1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Dismiss Notice
  6. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

How To Play A World Builder Map

Discussion in 'Civ6 - Creation & Customization' started by TornadoCreator, Nov 28, 2016.

  1. TornadoCreator

    TornadoCreator Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Messages:
    20
    I've built a couple of maps on the world builder (that was hidden away in the menus) and saved them as .Civ6Map files. I've scoured this forum trying to make sense of what we've got to work with but I'm still unsure what steps I'm missing. How do I play a game using these custom made maps? I don't see any way to select them when I attempt to create a new game.

    If someone could give me a step by step guide on how to make the custom built maps playable, or point me to a thread that already explains this, I'd be very grateful; thank you.
     
  2. pjcivio

    pjcivio Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2016
    Messages:
    13
    Location:
    EU
    Hello, TornadoCreator.
    See in this forum, the tazpn314 post at
    https://forums.civfanatics.com/threads/how-to-launch-the-ingame-worldbuilder.600327/#post-14517066.
    Very useful. In World builder, (in game), create a map at your convenience, (you can choose also the starting position of all players and City E.), add or change, (tile by tile), resources, terrain, etc... Save the map in WBuilder.
    Then, follow instructions in TZ post. (Create both files, by copy-paste the text in the spoiler post, create a folder for the Mod.... Add the mod in habitual folder mod in the game, active the mod in additional content, create new game, . . . et, voila, . . . play your created map.
    Important: Every new map designed, must be renamed "TZ..Civ6map" and allocated into mod folder "TZ".
    It works. (I play my own designed maps).
    One more thing. Clean the cache every time, after new changes in the edited map, before you play it.
    Regards.
     
    TornadoCreator likes this.
  3. TornadoCreator

    TornadoCreator Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Messages:
    20
    Thank you. Works brilliantly...

    There are a few oddities with the map system though:

    1. Natural Wonders don't appear where they've been placed when you play custom maps; and for some reason the World Builder won't let me place the Great Barrier Reef or the Galapagos Islands at all. I'm not sure if there's a map requirement I'm missing.

    2. City States seem to jump around. They appear where they've been set to appear but it seems as though all the city-states are randomly assigned one of the spawn locations rather than spawning on their specific spawn location.

    Other than that, this now let's me actually play custom maps. Thank you.
     
  4. Daft73

    Daft73 ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    Messages:
    496
    Location:
    Baba Yaga's Hut
    The city-states seem to be somewhat of a problem when it comes to map designing. I use Larger Worlds

    and Detailed Worlds

    I recall the city states causing issues.
     
  5. pjcivio

    pjcivio Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2016
    Messages:
    13
    Location:
    EU
    Hello.
    Place the C.E, not with icon " city " , in WB. Only place "unit" for every CE you wish. Minimum 1 settler. And where you place the unit, after, in game will you see the CE placed, (the settler, build the city).
    The other hand, with the WB system, only can you place the resources, improvements, features, etc ... where the system allows.
    Pick a tile, and open list in each group of elements in right panel. Only you will see activate that possible in specific tile. And some, (I ignore the reason), is not possible, like perfume, jeans...
    Regards
     
  6. pjcivio

    pjcivio Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2016
    Messages:
    13
    Location:
    EU
    Hello, Daft73.

    Only way to avoid the random placement for players, and C.E., (unless an specific mod that can do it), is a custom map, made in WB, (so i know).
    I don't use random system map creation. The results don't likes me. I prefer the map i wish and decide. The WB is the perfect tool for this, (and for now is provisional and not complete, until devs. implement the WB complete and game editor).
    Regards.
     
    Last edited: Nov 28, 2016
  7. Daft73

    Daft73 ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    Messages:
    496
    Location:
    Baba Yaga's Hut
    Spoiler :


    Indeed, I'm wanting the tools, and map editor to be available/fleshed out. Thank you fine sir for the heads-up. :beer:
     
  8. lonnie

    lonnie Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Gender:
    Male
    I'v been trying to get this and other medthods to work for a year. Please help, iv watched the youtube videos and tryed everything nothing seems to workfor me.

    please help i just want to play maps i create in single player. I can creat the maps but i cant play them
     
  9. Winged Hussar

    Winged Hussar Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2002
    Messages:
    110
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    If you still have problems, try the steam workshop comment section on the "Play Your Custom Map" mod. A player named Marcom and RF-A have some good gouge there.
     
  10. lonnie

    lonnie Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Gender:
    Male
    I actually figured it out, I had been saving my map in the folder instructed. But it should actually be moved to the mid folder" create your own custom maps" the instructions don't state that. He says save it in the numbered folder.
     

Share This Page

Ebates: Get Paid to Shop