1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Photobucket has changed its policy concerning hotlinking images and now requires an account with a $399.00 annual fee to allow hotlink. More information is available at: this link.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Dismiss Notice
  7. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

LotR28 - Random Rollicking for Returning Refugees

Discussion in 'Civ5 - Succession Games' started by Arathorn, Sep 25, 2010.

  1. timski

    timski Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Corbeau's "absolutely no Babylonians, guaranteed" game crashes my regular edition with a "runtime error" in the main exe (with no more detail). Ouch.
     
  2. Kylearan

    Kylearan compound eye

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2002
    Messages:
    1,538
    Location:
    Bonn, Germany
    Ouch indeed. :( That the game crashes instead of simply stating "invalid savefile" or something is really embarrassing. And that they apparently have no version number included in the savefile (or don't check for it) is outright amateurish. :mad:
     
  3. Arathorn

    Arathorn Catan player

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2002
    Messages:
    3,778
    Location:
    Illinois
    Yeah. Crashes mine, too. I guess, for now, we have separate communities. The "deluxe" community and the "simple" group. Until they get this resolved. I'm flying out in an hour or so, and I'll think on the plane. For now, that seems like our only option, however. Which is a really sucky option.

    Arathorn
     
  4. Verarde

    Verarde Pondering Wearing A Hat

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,795
    Location:
    Northern VA
    LotR28, huh? I don't have Civ5, my computer would be unable to run it. Better save up for that laptop.

    The game itself is looking amazing, love the graphics. Your game is looking interesting, I'll have to keep up with it. You guys are my source for Civ5!
     
  5. Jaffa Tamarin

    Jaffa Tamarin Monkey Cult

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2001
    Messages:
    570
    I wonder if it's possible to downgrade a deluxe install to be compatible with standard edition by removing the Babylon assets. When I get home I might try installing Civ5 on my laptop and experiment a bit.
     
  6. TheBB

    TheBB Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Messages:
    395
    Location:
    Zürich, Switzerland
    Can someone with the deluxe edition open a save from the standard edition (say, Arathorn's posted earlier in this thread), do ---nothing---, and then save again, and post it? I want to see what the difference is.
     
  7. Aretii

    Aretii Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    62
    Location:
    USA
    Attached.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. TheBB

    TheBB Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Messages:
    395
    Location:
    Zürich, Switzerland
    Yeah... those are almost entirely different (assuming I'm looking at the "same" files). I was hoping the difference would just be cosmetic.

    Thanks anyway.
     
  9. CiverDan

    CiverDan Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2004
    Messages:
    248
    Just lurking here..its clear the game doesn't "search for babylon" in the game file when it tries to load on a machine with the regular version. They are different files. Really not much different than if someone with only Warlords tried to load a BTS game.

    Longer term if more DLC content gets released you could end up with multiple groups of people who are unable to play in SG's with one another.
     
  10. Arathorn

    Arathorn Catan player

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2002
    Messages:
    3,778
    Location:
    Illinois
    I'm going to wait another 24 hours to see if we can get this resolved. I am wondering about Jaffa's "downgrade" possibility and playing around with his laptop and multiple installs. Yeah, it'll be a huge PITA, but I want to see if it works.

    If not, I guess the LotR games will be non-deluxe until the thickheads at Firaxis get off their rears and fix it. I'd bet money that they did it to prevent people from buying a deluxe version and making a file with Babylon for their friends. Stupid DRM -- I hate it! (and it's peripherally, at least, associated with my profession)

    Arathorn
     
  11. Gyathaar

    Gyathaar Warlock Retired Moderator GOTM Staff

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    Messages:
    3,744
    Location:
    Trondheim, Norway
    Took a bit of reverse engineering...

    but I managed to write a program that converts a save made with deluxe edition so that it can be loaded with standard edition.. here you go with the 2800BC save..

    Will have to do some work before I can turn it into a tool that can be given away to a normal user thou... it currently requires running several programs in steps, and its past midnight here and work tomorrow.
     

    Attached Files:

  12. Gyathaar

    Gyathaar Warlock Retired Moderator GOTM Staff

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    Messages:
    3,744
    Location:
    Trondheim, Norway
    Actually decided to just do it tonight...

    its a perl script.. and it will most likely not work on games where Babylon is actually in the game.. and it wont work on any possible future DLC civs (would have to be adapted for each) .. so hopefully Firaxis will fix this in a future patch.

    NB! there seems to be a bug in the program somewhere that sometimes trips away data that it should not.. and make the save not loadable in any version .. will find a fix soon and replace the file


    (18:00 CET, Oct 05)File has now been replaced.. the new version should in theory be able to handle any DLC.. and in addition the script will also strip the huge amount of version strings that occurs in the save when you reload many times in a game (which is very likely to happen in a succession game)

    Edit: made another new version.. see this thread for download:
    http://forums.civfanatics.com/showthread.php?t=388937
     
  13. Aretii

    Aretii Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    62
    Location:
    USA
    I think I might love you.
     
