1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

[MOD] Phoenix

Discussion in 'Civ4Col - Mods and Files' started by fmiracle, Oct 12, 2008.

  1. fmiracle

    fmiracle Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2008
    Messages:
    117
    First revision of my rebalancing mod.

    - REF now is much bigger at start of game and grow linear in game, not depending on Liberty Bells at all. REF grow depends only on time, King's attitude and difficulty level. REF will not increase during WoI
    - Incorporated my CustomHouse mod (http://forums.civfanatics.com/showthread.php?t=293228)
    - Education speed in your cities is stable at not increased over time, but initially is slower then in original game

    Next changes I intended to do:
    - make tax increase speed slower on Epic and marathon games
    - make tax increases depending on total traded gold, not amount of goods (right now high-priced goods have double benefit)

    And there are many other things I wish to implement after it :)

    I will be gratefulll for any feedback, espetially gameplay experience and balance suggestions.

    Mod avalible for download at http://forums.civfanatics.com/downloads.php?do=file&id=10926

    Change list:

    v 1.05
    Incorporated many changes from the great Dale/Snoopy PatchMod (http://forums.civfanatics.com/showthread.php?t=293253):
    * FIX: King will not demand gold during WoI
    * FIX: King will not rise tax during WoI
    * FIX: Allow education of mutiple students in single turn
    * FIX: show info about immediate peace with natives for FF who 'strength relatives with natives'
    * FIX: regenerate map does not reset REF
    * FIX: Terrain double movement from promotions does not work (eg: Swamp Fox II doesn't apply to marsh even though it is set to).
    * FIX: Europe sea zone now removed from map when plot erased (bug in Map Regeneration where a land tile could become a europe tile).
    * FIX: Units don't unstack when entering native training (first colonist out can't move till second complete bug).
    * FIX: Ships don't unstack when going to/from Europe (first ship returning can't move till second returns bug, and ship stuck in Europe bug).
    * FIX: Defensive bonus for armed natives reversed as matched to unarmed natives (mounted/unmounted reversed).
    * FIX: AI does not use King's transports after turn 90 for treasures, even if it still doesn't have a galleon.
    * FIX: AI does not consider treasure on other continents (thus doesn't load them and remove them to Europe).
    * FIX: incorrect defencive bonuse for armed braves and mounted braves
    * ADD: different berth for units (treasure has six, so can be transported only by galleon)
    * IMPROVE: AI now is more active buid up army both for ingame wars and WoI.
    * IMPROVE: Randomized starting locations for players and increased distances
    * IMPROVE: In first 20 turns it's impossible to start war.
    * IMPROVE: Colonist can be added to city even with not full moves.
    * IMPROVE: Natives only change desired good when supplied with that good (previously was any good would reset desired good).
    * IMPROVE: Converted natives can't learn new professions.
     
  2. Southern Hunter

    Southern Hunter Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    23
    Sounds really good! Will give it a go soon.

    Cheers
     
  3. brisos

    brisos Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    22
    Any plans on making this compatible with other mods out there? Particularly Origins?
     
  4. fmiracle

    fmiracle Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2008
    Messages:
    117
    I did not fully understand what do you mean 'compatible'. I see no way to make mods compatible if they both using same files.
    It's possible to include one mod into another. And I will be happy to include (entirely or partially) other good mods, if it's authors will not to object.

    At first I wish integrate some changes from Dale/snoopy 'unofficial patch' - such as improved european strength, starting locations and so on. If they agree with it.

    Then I wish to check Origins, it's descriptions looks very nice. I downloaded it but still have no time to play it :(
     
  5. Surrational

    Surrational Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    Messages:
    15
    This is the mod I am looking for. Combined with the bugfix patch I think this will let me play the game again.
     
  6. fmiracle

    fmiracle Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2008
    Messages:
    117
    With Dale's permission I incorporated many fixes from PatchMod 1.04 into Phoenix 1.05.
     
  7. Surrational

    Surrational Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    Messages:
    15
    This is great. Thanks so much.
     
  8. Grimz101

    Grimz101 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Messages:
    972
    Location:
    London, England
    Just posting to say
    its really appreciated
    you taking the time to mod :D
     
  9. Bisonte

    Bisonte Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Messages:
    31
    Great job.

    I made some translations to german....

