1. Firaxis celebrates the "Asian American and Pacific Islander Heritage Month", and offers a give-away of a Civ6 anthology copy (5 in total)! For all the details, please check the thread here. .
    Dismiss Notice
  2. We have selected the winners of the Old World random draw and competition. For the winning entries, please check this thread.
    Dismiss Notice

[Map] Huge Earth

Discussion in 'Humankind - Creation and Customization' started by Elhoim, Aug 17, 2021.

  1. V. Soma

    V. Soma long time civ fan

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    3,939
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Hungary
    Thanks, now I play one game with me starting in India - I will play on Empire difficulty do play role-playing a bit... (so take Asian cultures)
    I still learn the game...

    It will be interesting to see how AI colonises...
     
  2. Gedemon

    Gedemon Modder Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    10,595
    Location:
    France
    @Elhoim have you tried larger map sizes in game ?

    I now the editor load up to 203x106 (larger start to show graphical glitches with base terrain not loading on the northern hexes), but before I start working on a Giant Earth (180x94), I'd like to know if you are aware of limitations for sizes > Huge.
     
    Pfeffersack likes this.
  3. Elhoim

    Elhoim Iron Tower Studio Dev

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    2,657
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    San Isidro, Argentina.
    No, never tried it, and TBH the game visuals break quite a bit already on large maps with lots of districts. Maybe try a quick map for testing?
     
  4. Gedemon

    Gedemon Modder Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    10,595
    Location:
    France
    thanks, I'll do some testing then
     
  5. Evie

    Evie Pronounced like Eevee

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2002
    Messages:
    9,703
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Ottawa, Ontario
    Pfeffersack and Gedemon like this.
  6. The_J

    The_J Say No 2 Net Validations Administrator Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    36,223
    Location:
    DE/NL/FR
    leif erikson likes this.
  7. V. Soma

    V. Soma long time civ fan

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    3,939
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Hungary
    Here is a map of my game as in turn 137 (of 300)

    upload_2021-8-24_16-21-49.png

    Nice AI Mongolia... (Nation difficulty)
    I play as Medieval Khmer in India...

    /I started a new in Nation diff. level, Empire was too much for me as newbie/
     
    The_J likes this.
  8. Siptah

    Siptah Eternal Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2016
    Messages:
    5,487
    Location:
    Lucerne
    Poor Ghanaians...
     
  9. V. Soma

    V. Soma long time civ fan

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    3,939
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Hungary
    Yeah.. there are quite a lot of AI wars...
     
  10. The_J

    The_J Say No 2 Net Validations Administrator Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    36,223
    Location:
    DE/NL/FR
    Just checking in here to point out that the map is >1300 downloads right now ;) :goodjob:.
     
    Elhoim likes this.
  11. NoMadss

    NoMadss Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2021
    Messages:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    @Elhoim, very nice job! This definitely satisfies my craving. I know you're still working on the Huge Earth map, but I have a request. Have you thought about a Huge Europe map, with just Europe, N Africa and the middle east? Specifically, I would love to have for example 3 territories in Italy, 3 in Greece, etc.

    I literally have over 1000 hrs spent on the YnAMP - Play Europe Again map in Civ6, so I would pay cash money to get a similiarly enormous map for Humankind. Just sayin!
     
  12. Elhoim

    Elhoim Iron Tower Studio Dev

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    2,657
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    San Isidro, Argentina.
    I might work on it at some point (or maybe Gedemon will!).
     
  13. Gedemon

    Gedemon Modder Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    10,595
    Location:
    France
    not in the near future, the Giant Earth is enough for some time :D
     
    Elhoim and gunnergoz like this.
  14. V. Soma

    V. Soma long time civ fan

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    3,939
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Hungary
    OK, I have my first HK game finished - on this Earth map - Metropolis difficulty, normal (300) speed.
    Well, only one AI got to the last era with zero stars completed and won the game with ca. 6000 fame - I, well, got to mid-industrial... and finished 4th in fame (4800)...
    I was doing techs at 5-7 turns rate...

    I played as "Makeda" starting location at the NIle river - went Egyptian - A. Persian - Umay. - Umay. - Persian line

    I think I have to learn the game - will go one level higher - so AI perhaps gets to the last era - and I will try...
    EDIT: I will play slow (450) turns - as to fit more to the big map
    EDIT2: I play with latest Beta build - is that matter on gameplay...?
     
    Last edited: Aug 29, 2021
    The_J likes this.
  15. Elhoim

    Elhoim Iron Tower Studio Dev

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    2,657
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    San Isidro, Argentina.
    No, it's fine =)
     
  16. V. Soma

    V. Soma long time civ fan

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    3,939
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Hungary
    Elhoim, I cannot enter with ship into the North American West Coast coastal area reaching there from the East (Pacific Ocean):
    "Path is outside of the game area"

    Then I went a bit south, reached ca. Californian "San Diego" and independent people - and their land I can enter - so there I can go up north along the coast, but not into ocean outside of their land area...
     
  17. Elhoim

    Elhoim Iron Tower Studio Dev

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    2,657
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    San Isidro, Argentina.
    Yeah, there's a weird bug in which a territory becomes impossible to enter. It should have been to south and north pole "lines" the ones which get that status, but they don't. I'll try to fix it for the next version, but I fear it will crop up somewhere else.
     
  18. Gedemon

    Gedemon Modder Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    10,595
    Location:
    France
    SeelingCat reported that with my the first version of the Giant Earth, and it appeared it was the territory with the last index. I added a new small ocean territory bordering the south pole line so it get the last index, and it unlocked the one that was previously locked.
     
  19. Elhoim

    Elhoim Iron Tower Studio Dev

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    2,657
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    San Isidro, Argentina.
    In my case it happens almost randomly, I had one last night in another map that wasn't the last index...
     
  20. V. Soma

    V. Soma long time civ fan

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    3,939
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Hungary
    I finished my second game...

    On Nation level - I finished 4th, with better fame: 6542 - Got into late Industrial era in techs, into Contemporary Era with zero stars
    AI Beowulf won with 8715 fame, Cont. Era 3 stars...

    One Ai had much more science than the rest and me - I think Wainong Sari was kind of near the end of the tree (?)
    AI had not much military alive at the end - there were 3-4 AI wars in the game, not against me...
    As money/turn, Arjuna had 1000/turn at the end... that was way more than the average lot
    My industry was best, but not really high with ca. 2500 (6 cities), Ai had about 2000 as general

    AI did well with colonization... got to all continents (I had North America, except Alaska)

    Next I will go one level further up, same starting position, 450 turns - I still have to be better...
     

Share This Page