1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Interesting Screenshots

Discussion in 'Civ3 - General Discussions' started by kill fire, Nov 10, 2006.

  1. Turner

    Turner Deity Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2002
    Messages:
    28,169
    Location:
    Randomistan
    It's been years since I touched PTW, but I recall problems with the cityview in DyP because of all the extra buildings added.

    Honesly, I don't recall the palace view, I disabled that along time ago. But I do believe it's for any game in VC3/PTW.
     
  2. choxorn

    choxorn Watermelon Headcrab

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Messages:
    18,137
    Location:
    Honolulu
    I guess that means there'e one of everybody, like the village people...
    I still don't know what the village people have to do with the YMCA song, though.
     
  3. SuperBeaverInc.

    SuperBeaverInc. Groucho

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    14,923
    Location:
    British Columbia
    The Village People sang YMCA
     
  4. choxorn

    choxorn Watermelon Headcrab

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Messages:
    18,137
    Location:
    Honolulu
    Oh. I always wondered who the singer was. Now I know that it's singers, not singer.
    Interesting Note: The song is stuck in my head, too, partially because of this, partially because I just recently heard it. :D
     
  5. Yosemite

    Yosemite Yer Brain on Sean Connery

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2004
    Messages:
    88
    It's not any special customization thing, it's just a cool little easter egg feature that the developers put in. In the bottom right corner of your screen is the box that has the information about your current unit, etc. On the right edge of that box are five or six little buttons with letters in them. The "P" button takes you to the palace customization view. You can only do it a little at a time though.
     
  6. Thorvald of Lym

    Thorvald of Lym A Little Sketchy

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    8,290
    Location:
    A Palace north of Oslo
    I've played some Conquests scenarios in hotseat and noticed I could improve my palace.
     
  7. Heretic_Cata

    Heretic_Cata We're gonna live forever

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2005
    Messages:
    9,587
    Location:
    Romania
    What's cpt ?
     
  8. TimBentley

    TimBentley Deity

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,898
    Location:
    Troy, MI
  9. Heretic_Cata

    Heretic_Cata We're gonna live forever

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2005
    Messages:
    9,587
    Location:
    Romania
    In that case choxorn is partialy wrong.

    In my mod there are quite a few negative culture buildings. They do have a negative effect.
    They never decrease the total amount of culture a city has; they decrease the culture per turn towards 0.
    So if you have a temple built and another building that has -1 cpt then your city will get 1cpt.
    But if your city has 10 culture and 0 total cpt and you build a -1cpt building then the city will stay at 10 culture.

    IIRC :hmm: (maybe someone who played my mod more than me can confirm this :lol: :crazyeye: )
     
  10. choxorn

    choxorn Watermelon Headcrab

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Messages:
    18,137
    Location:
    Honolulu
    Hmm. I guess I need to check that out. Seriously, though, the borders should shrink.
     
  11. choxorn

    choxorn Watermelon Headcrab

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Messages:
    18,137
    Location:
    Honolulu
    This is actually not a screenshot, but I have made a great discovery! Forgive me if this has already been found out.

    Remember the screenshpt earlier at the bottom of the map? Well, I was curious what would happen if I popped barbs from a hut down there. So, I decreased it to 2 tiles, one with my Settler, Worker, and Warrior, and the other with the goody hut, and for the greatest chance of popping barbs, played it on Sid (90% Chance of barbs). I popped it 10 times, and didn't get barbs once- just maps and warriors. The chances of that happening normally are (I think) 0.000000001%. So I guess that's another requirement for barbs to get popped from the hut: "There must be 3 empty land tiles that they can spawn to."
    EDIT: Oopsie! I forgot to give myself a city, which is one of the requirements. I'll have to go do that.
    EDIT2: Nope, I gave myself a city (which wasn't one tile from the barb camp) and still didn't get barbs after popping it 10 times on Sid.
     
  12. AutomatedTeller

    AutomatedTeller Frequent poster

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Messages:
    7,540
    Location:
    Medford, MA
    If there is no tile for them to spawn too, then they won't spawn barbs. it doesn't need to be 3 tiles, though if there are only 2 tiles uncovered, then only those two tiles will get barbs.
     
  13. T.A JONES

    T.A JONES Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2006
    Messages:
    3,471
    :nya: The Untamed JUNGLE! :nya:



    Never been 380 turns in to a game and had this much real estate available.(my turn=years ratio was slightly adjusted to slow aging at the begining, making it more amazing then it seems!) Look even the resources are colonized in the top right corner. THe english,(red )at least had the guts to set up a base in thickit. The rumours of giant snakes have driven them all away. He he! now thats a worthy propaganada mission!
     
  14. SuperBeaverInc.

    SuperBeaverInc. Groucho

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    14,923
    Location:
    British Columbia
    I hope you have a lot of workers. ;)
     
  15. Mirc

    Mirc Not mIRC!!!

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2005
    Messages:
    15,825
    Location:
    Düsseldorf, ->Germany, E.U.
    Never seen so much jungle in one place! :wow:
     
  16. choxorn

    choxorn Watermelon Headcrab

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Messages:
    18,137
    Location:
    Honolulu
    Fine, so there only needs to be one tile. WHO CARES!!! It still is a cool discovery, whether I was first or not!

    Oh, and as for the endless jungle.... :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: I've never seen so much jungle in one place before!!!!!
     
  17. T.A JONES

    T.A JONES Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2006
    Messages:
    3,471
    Oh yes about the jungles I owe a explanation for that. Wet climate with the other variables at Mid 190x190 continents, is I think what makes the lush greens.

    Um still, those unclaimed dyes up in the bush arn't the Ai suppose to be drawn to them like flies on fresh cow pies?. 380 turns! and no one laid claim yet!!!

    I see the continent layout and its all covered I tell ya theirs gotta be some big snakes :shifty: in dose parts if it kept those suckers at bay(AI settlers)
     
  18. choxorn

    choxorn Watermelon Headcrab

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Messages:
    18,137
    Location:
    Honolulu
    You mean like this one I got from a google search?

    This must be what keeps the AI away!! :lol: :rotfl:
     
  19. MAS

    MAS Deity

    Joined:
    May 18, 2002
    Messages:
    2,080
    Location:
    The Netherlands


    I've already posted this image before on this forum, but I feel it also belongs in this thread!

    I moved my settler one tile before settling. (never finished the game, if you wonder, just saved this screenshot. )


    (by the way, for some odd reason, the image is not visible in my post right away, instead, only a link to it is shown, can someone explain why this is?)
     
  20. choxorn

    choxorn Watermelon Headcrab

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Messages:
    18,137
    Location:
    Honolulu
    Okay, that has GOT to be the closest start ever! Well, actually, in my best start location thread, there were 6 civs in a 6-tile rectangle...
    Oh, and, as for the link, are you sure you're using "IMG" and not "link"?
     

Share This Page