1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

MGE diplomacy (AI attitude) patch

Discussion in 'Civ2 - Game of the Month' started by Ali Ardavan, Aug 17, 2016.

  1. Ali Ardavan

    Ali Ardavan Mathematician Moderator Civ2 GOTM Staff

    Joined:
    May 29, 2002
    Messages:
    2,930
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    It is well known that the MGE version of Civ2 ruined the diplomacy aspect of the game by making the AI have the most negative attitude possible towards you after the conclusion of every transaction.

    Patches have been developed to revert the diplomacy of MGE back to that of the classic. Here are the ones I found searching the forums:
    http://forums.civfanatics.com/showthread.php?t=154251
    http://patchesgames.blogspot.fr/2009/06/civilization-2-mge-ai-no-hostility.html
    http://forums.civfanatics.com/showpost.php?p=12855146&postcount=6
    http://forums.civfanatics.com/showthread.php?t=570939
    http://forums.civfanatics.com/showpost.php?p=9738897&postcount=26

    (not sure if all of the above are unique; in fact they likely are not.)

    Those who are using the patch, please tell us which one you are using and whether it has any side effects.

    For example Jokemaster has reported a problem using the find city function with the first patch mentioned above: http://forums.civfanatics.com/showpost.php?p=14227860&postcount=7

    Jokemaster, could you please provide full details of your observation regarding the problem here for reference?

    Catalin72 mentioned that near the bottom of the thread where the fist patch above is presented, Duke of Marlbrough has said that: "Any 'unoffical' patches are not allowed for use during GOTM play". What is up with that? Is there an official patch? I did find this referred to as an official patch but not sure if it solves the AI attitude problem:
    http://forums.civfanatics.com/downloads.php?do=file&id=52
     
  2. catalin72

    catalin72 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    Messages:
    462
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Romania
    In conclusion,diplomacy patches can be used in GOTM ?
     
  3. Jokemaster

    Jokemaster Insert something here

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Messages:
    524
    For me, the attitude.exe patch didn't work, so instead I used the first patch to DL an already-patched EXE.
    Whenever I try to use Find City, the difficulty level resets to `<nil> with essentially uncontrollable unrest and AI on massive steroids. Clean otherwise, but FC is borked.
    Also worth mentioning is that my personal EXE can sometimes freeze when displaying heavy enemy troop movements. It recovers, but I miss movements and need to swap to non-patched.

    The diplomacy patch is allowed and encouraged to use in GOTM's. Only problem is that getting people to declare war to you in the first 200 turns is a little bit tricky. (After 200 turns/starting the space race, they'll gang up on you regardless of version if you're ahead, so no biggie.) Personnally recommend keeping two different EXES since sometimes you'll need non-patched for whatever reason.
     
  4. Ali Ardavan

    Ali Ardavan Mathematician Moderator Civ2 GOTM Staff

    Joined:
    May 29, 2002
    Messages:
    2,930
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    Yes, as long as all they do is revert diplomacy back to classic.
     

Share This Page