1. Firaxis celebrates the "Asian American and Pacific Islander Heritage Month", and offers a give-away of a Civ6 anthology copy (5 in total)! For all the details, please check the thread here. .
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Old World has finally been released on GOG and Steam, besides also being available in the Epic store . Come to our Old World forum and discuss with us!
    Dismiss Notice

How to Use Plug and Play Mods (READ ME FIRST!)

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Plug and Play Project' started by purplexus, Apr 23, 2007.

  1. purplexus

    purplexus Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Messages:
    477
    Location:
    Calgary Alberta, Canada
    FIRST AND FORMOST:
    Thanks goes out to the Impaler[WRG] and Chinese american for first creating the plug and play mod (during the vanilla and Warlords versions and Thanks to FIRAXIS for incorporating such a wonderful idea into their code)

    SECONDLY:
    Thanks goes out to the CIV GOLD TEAM for setting the standards high and for creating the real need for this mod. (at the time when the CIV GOLD Team was launching CIV GOLD 4.0 there were over 100 Civ's to be added in Modularly)

    THIRDLY:
    Note as to other MAJOR mods who have now incorporated the Modular format.

    VISA
    CIV GOLD


    LASTLY:
    This Forum will host only new Beyond The Sword Modules. The Plug and Play System Is built into the Code itself.
     
  2. purplexus

    purplexus Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Messages:
    477
    Location:
    Calgary Alberta, Canada
    HOW TO USE PLUG AND PLAY MODULES

    If you have downloaded a new module and would like to begin using it immediately follow the following instructions CLOSELY.

    1. The first thing you have to do is set up a new mod folder in the MODS folder.
    This is located in a folder that looks similar to this path.
    Firaxis Games\Sid Meier's Civilization 4\Beyond the Sword\Mods
    Choose any new to name your Mod… In this sample we will call it
    MORE MODULES
    2. The Next thing to do is place your New module here and unzip it here
    3. Step 3 Is a little bit more tricky. By default the game will not go looking for your new modules. We will have to go into the <MORE MODULES>.ini File to tell it to start looking for these Modules. (*** NOTE THIS ONLY HAS TO BE DONE ONCE)
    To locate your <more modules>.ini file, Locate your MORE MODULES folder

    Inside of your newly created mod folder A file will appear after you run the module the first time. This file will end in .ini In here you will have to do the following...

    HIT <CTRL-F> and type this in

    Modular XML Loading

    it should take you to this line of the file if not&#8230;. This is the line which you must find within this file

    Now right below this Line should be a line that appears like this

    ModularLoading = 0

    Or like this

    ModularLoading = 1

    If yours has a 0 in the line: MODULAR LOADING IS NOT ON change the 0 to a 1 so that it looks like the second example.


    YOU ARE FINISHED&#8230; PHEW!


    *** NOTE ***

    for those of you who are thinking this is getting ridiculous to add a simple thing as a module there are new plans for an update by the World of Civilization Team which will make both creating modules and Using modules much easier. This update will also address issues that the community was having such as have more then one module to add a Leader Head to a civilization. Adding in more then one Unique Unit. ETC ETC ETC.

    For more information on this visit the WOC FORUM located here
    http://www.worldofcivilization.com/
     
  3. purplexus

    purplexus Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Messages:
    477
    Location:
    Calgary Alberta, Canada
    Note to modders. Read the instructions I have just place on the post above. You will notice that the Beginners are asked to place their new modules within the own mod folder only.

    It is up to you to have your Files UNZIP to the correct folder beyond that.

    For example Assets/Modules/Custom Units/SAMPLE
     
  4. purplexus

    purplexus Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Messages:
    477
    Location:
    Calgary Alberta, Canada
    Does your new Module have sounds?

    If so download the Latest Audio files and unzip them into the same folder as your modules. These files will unzip to Assets/Xml/Audio.
     
  5. CivForrest

    CivForrest Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    where do I unzip the customs civ folders and can't u load all the civs at once? I unzipped the custom civs folder the the mods directy and followed your settings for the ini file, nothing worked.
     
  6. purplexus

    purplexus Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Messages:
    477
    Location:
    Calgary Alberta, Canada
    the following folders should be present when you unzip the Modules.

    Beyond the Sword
    -->MODS
    ---->{your Mod}
    ------>Assets
    -------->Modules
    ---------->Custom Civilizations
    ------------>{Civ Modules}
    ---------->Custom LeaderHeads
    ------------>{Leader Head Modules}
    -------->XML
    ---------->Audio (place updated Audio Files Here)
     
  7. TracerBullet

    TracerBullet Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2002
    Messages:
    26
    How do you play new civs? I followed your directions and nothing happened when I started BtS.
     
