1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Greco-Roman Scout (2/24/07)

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Unit Graphics' started by sepamu92, Feb 24, 2007.

  1. sepamu92

    sepamu92 Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    417
    Location:
    Minnesota, USA
    This is the Prodromoi from the Alexander scenario, re-boned to the scout animations. It fits a lot better than those native americans for Rome, Greece, Carthage and other Mediterranean civs.
    EDIT as of 2/26/07 with backpack & shortsword instead of original native american axe.
    Button included.








    File at Database
     
  2. GeoModder

    GeoModder Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Messages:
    7,512
    Lemme me the first to download. :goodjob:
     
  3. woodelf

    woodelf Bard

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2003
    Messages:
    15,036
    Location:
    Gallery
    Friggin Geo taking the woodelf position again.... ;)

    Great job sepamu
     
  4. Chuggi

    Chuggi Espada

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,369
    Location:
    Australia
    I like it but I'm not sure about the native american axe. A dagger or short sword would have been better or a resized normal axe.
     
  5. Jouda

    Jouda .

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2005
    Messages:
    101
    Location:
    Prague, Czech Republic
    Yeah, I back that. Superb unit anyway!
     
  6. Chamaedrys

    Chamaedrys Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,267
    Location:
    Germany
    I echo. Nice unit
     
  7. sepamu92

    sepamu92 Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    417
    Location:
    Minnesota, USA
    Yeah, that's a good point. I think I'll give him the Praetorian sword (slightly decreased in size) - and also maybe a backpack to make him look more "scoutish".
     
  8. Chuggi

    Chuggi Espada

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,369
    Location:
    Australia
    The backpack's a good idea. I made this just to see if it would work - he's wielding a torch made by WR, with the fire from The Colossus wonder. I can attach it later if you want and you can re-upload it. Looks a bit more scoutish :p

     
  9. Chamaedrys

    Chamaedrys Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,267
    Location:
    Germany
    Hey,

    That's a cool idea, Chugginator

    I vote for the scout with the torch.
     
  10. sepamu92

    sepamu92 Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    417
    Location:
    Minnesota, USA
  11. Chuggi

    Chuggi Espada

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,369
    Location:
    Australia
    Here's Sepamu's scout with the torch, and also a settler bag (sack).
    There is a minor bug though, with the Colossus fire, if part of the unit is behind the effect then it will still go in front of the fire effect for some reason.
    Still looks cool while he's fighting though because the effect trails through the air :D



    File's attached. The new button's included.
     

    Attached Files:

  12. Chamaedrys

    Chamaedrys Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,267
    Location:
    Germany
    A scout with a sword AND a scout with a torch??

    I can't decide, I take both:D
     
  13. snipperrabbit!!

    snipperrabbit!! Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,396
    Does he announce Olympic games ?
     
  14. Chuggi

    Chuggi Espada

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,369
    Location:
    Australia
    He can do :p
     
  15. snipperrabbit!!

    snipperrabbit!! Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,396
    He is one year ealy, then !
     
  16. Chuggi

    Chuggi Espada

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,369
    Location:
    Australia
    He has to start getting ready now because he needs to learn necessary coding before he can announce the games!
     
  17. snipperrabbit!!

    snipperrabbit!! Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,396
    That's true ! :rotfl: :lol:
     
  18. Arne

    Arne Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2001
    Messages:
    890
    Location:
    Rostock (GER)
    Thatone with torch is great. Okay, the otherone too. I thing he's going into SPQR (one day).
     
  19. 10lire

    10lire Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2003
    Messages:
    304
    Location:
    Milan, Italy, EU
    I'm trying to add my first unit; I followed the guide in this thread: http://forums.civfanatics.com/showthread.php?t=139721 but I have some problems and questions:


    1) I noticed that there is no .kfm file in both the zips (the one with the sword and the other with the torch); i don't know what that file does, but it is necessary because you must enter its path in 'CIV4ArtDefines_Unit.xml' in the <KFM> tag. I have copied the standard scout .kfm file in my mod subfolder 'Assets\art\units\mediterranean_scout\'; i don't know if this method works well because the game freezes (see point 4).


    2) I'm using the torch version and I have problems with the button:
    a. In 'Scout_ROMAN (with torch).zip' there isn't the button with the torch, but the button with axe;
    b. I copied the button with the sword from the other zip; this button appears "out of focus" in game; look here and compare this picture with the first picture in post #1:



    c. the button in the technology screen is NOT "zoomed"; look here:



    I don't know if it depends by the settings in the file 'CIV4UnitInfos.xml', in which i have written:

    instead of:
    (note the commas)


    3) The unit has a strange posture in the civilopedia screen (and in the city screen..); moreover the fire of the torch is in a very strange position; compare this picture with the first picture in post #8:




    4) The game freezes (not crash!) when my city has completed to building the unit. It can't manage some strange graphic problems.

    I don't know if these problems are technical or related to this unit.. I decided to post in this thread first.. I apologize if my questions are more proper in a technical support thread than in a creation/customitation thread..

    By the way thanks in advance.
     
  20. Chamaedrys

    Chamaedrys Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,267
    Location:
    Germany
    Hi 10lire!

    1. The .kfm manages the .kf files, and the .kf files are responsible for the animation.

    You don't have to copy the old scout animations files, just use the original path:

    <KFM>Art/Units/Scout/Scout.kfm</KFM>

    2. the comma doesn't matter, The file "Scout_ROMAN.dds" is the button for the scout with the torch.

    3. If a unit looks like that the animation path is wrong. Use the original kfm path (see point one) and it should work

    4. correct the kfm path, maybe this problem is related to it.

    hope it helps

    Chamaedrys;)
     

Share This Page