1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

KaTiON's Space Maps

Discussion in 'Maps & Scenarios' started by KaTiON_PT, Mar 27, 2018.

  1. raxo2222

    raxo2222 Time Traveller

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    8,188
    Location:
    Poland
    Well they built city within two tiles of my freshly placed city.
    I guess spamming celebrities would do that eventually.

    So basically spies and celebrities just like USA :)
     
  2. Toffer90

    Toffer90 C2C Modder

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2011
    Messages:
    7,385
    Location:
    Norway
    <DefineName>MIN_CITY_RANGE</DefineName>
     
    raxo2222 likes this.
  3. raxo2222

    raxo2222 Time Traveller

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    8,188
    Location:
    Poland
    @Thunderbrd How to stop criminals from killing my hunters?
    AIs are officially friendly, but they like to harass my units.

    By the way ability to compress units is fun - that is grouping them up. Grouping them twice makes them around 2x stronger.
    I don't beeline and always select 10 cheapest buildings in cities after setting up initial production base until I run out of things to build, then I build my army.
    I have 2 - 3 cities free to build units, 9 units take one turn to create.

    I have traits, civics and achievement, that boost :hammers:

    So in conclusion Emperor is nice to play semi-causally.
    At least on map, that spreads out AIs fairly far.
    AI is fairly on same tech level as me.
    Got some religions before them, but they build most of wonders.

    .................
    I reached Classical era, AI did it slightly earlier.
    Spoiler :

    Civ4BeyondSword 2018-08-24 22-32-02-76.jpg


    I added save if anyone wants to see it.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Aug 24, 2018
  4. Thunderbrd

    Thunderbrd C2C War Dog

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    28,428
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    Well - they are for that purpose so...

    The best strategic means of keeping that from happening so easily is to accompany the hunter with a recon unit that has lots of withdrawal.
     
  5. raxo2222

    raxo2222 Time Traveller

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    8,188
    Location:
    Poland
    I'm in Medieval era now.
    Aborigens like island hopping.

    Spoiler :

    Civ4BeyondSword 2018-08-27 11-59-18-99.jpg
     

    Attached Files:

    KaTiON_PT likes this.
  6. KaTiON_PT

    KaTiON_PT Emperor

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,090
    Location:
    Portugal
    That's good, it seems the AI knows to colonize properly.
     
  7. raxo2222

    raxo2222 Time Traveller

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    8,188
    Location:
    Poland
    As for balance issues research is too fast.
    On normal (2000 turns) speed Medieval era should be reached on 450th turn on average.
    It was reached on 327th or so.
     
    KaTiON_PT likes this.
  8. KaTiON_PT

    KaTiON_PT Emperor

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,090
    Location:
    Portugal
    That's how it's been for a few hundred SVN revisions. Share your thoughts and statistics (turns you got lifestyle techs, how far the AI is, game options that affect tech rate like tech diffusion, etc) on Balance Factors.
     
  9. raxo2222

    raxo2222 Time Traveller

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    8,188
    Location:
    Poland
    I know, I just meant this is only bigger issue in game.

    Smaller ones is some manufactured resources needs other resources, that are unlocked later.

    Other than that no bigger issues.
     
    KaTiON_PT likes this.
  10. raxo2222

    raxo2222 Time Traveller

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    8,188
    Location:
    Poland
    I'm doing rescaled latitude limits for this map - two other maps included with mod doesn't have proper earth/space, so they don't need that.

    Can you set this:
    top latitude=60
    bottom latitude=-60

    to this?
    top latitude=90
    bottom latitude=-90
    in your map?

    Bottom latitude covers with actual lowest value of -90
    Max latitude in rescaled latitudes mod will be -39 - this is where Earth ends.

    I changed them in SVN.
    Game options can be changed - I set them as I like so I don't have to switch them every time I test things.

    Other than than no things are changed.
     
    Last edited: Sep 2, 2018
    KaTiON_PT likes this.
  11. KaTiON_PT

    KaTiON_PT Emperor

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,090
    Location:
    Portugal
    Sure, I can change that. Thanks for dedicating your time to this.
     
  12. raxo2222

    raxo2222 Time Traveller

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    8,188
    Location:
    Poland
    I think I need new tags, so I could restrict buildings/animals on unsymmetrical maps like space map.

    That is something could spawn/be built in between -39 to -50 and -80 to -90 latitudes as example.

    It appears I can't even break symmetry of latitude restrictions for buildings and possibly map resources - tag for that isn't in building schema.
    This means only spawn infos are going to be rescaled.

    And probably spawn limits of "cold" animals spawning at both sides of equator are going to be broken....

    Also I have to rework spawn infos - there are 287 animals but only 148 uses of <bLatit tag.
     
    Last edited: Sep 2, 2018
    KaTiON_PT likes this.
  13. vissar2g

    vissar2g Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2016
    Messages:
    27
    10158
    Changed latitude limits to -90 - 90 in map for rescaling modmod.

    This change affects only Kation's space map.

    Do I need to start a new game to see the effects of the 10158 update? If so, what are the effects of this update on gameplay? Finally, does the presence of this update change your recommendation to use the animal spawning modmod?
     