  14. Corbeau

    Corbeau Jack of All Trades

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    Messages:
    352
    Location:
    Seattle, Washington, USA
    I think that I do love you.

    Seriously, this save incompatibility is an order of magnitude worse than expansion save incompatibility. The problem is that those of us who paid for this "bonus" content can't disable it in order to play with vanilla versions (as far as I know). It'd be as if BTS had only one print run and magically erased your vanilla CIV disks upon purchase. Ridiculous.
     
  15. ThERat

    ThERat Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Messages:
    11,101
    Location:
    City of one angel
    Gyathaar, great work :goodjob:

    does that mean i can actually continue from Corbeau's save? If so, got to go back and recall our plan and play tonight (+12 hrs)
     
  16. Arathorn

    Arathorn Catan player

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2002
    Messages:
    3,778
    Location:
    Illinois
    Gyathaar,

    YOU ARE AWESOME!!!!

    Thank you!!!

    We need to proliferate this tool all over. That is totally awesome.

    We can play SGs again!! WOOHOO!!!!!

    That news just made my emperor level 3-city culture Bollywood narrow win even more exciting.

    :dance: :dance:

    Arathorn
     
  17. Kylearan

    Kylearan compound eye

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2002
    Messages:
    1,538
    Location:
    Bonn, Germany
    Gyathaar, this is indeed awesome work. Reversing the save format so quickly and hacking a tool...fantastic! :goodjob: A community divide would have been terrible.
     
  18. draaibaar

    draaibaar Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 2, 2008
    Messages:
    207
    Location:
    home
    Reading all of this i realize the Tower of babel isn't in the game;)
     
  19. ThERat

    ThERat Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Messages:
    11,101
    Location:
    City of one angel
    Pre turnGiven the lack of units we have, I would go for settler, warrior, settler to at least be able to escort and fight
    at the same time.

    I will settle NE as we have a unit there to make sure our settler doesn't get ambushed.


    Turn 31 - 2760BC
    pottery is done, go for calendar, currently takes 10 turns
    though our warrior is not totally healed start to move him towards our capital to make sure
    we can use him as an escort, he spots more stuff, wine dear and sheep
    worker moves onto silver

    Turn 32 - 2720BC
    settler done, warrior is 40 shields and spear 50
    we currently make 7spt, thus 42 versus 56, it's clear we waste less with a warrior
    but the production panel tells me its 5 turns for the warrior and 7 for a spear. Sth doesn't add up here
    stick to warrior

    move both warrior and settler
    workers start to mine, takes 8 turns?

    Turn 33 - 2680BC
    settler moves, warrior heals


    Turn 34 - 2640BC
    zzz

    Turn 35 - 2600BC
    units move, workers mine


    Turn 36 - 2560BC
    since we almost reach the settle site, send warrior east to explore


    Turn 37 - 2520BC
    our second warrior is done, go for a settler, takes 8 turns
    discover food galore in the northeast, plenty of wheat
    settler reaches destination

    Turn 38 - 2480BC
    found Orleans, decide to go for a second worker, there are so many plots to improve, we better get one up
    takes currently 35 turns, but I set city on growth, hence it will grow in 4 turns

    wandering warrior spots ruins in the northeast :dance:

    Turn 39 - 2440BC
    the ruins give us



    IT Oh Caesar is not happy with us, I pretend and apologize



    Turn 40 - 2440BC
    in the southeast we meet Warsaw
    silver is connected, start with irrigation of the flood plains

    IT Warsaw and India are allies now

    Turn 41 - 2360BC
    exploring the east

    IT Great Library gets built somewhere, we get calendar


    Turn 41 - 2320BC
    Orleans has grown and worker is now down to 15 turns
    we are plenty happy at the moment but the third city will push both happiness down as well as social policy limit up

    settler will be done in 2, we should escort it with our warrior
    I would start with some military next, we have to watch out for Roma and bust some barb camps too

    we could also buy friendship with Venice for the food bonus which would allow for for better production

    as for research, going for IW makes sense in my mind

    Our land at the moment, the warrior in the east should continue to explore a bit

     

    Attached Files:

  20. Jaffa Tamarin

    Jaffa Tamarin Monkey Cult

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2001
    Messages:
    570
    This save file was created with a deluxe install with the DLC\DLC_Deluxe folder removed from the Assets directory. Can someone confirm if it can be loaded in a standard install?

    Also, how did we get to be on turn 42? How many turns are we playing?
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page