1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Latest Release -- 3.17 (Time Capsule)

Discussion in 'Communitas Expansion Pack' started by ExpiredReign, Jul 13, 2014.

  1. 59saintdane

    59saintdane Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2014
    Messages:
    230
    I don't understand how to install this. The file is a .7z instead of a .zip, so the installation instructions on the wiki seem to be outdated and my computer doesn't recognize the file type. What do I do?
     
  2. ExpiredReign

    ExpiredReign Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Messages:
    2,450
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Tasmania
    The files with the 7z extension are just another type of archive like *.zip.
    You could also see *.rar, *.cab, *.ace or any other of the dozens of archive formats available and readily seen all over the place.

    It just means you need to download the suitable software for it.
     
  3. Koinonos

    Koinonos Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Just pulled down the latest Communitas 3.17 version for Civ 5 BNW and Played the French. On version 3.16 once I researched the Gatling guns I could upgrade Musketeers & Arquebusiers to Gatling guns since they are classified as Archery units.

    In CEG version 3.17 Musketeers & Arquebusiers are no longer up-gradable, but Crossbowman are upgrade-able to Gatling guns. So this looks like a feature regression. And by not upgrade-able I mean they will not upgrade to musket-man or Gatling guns. They won't upgrade to anything in the Industrial Era.

    Repro Steps:
    ===========

    1.) Install Communitas 3.17 into the Civ 5 mods folder.
    2.) Install IGE latest version into the Civ 5 mods folder.
    3.) Start a Mod game in the Industrial Era as the French.
    4.) Use IGE to give yourself the tech updates necessary for Gatling Gun (Steampower), and 2000 gold to purchase unit upgrades.
    5.) Use IGE to give yourself a Crossbowman, a Musketeer, and an Arqebusier.
    6.) Attempt to upgrade the Crossbowman, and notice that it will upgrade to a Gatling gun.
    7.) Attempt to upgrade the Musketeer, and notice that it will not upgrade to anything (no upgrade button).
    8.) Attempt to upgrade the Arqubusier, and notice that it will not upgrade to anything (no upgrade button).
     
  4. mystikx21

    mystikx21 Deity

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    3,229
    Location:
    ohio
    I believe the solution here is that arquebus/musketeer do not and are not intended to upgrade to gatling guns any more, but to muskets/rifles/infantry. They are no longer considered ranged units and should work normally as with default, upgrading to other gunpowder units. So if you are using IGE, then you would require a different tech to unlock them for upgrading and not steam power to test this. The change to have arques be a ranged unit in the archery line was... contentious and unpopular here, and considered unnecessary to preserve so they were reverted back to default and work as an upgrade for pikes instead (longswords would upgrade to musketmen, as would arques).

    It's possible there's an error in the tech unlocks and no tech does this (there's no change to when those units unlock though that I can see, so there should not be a problem).
     
  5. Evanescence

    Evanescence Timeless Mochi Lord

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011
    Messages:
    47
    Location:
    New York
    Not too sure if this has been reported before...
    But with CEG 3.17, the AI seem to have access to dozens of trade units. In the ancient era. In the first game I got going, the Japanese have 8 different caravans trading with my cities...
     
  6. M@drox

    M@drox Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2014
    Messages:
    20
    Enabling 3.17 with CSD (with or without dll) seems to cancel some UB. For example, Rome loses the new forum-market.
     
  7. qqqbbb

    qqqbbb Prince

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    508
    Why do jaguars and maori warriors upgrade to spearmen? They should upgrade to swordsmen.
     
  8. Hreat

    Hreat Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    126
    Thal did that because he didn't like being unable to upgrade your original troops if you didn't have iron near your starting location.

    You can delete the relevant lines (just search for jaguar and maori) in the CEA_Upgrades file to revert the change if you don't like it.
     
  9. qqqbbb

    qqqbbb Prince

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    508
    Purchased units have different promotion options from built units. Is this intended?
     
  10. Volver

    Volver Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    52
    Location:
    Phoenix
    Seconded, definitely not compatible with current CSD. Rome = Ballista instead of Forum; Japan = Zero instead of Dojo; & Austria losses one altogether, receiving only Hussar. Maybe more?
     

Share This Page