  14. raxo2222

    raxo2222 Time Traveller

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    8,188
    Location:
    Poland
    Yes, but there is no effect on gameplay if you use modmod, that completely removes latitude restrictions.
    Rescaling mod won't work properly for things existing on both hemispheres, that have two zones (things that don't like tropics).

    Latitude restricting assumes equator runs trough middle of map.
    Temperate and polar animals/buildings/resources, that exist on both northern and southern hemisphere would exist in equator too.
    Example: instead of existing in between 30 - 60 N and 30 - 60 S it could be anywhere in between 60 S to 60 N.
    Animals existing on single zone can be rescaled.
     
  15. KaTiON_PT

    KaTiON_PT Emperor

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,090
    Location:
    Portugal
    @raxo2222 if the Earth part would be placed in the middle of the map, would that help? As the map equator would pass through Earth's equator.
     
  16. raxo2222

    raxo2222 Time Traveller

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    8,188
    Location:
    Poland
    I got better idea now: I recalculate value of bottom latitude so maps equator is on height of Earth's equator - if it was 0 then equator would be on south pole.
    I think it will be somewhere between -20 to -40 after I recalculate it.

    After recalculating bottom latitude is at -14. North pole is in mountains (+14)
    Also whole Earth needs to be shifted eastwards so Britain is at 0 Longitude.
    Red line shows where is 0th longitude.
    Blue line shows geographical location of 0th longitude.
    Spoiler :
    Civ4BeyondSword 2018-09-02 16-24-32-95.jpg Civ4BeyondSword 2018-09-02 16-24-41-18.jpg


    Modmod rescaling latitude limits is here along with no latitude limits modmod.
     
    Last edited: Sep 2, 2018
    KaTiON_PT likes this.
  17. KaTiON_PT

    KaTiON_PT Emperor

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,090
    Location:
    Portugal
    Looks simple enough by using the find and replace option in Notepad++, though wouldn't that make it so that a bit of Asia would be on the left in the minimap?

    EDIT: Eh, nevermind that, I'm not that of a perfectionist to mind a little bit of Asia to be cut on the minimap. Tomorrow I will have it ready.

    Spoiler Ignore this, just some orientation :

    x=41 is the Atlantic boundary | x=42 and beyond are moved by 10 lot | The American continent by 4
    Old New
    - > 0
    - > 1
    - > 2
    - > 3
    0 > 4
    1 > 5
    2 > 6
    3 > 7
    4 > 8
    5 > 9
    6 > 10
    7 > 11
    8 > 12
    9 > 13
    10 > 14
    11 > 15
    12 > 16
    13 > 17
    14 > 18
    15 > 19
    16 > 20
    17 > 21
    18 > 22
    19 > 23
    20 > 24
    21 > 25
    22 > 26
    23 > 27
    24 > 28
    25 > 29
    26 > 30
    27 > 31
    28 > 32
    29 > 33
    30 > 34
    31 > 35
    32 > 36
    33 > 37
    34 > 38
    35 > 39
    36 > 40
    37 > 41
    38 > 42
    39 > 43
    40 > 44
    41 > 45
    - > 46
    - > 47
    - > 48
    - > 49
    - > 50
    - > 51
    - > 52
    - > 53
    - > 54
    - > 55
    42 > 56
    43 > 57
    44 > 58
    45 > 59
    46 > 60
    47 > 61
    48 > 62 (equator)
    49 > 63
    50 > 64
    51 > 65
    52 > 66
    53 > 67
    54 > 68
    55 > 69
    56 > 70
    57 > 71
    58 > 72
    59 > 73
    60 > 74
    61 > 75
    62 > 76
    63 > 77
    64 > 78
    65 > 79
    66 > 80
    67 > 81
    68 > 82
    69 > 83
    70 > 84
    71 > 85
    72 > 86
    73 > 87
    74 > 88
    75 > 89
    76 > 90
    77 > 91
    78 > 92
    79 > 93
    80 > 94
    81 > 95
    82 > 96
    83 > 97
    84 > 98
    85 > 99
    86 > 100
    87 > 101
    88 > 102
    89 > 103
    90 > 104
    91 > 105
    92 > 106
    93 > 107
    94 > 108
    95 > 109
    96 > 110
    97 > 111
    98 > 112
    99 > 113
    100 > 114
    101 > 115
    102 > 116
    103 > 117
    104 > 118
    105 > 119
    106 > 120
    107 > 121
    108 > 122
    109 > 123
     
    Last edited: Sep 3, 2018
    raxo2222 likes this.
  18. KaTiON_PT

    KaTiON_PT Emperor

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,090
    Location:
    Portugal
    raxo2222 likes this.
  19. raxo2222

    raxo2222 Time Traveller

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    8,188
    Location:
    Poland
    Looks fine enough.

    It had to be sone so longitude limits would be prefect (for animal spawns).
     
  20. KaTiON_PT

    KaTiON_PT Emperor

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,090
    Location:
    Portugal
    I could also try expanding the map horizontally so that Australia/Japan wouldn't get cut.
     

Share This Page