  8. CivForrest

    CivForrest Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    works great!
     
  9. weregamer

    weregamer Gandhi of the Mongols

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Messages:
    252
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    What you're saying is that there is no overall location for modules that one picks and chooses from on disk. I need to decide which modules I want to include for my own play, create a new folder for my "mod" (which contains nothing but a selection of modular XML files), and dump all the modules I want into it.

    If I'm doing this for myself, there's no need to create subdirectories for the various sub-types of data. But if I'm planning to distribute a mod, I should not just break my stuff up into modules but sort them into subdirectories. OK.

    But OTOH if I just want to distribute a module - say a new civ - I would expect the user to dump it into their own mod directory. Are you saying I should make up a dummy mod folder containing only one labelled subdirectory, and my zip file should include that dummy mod folder? That seems a bit odd if I want end users to be able to stick it into their own working mod folder. Or do you mean that I should zip the file with a relative path that only contains the intermediate directory (e.g. ".\New Civs\Hippopotamia.xml", not ".\MyMod\New Civs\Hippopotamia.xml")?
     
  10. purplexus

    purplexus Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Messages:
    477
    Location:
    Calgary Alberta, Canada
    No i am saying you should follow the format of Mods/ {whatever you want to call your Mod}/ASSETS/MODULES/{type of module so that people know what they are when inserting them or deleting them/{mod Name}

    Hope this helps.

    If you maintain this structure it makes it easy on the Civilization world of modders. Nothing is stopping you however of doing what you want for your game.
     
  11. weregamer

    weregamer Gandhi of the Mongols

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Messages:
    252
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
     
  12. purplexus

    purplexus Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Messages:
    477
    Location:
    Calgary Alberta, Canada
     
  13. strategyonly

    strategyonly C2C Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    20,845
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MN
    I got like four MODULES to work correctly, Regiments, Canada, Poland, and Ethnic Artstyles all in one, but is there someplace to look that i can make an already made MOD into a MODULE then just add these to it?? I tried adding these to a MOD but it overrides the MOD itself and only uses the modules??
     
  14. purplexus

    purplexus Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Messages:
    477
    Location:
    Calgary Alberta, Canada
    This is what all my hard work is for. Is so that all these mods will one day be able to work together. In the request Thread request a mod you want someone to work on next.
     
  15. TAfirehawk

    TAfirehawk WoC Team Manager

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,326
    Location:
    Florida
    I would like to suggest a 'standard' listing of folders under MODULES....

    Code:
    Custom Buildings
          Unique
    
    Custom Civics
          First
          Second
          Third
          Fourth
    
    Custom Civilizations
    
    Custom Leaderheads
    
    Custom Projects
    
    Custom Resources
    
    Custom Technologies
    
    Custom Units
          Air
          Archery
          Armored
          Gunpowder
          Melee
          Mounted
          Naval
          Recon
          Siege
          Special
          Unique
                 First
                 Second
                 Third
                 Fourth
                 Fifth
    
    Custom Wonders
          National
          World
    The modules like EDU, Extended City Radius, etc. will get their own folder directly under MODULES.

    Also, in the WoC we have added a folder, UNLOADED MODULES under Assets for people to place modules they don't want to use but not totally delete so they can be copied back into MODULES later.
     
  16. NikNaks

    NikNaks Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,972
    Location:
    England
    Sounds like a great idea, but what do 'First, Second...' etc. mean under Civics?
     
  17. TAfirehawk

    TAfirehawk WoC Team Manager

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,326
    Location:
    Florida
    Extra Civic categories....

    If the duplicate/un-used tag problem ever gets solved I fully expect 3 new Civic categories coming from ViSa :)
     
  18. Impaler[WrG]

    Impaler[WrG] Civ4:Col UI programmer

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    1,750
    Location:
    Vallejo, California
    For Civics I'd recommend grouping by the Civic Categories both for the original Categories when your modifying the Civic and new Custom Categories that are full of new Civics so for example.

    Custom Civics
    --NEWCIVICCOPTION (a new civic group such as several mods have)
    ----OPTIONCORE (module defining the new category with CivicOptionInfos.xml and its associated Text)
    ----NEWCIVIC (a new Civic belonging to this new category)
     
  19. TAfirehawk

    TAfirehawk WoC Team Manager

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,326
    Location:
    Florida
    Yeah that sounds better....I will do some updates on the WoC SVN and see how it looks.
     
  20. Fierabras

    Fierabras Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,114
    Wouldn't 'Custom Artstyles' deserve a folder?

    Custom Artstyles
    ---Cityart
    ---Unitart
     

Share This Page