Hard Crash at end of turn - 100% reproducible

Perhaps some inspiration is to be found in the way Civ V handled international projects? A much longer-burning version of that, with mini-project milestones that trigger the creation of each hero, granting benefits to the civ that 'wins' each milestone (thereby 'training' each hero) as well as contributing to the larger-scale goal of Assembling the heroes? ...I'm just spitballing, probably absurdly; I have zero programming knowledge and know nothing at all of what I speak.

The idea also reminds me of Mass Effect 3's interspecies galactic cooperation effort against the Reapers, though that's far afield of the programming mechanics here.

...and now, to well and truly unhijack the thread, I'm experiencing the problem initially reported here: a non-MAF crash that occurs during the AI's turn, toward the end of the AI processing. It happens at the same moment each time I reload, and it just dumps me back to the desktop with no error message or anything. I've tried reducing graphic levels to the lowest and activating the viewports (which I don't normally play with), but that hasn't helped.

This happened to me a few months ago as well, but going back a few turns and playing through solved the issue that time around. (Or, rather, avoided the crash trigger.) I've tried that here as well, but this time it isn't helping.

I know that nothing can be done about the increasingly frequent MAF errors, but perhaps, as with the thread author's issue, this is something that can be addressed? I've attached the save here. Thank you.

Attachments

• Elros crash backup.CivBeyondSwordSave
    10.5 MB · Views: 203
I'll see if I can get it to load and crash for me.

Here is you game on the next Turn. After the EoT wait of only 1 minute and 45 seconds it processed. I had to set a Culture to be built in 5 or 6 cities before I could save the game. So you can easily spot those and change them to you choice of build.