    I post only your and the german part ;)

    CIV4GameText_Colonization_Objects.xml

    Code:
    	<TEXT>
    		<Tag>TXT_KEY_BUILDING_CUSTOM_HOUSE</Tag>
    		<English>Custom House</English>
    		<German>Zollhaus</German>
    	</TEXT>
    
    CIV4GameText_Colonization_Phoenix.xml

    Code:
    <Civ4GameText xmlns="http://www.firaxis.com">
    	<TEXT>
    		<Tag>TXT_KEY_FORCE_START_PEACE</Tag>
    		<English>You cannot declare war within the first 20 turns of the game.</English>
    		<German>Sie können nicht in den ersten 20 Runden jemandem den Krieg erklären.</German>
    	</TEXT>
    	<TEXT>
    		<Tag>AI_DIPLO_FORCE_START_PEACE</Tag>
    		<English>You overstep your authority attempting to declare war on another European nation!</English>
    		<German>Es übersteigt ihre Autorität, einer europäischen Nation den Krieg zu erklären !</German>
    	</TEXT>
    	<TEXT>
    		<Tag>AI_DIPLOCOMMENT_FORCE_START_PEACE</Tag>
    		<English>blah</English>
    		<German>Blablupp</German>
    	</TEXT>
    </Civ4GameText>
    
    CIV4GameText_Colonization_Strategy.xml

    Code:
    	<TEXT>
    		<Tag>TXT_KEY_BUILDING_CUSTOM_HOUSE_STRATEGY</Tag>
    		<English>The [COLOR_BUILDING_TEXT]Custom House[COLOR_REVERT] allow your settlement to sell exceed of goods to Europe diretcly, rather than those goods simply going to waste. Even boycotted goods will be sold, but at lower price.</English>
    		<German>Das [COLOR_BUILDING_TEXT]Zollhaus[COLOR_REVERT] ermöglicht Ihrer Siedlung, ihre Waren direkt nach Europa zu verkaufen. Boykottierte Waren werden zu einem geringerem Preis auf dem Schwarzmarkt verkauft.</German>
    	</TEXT>
    A question to the Forum: Why "& # 228" without spaces changed into the letter in a code tag ???
     
  10. fmiracle

    fmiracle Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2008
    Messages:
    117
    Thanks a lot! :)
     
  11. fmiracle

    fmiracle Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2008
    Messages:
    117
    Thanks :)

    Nice! I'll include it in the next version. :)

    If you can send me 'correct' version with unprocessed & # symbols - write be PM to send through email.
     
  12. Bisonte

    Bisonte Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Messages:
    31
    ah ok. i'll do so

    Edit: u have a pm ;)
     
  13. Surrational

    Surrational Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    Messages:
    15
    I've been playing the mod for about 100 turns. I think I may have discovered a bug. I have some free colonists in a college and they all appear to be stuck at 0 turns left. I haven't seen the dialog about new education choices. Am I missing anything?
     
  14. Bisonte

    Bisonte Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Messages:
    31
    I've found it also... And i have enough money to buy them... and another thing.
    The price of a student per example a carpenter.. is between 300 and 900 Gold...
    each city another price....
     
  15. fmiracle

    fmiracle Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2008
    Messages:
    117
    Can you send me a save of game to check it?
     
  16. fmiracle

    fmiracle Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2008
    Messages:
    117
    For stuck colonists - can you send me a save game?

    For incorrect prices - yes, I've seen it, but still checking out. As I remember, I've seen it sometimes in unmodded version too.
     
  17. Bisonte

    Bisonte Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Messages:
    31
    Yes in unmodded, but only if I put the specialist to the citiy "after" the learning process beguns...

    and now its always... a woodcutter is much more expensive than in europe...
    Normally it costs nothing.

    Äh savegame is light difficult.... I mod your MOD a little ;) but this is not the fault... with your customhouseMod are my custom changes without a bug...

    I try a game without my modifications , and then i send u a savegame... but it takes a while
     
  18. Bisonte

    Bisonte Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Messages:
    31
    Uah I forgot a very strange one...

    I start a new game...
    I choose the leader...
    i make my first turn... and uh... someone has won the game.
    Random I think... sometimes I win and sometimes the Spanish...
    very strange in the second turn.... :D
     
  19. fmiracle

    fmiracle Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2008
    Messages:
    117
    I've seen it once (King of France won Indepndence Victory, funny), but didn't understand yet what caused it. At next new game all was nice through...
     
  20. Bisonte

    Bisonte Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Messages:
    31
    Right. If I close the whole game and start it again, it's normal again...
    But if I only quit the game and go back to mainmenu to start a new ... its the same ;)
     

Share This Page