1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

[MODMOD] Ideas, requests, proposals

Discussion in 'Modmods, add-ons and scenarios' started by Zeta Nexus, Jan 14, 2016.

  1. aggri1

    aggri1 Prince

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    399
    At the moment, we have a fixed borders mechanism whereby I can claim a tile on which I've placed a unit. I'd like to expand this concept: I'd like to see the ability to arbitrarily draw one's desired borders. Then we could have regions which are claimed by two (or more) Civs, and this would lead to diplomatic tensions. You might need new associated diplomacy options.

    If you make a wild claim for land which is very far from your city and near to someone else's, you probably won't be taken seriously (Spratleys?). The other Civ could claim the land themselves and if they're close enough to use it they could. You could protest diplomatically, send military units, or relinquish your claim.

    Would add a whole new dimension to the game.

    If that's too ambitious, perhaps we just make it such that removing your unit from a claimed tile doesn't relinquish the claim. Would need to teach the AI to claim land appropriately I guess.
     
  2. Zeta Nexus

    Zeta Nexus Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Messages:
    4,032
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    In a constant brainstorm...
    Resource consumption:
    Eureka moments:
    Yeah! That would be cool and much (maybe all) of it could be done via events, but...
    That would require hundreds of events which would mean a LOT of work for little to gain, I guess no modder would ever volunteer for that. It could also lead to significant slowdowns I think.
    Other (and better) solution
     
  3. Camber

    Camber Resident Family Therapist

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2003
    Messages:
    522
    Location:
    The Great Beyond
    I'm intrigued by the Machu Picchu wonder (when completed, it places a unique improvement, called Machu Picchu, on a peak near the city). Would you be interested in creating more unique wonder-built improvements like that?

    2nd idea is religious corporations. It seems to me that a lot of modern religions (Scientology, Mormonism come immediately to mind) are run like corporations. Just as you have corporations in the game that are generic and don't necessarily represent a specific real-world corp (with the exception of MallWart), perhaps in the modern era you could also found some religious corporations with those pretty useless Great Prophets. They could spread the same as other corporations (guys in suits that spread the word) and the money they collect is the members' contributions/tithes.

    Since I'm more familiar with Mormonism (born & raised Mormon), I'd give them the following:
    +culture per resource (marble, stone, gold, silk, cotton, dye)
    Corp building would be a Mormon temple, which would provide +culture for the above resources (they are used to build Mormon temples) and also a health bonus.

    Where it could get really fun/interesting though is the creation of fictional religions (Rastafarian Banana Eaters? Children of Gaia? Octopus Overlords?), or even secret organizations (Illuminati, Mafia, Hydra). Would you like to see a drug cartel or other vice-focused corporation that consumes resources like Hemp, Wine, Tobacco, Alcohol, and Gold?
     
  4. Zeta Nexus

    Zeta Nexus Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Messages:
    4,032
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    In a constant brainstorm...
    I have something like that in mind...
    I don't like Machu Picchu being a one-shot improvement. So the idea is basically this:
    Renaming the improvement to Sacred Place. Would provide only :commerce: and can also be built by a Great Prophet (consuming the unit of course).
    From the Renaissance, Industrial or Modern era it would upgrade to Landmark, providing more :commerce: and can be built by a Great Engineer and/or G.Artist.
    I won't do that for sure.
    1) I really don't think it's a good idea to mix up religion and corporation mechanisms. It's not that I don't see the sense behind the idea but it wouldn't work that well in the game.
    2) I am planning to add more religions to the game in my modmod but only ancient ones (Shamanism, Druidism, Tengri, etc). I don't want to split Christendom to sub-religions - I don't want to see it split to Catholicism, Protestantism and Ortodox either.
    I'd like to see maffia in the game but not as a corporation but as part of crime mechanism.
     
  5. Phylhom

    Phylhom King

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2015
    Messages:
    856
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Brasília, Brazil
    I always thought the map completely filled by roads (and its upgrades) an unreal thing.
    I was thinking it would be nice a maintenance cost by turn to the roads (and its upgrades). Thus, it would be necessary planning to trace the routes (due to economics implications, the player only would trace routes to link cities to another cities, to resouces, forts, and strategic points on the map).
    That situation would bring a new dimension to the management of the empire and to the geopolitical strategies.
    I don't know if this change is possible, but it would be very nice.
     
  6. 45°38'N-13°47'E

    45°38'N-13°47'E Deity

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,972
    Location:
    Just wonder...
    It's possible and it's been proposed before. It's also been discarded because the hard part is teaching AI how to use this feature.
     
    MoogleEmpMog likes this.
  7. Zeta Nexus

    Zeta Nexus Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Messages:
    4,032
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    In a constant brainstorm...
    Really? How? Xml, python or dll?
    Just curious.
     
  8. Phylhom

    Phylhom King

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2015
    Messages:
    856
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Brasília, Brazil
    Couldn't it be an option in the options menu? It would make possible to set that option to multiplayer game for example. I am convinced it would be a very nice thing. But, on the other hand, I can imagine that the AI wouldn't known how to use it.
     
  9. 45°38'N-13°47'E

    45°38'N-13°47'E Deity

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,972
    Location:
    Just wonder...
    Dll and XML, but definitely too complex to make AI fully aware of it. Dll is the only way to teach AI how to behave but besides being maybe beyond my ability (and maybe not), I would not add a feature that could cripple AI if not coded properly. And I'm reluctant on working on routes given the problems we had in the past with them.
     
