1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Dismiss Notice
  6. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

Multiplayer Crashes After Certain Number of Turns

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Technical Support' started by Vincour, Apr 22, 2012.

  1. Vincour

    Vincour A Minor Character Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    Messages:
    8,789
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest
    Hey, so, got Civ IV Complete on Steam the other day. I am trying to play online with someone else that has the same game, on Steam, so it isn't incompatibility.

    If I host the game in a mod, it will crash every 10 turns. On the dot. For both of us, it says the other person quit.

    If I host the game normally, it will crash every 15 turns. On the dot. For both of us, it says the other person quit.

    If he hosts the game normally, it will crash every 30 turns. On the dot. For both of us, it says the other person quit.

    All ports are forwarded (not that it really applies to this case), and both our systems can run the game fine, and there are no crashes in single player. I never had this problem whenever I played with the normal retail version years ago online but with this version it crashes incessantly.

    We tried using LAN via Hamachi to see if that changes anything but it does not.

    Any ideas?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Vincour

    Vincour A Minor Character Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    Messages:
    8,789
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest
    I would have expected the largest civ forum on the internet would have some semblance of a tech expert.
     
  3. kiwitt

    kiwitt Road to War Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Messages:
    5,515
    Location:
    Auckland, NZ (GMT+12)
    Have you tried making sure that the Steam directory is fully read-write for all uses - i.e. admin access level., because Windows Vista/7 made significant changes to permissions. (see my thread - http://forums.civfanatics.com/showthread.php?t=408537)

    I think the majority of people on this forum with Civ IV are people who have the CD/DVD versions. Steam support is limited as best for Civ IV.
     
  4. Vincour

    Vincour A Minor Character Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    Messages:
    8,789
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest
    I use an admin account and everything is automatically set to give me full permissions. Running it in administrator mode changes nothing, as well.

    As I said, the game runs perfectly fine, it just loses connection at a certain turn depending on the circumstances.
     
  5. Crispy007

    Crispy007 Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Messages:
    35
    Location:
    dry dusty alberta
    Try playing by direct IP, my friends and I have found this way to be best.
     

Share This Page