticed that if you move a settler to a spot within his home citie's radius and then k that he'll always irrigate if it's grassland or plains or mine if it's desert or hills. don't know what he'll do on other other terrains or special resources. but i wasn't all that surprised that he started mining a desert oasis. of course, what he'll do or where he'll go after he's done is any one's clue. and if your irrigating without a source of water you can only use more settlers if they're rehomed to the city, moved to the spot, and then automated. atleast it works more often than not. grr.
     
  9. LordValuna

    LordValuna High Lord

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Messages:
    270
    Location:
    Hamilton Ontario Canada
    Producing a commodity trade caravan when only a food caravan is possible
    For example suppose your city produces
    (salt), (oil), (gold)
    and they are in brackets to indicate a trade route has been established (or commodity caravan has been built)
    Now build another caravan or frieght.
    When it says build food caravan, Do Nothing, wait until
    it says confirm <nil> caravan. select <nil>
    a caravan with the commodity in the first slot (salt in the example) will be produced.
    You can continue to produce the first slot trade commodity forever
     
  10. Duke of Marlbrough

    Duke of Marlbrough The Quiet Moderator Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2001
    Messages:
    9,702
    Location:
    Southern CA, USA
    When you investigate a city (by using a diplomat or Spy) it opens the city view screen of the AI city. If you click on the map button, it will show you as much of the world that the AI has explored.
     
  11. ElephantU

    ElephantU Deity

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    2,272
    Location:
    Phila PA
    Duke - how about making this thread "Sticky"?
     
  12. Duke of Marlbrough

    Duke of Marlbrough The Quiet Moderator Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2001
    Messages:
    9,702
    Location:
    Southern CA, USA
    Sorry, can't have too many 'sticky' threads. Only actual game threads will be stuck.
     
  13. ElephantU

    ElephantU Deity

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    2,272
    Location:
    Phila PA
    OK - we'll just "bump" it every couple of weeks...
     
  14. Ali Ardavan

    Ali Ardavan Mathematician Moderator Civ2 GOTM Staff

    Joined:
    May 29, 2002
    Messages:
    2,950
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    What do you mean by "wait"? As far as I can tell that would be an indefinite wait. The dialog window will just stay there.
     
  15. ElephantU

    ElephantU Deity

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    2,272
    Location:
    Phila PA
  16. Ali Ardavan

    Ali Ardavan Mathematician Moderator Civ2 GOTM Staff

    Joined:
    May 29, 2002
    Messages:
    2,950
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    Wow! Thanks ElephantU for posting this. My hat is off to Samson and Solo of Apolyton for this monumental work.
     
  17. LordValuna

    LordValuna High Lord

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Messages:
    270
    Location:
    Hamilton Ontario Canada
    literally do nothing for 30-60 program will cycle to next menu
    (confirm and zoom) says confirm <nil> caravan. select <nil>
    <edit> (added following)
    as displayed in this picture

    download this .sav file to try to get salt.
    http://www.civfanatics.net/uploads3/al_a1960.sav
     
  18. el_kalkylus

    el_kalkylus Civ2 spearman

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2001
    Messages:
    460
    Location:
    Sweden
    Sorry, I don't have the energy to read through this whole thread, but I have found a strange bug (maybe it's well known).

    If you deliver two caravans from a trieme, and the first caravan is demanded with say x2 (i.e copper, dye etc), then the second caravan will also be x2 even if it's not demanded. But if you deliver the un-demanded caravan first, the demanded caravan will only give x1 trade.

    I noticed this when I delivered two caravans to a city in another civilization (than my own.) I haven't tested this for x3 caravans or other combination of caravans.
     
  19. ElephantU

    ElephantU Deity

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    2,272
    Location:
    Phila PA
    I assume you are talking about the bonus payment for caravan delivery.

    First of all, are you sure you are calculating the expected amount correctly? Here is the "definitive" thread on calculating bonuses, with all the modifiers in proper order:

    http://apolyton.net/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=64729

    The other possibility is that you have run into the "trigger effect" of caravan delivery. Samson and Solo over at Apolyton.Net say that changes in city supply and demand can be "masked" until a "trigger" causes them to update the lists. There is a 16-turn cycle for each city which forces an update, but caravan delivery, either to pay out or to add to a Wonder, can also trigger updates. Here is a thread on the Supply/Demand formulas and some other commentary:

    http://apolyton.net/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=67754

    Read through this stuff and try out some of the formulas. Also, did you click the city again between the first and second delivery to see if the demand had changed? Do you have a save file of the game just before the first caravan delivery?

    Hope this helps.

    Blessed Christ-Mass!
     
  20. el_kalkylus

    el_kalkylus Civ2 spearman

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2001
    Messages:
    460
    Location:
    Sweden
    Thanks. Yeah, it must have been the "trigger effect", because I know how you calculate the delivery already.

    Merry christmas!
     

Share This Page