    MoogleEmpMog likes this.
  10. JackH4L

    JackH4L Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Gender:
    Male
    Hello! Sorry for my English btw. I would just like to request if you could add a "Realism Invictus" terrain texture set to the mod. I'm a fan of realism invictus till I found this mod. It gives me lots of options and stuff. But, I still like the terrain RI offers and would like it to be added to RAND. I hope this is possible. I don't hate the current terrain options, I'm just more "into" the RI terrain. Thanks!
     
  11. IPEX-731BA5DD06

    IPEX-731BA5DD06 Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2005
    Messages:
    2,742
    Location:
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
  12. 45°38'N-13°47'E

    45°38'N-13°47'E Deity

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,972
    Location:
    Just wonder...
    Using the launcher you can choose between 4-5 different sets of terrain textures. Have you tried them all? There's not just the default one.
     
  13. JackH4L

    JackH4L Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Gender:
    Male
    Yes, I tried them all, they aren't bad. But I'm used to the Realism Invictus terrain, and would like to ask if it's possible to add to the current available texture sets.
     
  14. Kepling

    Kepling Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2015
    Messages:
    14
    I would like to see a Min_City_Range mod that makes it circular rather than square. I remember finding a mod years ago that did this, but I am unable to find the thread again.

    Min_City_Range=2
    ooooooo
    oxxxxxo
    oxxxxxo
    oxxCxxo
    oxxxxxo
    oxxxxxo
    ooooooo

    Min_City_Range=3
    xxxxxxx
    xxxxxxx
    xxxxxxx
    xxxCxxx
    xxxxxxx
    xxxxxxx
    xxxxxxx

    Circle 1
    oxxxxxo
    xxxxxxx
    xxxxxxx
    xxxCxxx
    xxxxxxx
    xxxxxxx
    oxxxxxo

    Circle 2
    ooxxxoo
    oxxxxxo
    xxxxxxx
    xxxCxxx
    xxxxxxx
    oxxxxxo
    ooxxxoo
     
  15. Zeta Nexus

    Zeta Nexus Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Messages:
    4,032
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    In a constant brainstorm...
    That's exactly how the mod works when a city reaches it's 3rd ring.
     
  16. Kepling

    Kepling Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2015
    Messages:
    14
    Sorry, I should have been more specific. I was talking about Min_City_Range in GlobalDefines.xml and how it prevents building cities in that range. Normally it has a square shape and I would like to see it have a circular shape.
     
  17. evmcmunn

    evmcmunn Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2015
    Messages:
    53
    I think this is the right place to post a suggestion for the mod, if not Im sorry, but with regard to the "larger cities" option, I think you might want to consider, if its somehow possible to increase the minimum distance between city settlement, or maybe put an additional option in there to increase it by one tile, cause the AI loves spamming cities and I have had to constantly eradicate their cities in order to utilize the larger cities effect...just a thought. Oh, since Im here, I tried making a mod of my own that added a bunch of repeatable techs to the game(it sortof worked, but Im not that skilled at modding), so that would be a special request of mine, I know alot of people would probably see it as game breaking but I personally like the idea, at least at the end of the game.

    I just looked at my mod components and remembered that yes, it did work, i thought it was buggy cuz the tech cost went up after you researched a tech, but that happens in the game normally so...
    I dont know if it is compatible with the new version really cuz I made it like a year ago and there have been several changes since then. But that is my suggestion or whatever for you to add into the "vanilla" RoM package, because ever since I saw the first repeating future tech in civ 2 I believe it was, I wondered when they would get the idea to expand on that concept.
     
  18. Socrat

    Socrat Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    I have a suggestion which I m tied with from some time, about Rise of Mankind - A new dawn. the following:
    I believe there is a further thing alone that would be dramatic, and it is about civs getting into the match.

    I think a civ which spawns after a revolution to be culturally tied with the motherland, from which it detaches, and that is perfectly into this mind.
    The only thing left, to beabout barbarian-civs spawning: I ask if it would be possible to add not a random civ, so that to avoid, a tipically later era civ spawning in ancient age.
    example given, to avoid I ve got G Washington or Bismark civs appearing in bronze age at Alexander, or Boudicca place.

    Having seen these Mod, I figure out it wouldn t be tecnichally unpassable: it would request only to "lock" civs - leaders, from spawning before a presetted age, determined for each civ-leader. So that, example given, you have got Byzantium appearing not before iron age, or England not before Medieval age,

    and so to avoid Germany and USA not before modern age spawning from barbarian, in ancient times. Thank You for your reading
     
  19. Zeta Nexus

    Zeta Nexus Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Messages:
    4,032
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    In a constant brainstorm...
    I have such an idea on my mind: Instead of a single Future tech at the and of the tech tree I would add several ones. Something like in Master of Orion 2: when everything is researched you still have things to research: Future Economy (+5%:commerce: ), Future Education (+5%:science: ), Future Healthcare (+1:health: ), etc...

    It's certainly not possible as a modmod, not sure if it is possible in the main mod either, though IIRC 45 promised to look into this matter some time ago.
     
  20. evmcmunn

    evmcmunn Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2015
    Messages:
    53
    ya i was also just looking into remaking my mod for the current version and wanted to add a tech for beefing up the specialists if that is possible, techspecialistyieldchange???

    I dont know if that is in there or not though, i have techs that add a flat gold, research or espionage bonus to buildings. Also lots of improvement bonuses, but that was as far as I got.
     

Share This Page