1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Keyboard shortcuts for movement?

Discussion in 'Civ5 - General Discussions' started by Grotius, Sep 18, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Grotius

    Grotius Prince

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2002
    Messages:
    409
    The manual lists a number of useful keyboard shortcuts, but I don't see anything indicating that we can use keys to move units from one tile to the next. I see there's a "move mode" shortcut, but in earlier Civ games there's usually been the option to move a unit with the Numpad keys. Is that gone now?

    Also, can we move among cities using the arrow keys, or do we have to click?

    I ask because I tend to be more prone to RSI from mousing than keyboarding.
     
  2. stealth_nsk

    stealth_nsk Deity

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    5,510
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Novosibirsk, Russia
    The problems are:
    1. Hexagons, which don't fit the numeric keyboard that good.
    2. Notebooks, most of which don't have the numeric keyboard.
     
  3. Horserush

    Horserush Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    161
    I seem to remember them saying that there were still keyboard shortcuts for movement.
     
  4. Indibil

    Indibil Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2005
    Messages:
    86
    Location:
    At work, most probably
    The way hexes are in the game it'd have to be something like:

    -89
    4-6
    12

    Which would be a tad confusing at first.

    I, for one, might restrict myself to mouse movement being a non-numerical laptop user.
     
  5. migkillertwo

    migkillertwo Prince

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Messages:
    404
    Pretty much every strategy game has had keyboard movement short cuts of some sort. I think there will be one of two shortcuts

    1: Either there will be directional movements with the keys "w", 'e', 'a', 's', 'z', and 'x'.

    2: This seems more likely, there will be one easily accessible key (Maybe 'F') that brings up the movement option, and then you use the mouse to choose where you want him to move.

    I think the latter is much more likely because units have 2 movement points, that means that there are 30 possible movement combinations, and that's just foot units. Mechanized units have 1296 possible movement combinations.
     
  6. PieceOfMind

    PieceOfMind Drill IV Defender Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Messages:
    9,319
    Location:
    Australia
    One of the problems with move-shortcuts is an effect of the 1upt system. You cannot have a unit stop on the same tile as another unit. So if you moved one tile onto another unit, and then stopped, you wouldn't be able to deselect the unit until you moved it off that tile. Moving through another unit is often going to be necessary, so the mouse is the easiest solution to get around this problem. Only moves that are legal will be possible with the mouse, and using the keyboard for moves of distance 2 would be clumsy.

    I am fairly sure there aren't going to be keyboard shortcuts for movement. At least not yet.

    Doesn't bother me greatly, as I used the mouse exclusively (for movement) in civ4 anyway.
     
  7. stealth_nsk

    stealth_nsk Deity

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    5,510
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Novosibirsk, Russia
    Well, it could work this way:
    1. You choose movement mode.
    2. You move the destination cursor using 6 keys.
    3. You order unit to move here.

    Ah, good old days. 286 computer, no mouse, DOS, PC Speaker music :lol:
     
  8. PieceOfMind

    PieceOfMind Drill IV Defender Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Messages:
    9,319
    Location:
    Australia
    Jee, you might as well be playing on gameboy if you did that. Your description there reminded me exactly of Advance Wars.
     
  9. Zhahz

    Zhahz PC Gamer

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2005
    Messages:
    1,615
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    I don't usually use the keyboard to move my units unless I'm playing one handed (eating or something) - so, no biggie to me. I usually use the mouse and during the exploration phase where there's lots of movement and next turns, I just hit ENTER on the numpad, which is right next to the mouse - less movement.

    I'm more distressed by the previous/next unit hotkeys (period and comma) and hope there are alterates or customizeable keybindings. I much prefer to keep my hand on my mouse and would rather use TAB and SHIFT+TAB to cycle/reverse cycle or anything that's nearer my left hand. Period and comma are hideous choices for those hotkeys (to me).
     
  10. Grotius

    Grotius Prince

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2002
    Messages:
    409
    Hmm, sounds like no one knows for sure. Maybe I should ask over at 2K Games?

    It's not *that* big a deal to me; if I'm doing something important, I usually use the mouse in Civ anyway. But for routine moves, I like to use the keyboard to give my mouse-hand a break.

    I can understand the problem with laptop keyboards. I'd still hope we get some option for keyboard movement, though. Any combination of six keys, perhaps in two rows of three, would satisfy me.

    Failing that, I hope we get left-right arrows for scrolling through cities.
     
  11. Lancor

    Lancor Prince

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    325
    Location:
    Cologne, Germany
    Technically there shouldn't be a problem assigning 6 numpad keys to the 6 directions one can move. It will be a bit confusing because of the perspective at first...
    If it's not in the game by default, perhaps by demand there will be a patch.
     
  12. Oberon Blade

    Oberon Blade Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Think the keyboard shortcut for movement could be.

    7 9
    4 6
    1 3

    5 can be to center on the unit or something. Will know in a few days :)
     
  13. Lancor

    Lancor Prince

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    325
    Location:
    Cologne, Germany
    Official statement at 2k Forums:

     
  14. ButSam

    ButSam King

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2001
    Messages:
    662
    741 963 makes some sense...but let me just point out that the keyboard layout on the QWERTY keyboard is somewhat "hexagonal" (the keys are square of course, but look closely). For example, if S is the center "hex", the keys touching "S" to any degree (at least on my keyboard) are W, E, A, D, Z, and X. (I suspect the reasoning for this is to make typing reach distances more equitable as well.)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page