Caledorn: Ugh. I don't know how to properly explain to HBHR that prewar moves also is considered double moves if you gain an advantage by doing it
Изпратено в 17:35, събота
Caledorn: He seems completely oblivious to this judging by how he has written his post..
Изпратено в 17:35, събота
2metraninja: I am reading now the explanations
but is there at all a war declared?
Caledorn: No. But I'm sure you are in definite agreement that if I intend to declare war on you on two turns and then double move my forces into position, you would be less than amused
Even if the war isn't declared until after my forces are in position
2metraninja: for me this is normal tactical out-playing and not a double- move
someone want the first time of the timer? well, he gets more RL time and he gets that
time=part
Изпратено в 19:43, събота
Caledorn: Then our opinions differ. I don't see it as a tactical move at all - I see it as a "be a jerk" move, playing timer games to get advantages that would be impossible in a successive turn game. But of course differing opinions on the matter is not a sin, so I am not trying to convince you that your opinion is wrong. Only that we see it very differently.
I have to make an admin judgment based on my opinion though, unless a majority of the players disagree. Which I left room for by not making a reload before everyone gets their say in the matter
��
2metraninja: of course you have all the power to make the admin judgement, I am saying my own opinion

Изпратено в 19:46, събота
2metraninja: in fact, what REM is saying about him losing a turn of production of units is not correct
he can well wait till the end of the turn and play twice on his side too if he thinks HBHR is going to declare him a war
I did that a lot of times and I consider it normal behavior
Caledorn: No, that is correct, and I am aware of that.
The production part that is. Not the other

2metraninja: so REM is also free to claim the first half of the timer if he wants
it is the attacker's (declarer of war) responcibility to not double-move
Caledorn: You really shouldn't do that in any of the RB Pitbosses though. You'd get some heavy comments in your lurker thread.. I guess I am very much influenced by the "Do not be a jerk" rule from RB in how I view my games. I even attempt to follow turn order in peacetime.
2metraninja: I of course also understand the reason behind "this is impossible in consequtive turns as this game is intended to be played", but then, who decides who gets to move first and in the example with settlers race settle the spot?
with consequtive turns it is clear - whoever is up in the players list, he plays first
Caledorn: Feel free to argue this in the thread though! I haven't made a reload yet, so there is still time to present arguments for not doing a reload. If HBHR and REM agrees with these points, then a reload won't be needed. ☺
2metraninja: it is like playing with the white figures in chess
Caledorn: The turn order dictates, just as in war..
2metraninja: but there this is serious consideration and they make all efforts that not one player plays always with the white figures
ok, but when the turn timer is set?
Caledorn: Any move that gives one part an unfair advantage by abusing the timer/simultaneous turns are double moves
2metraninja: on the first entering on turn 1?
Caledorn: No, players are free to move around in the turn order whenever they feel like it as long as they don't abuse it by eg double moving a settler ☺
2metraninja: then I would say it is unfair to those being in different time zones than the host, because they have worse chances of entering first when the game goes alive
this is what I try to say. what consists of "abusing"
Caledorn: No, that's not correct, as the turn flips in completely various times
2metraninja: what give one player right he to consider himself rightful owner of this still unsettled land?
because he played first the previous turn?
Caledorn: Sometimes in the middle of the night here, other times in the middle of the day.
2metraninja: ok, lets look at hypothetical situation
Caledorn: No. If he played first the previous turn, he gets to play first time the next turn too, if there is a race condition involved. If no race condition it does not matter.
2metraninja: it is turn 3 of the game, players are playing with start in modern era, so they already have settlers and they play on overcrowded map
but how is determined a "race" exists?
lets follow my short example
the game starts, turn 1
REM and HBHR are neighbors
they both have settlers
between them there is space for 1 settler
to settle
Caledorn: It's very simple. Never double move a settler in an area where there exists potential for a race.
2metraninja: they both intend to move their settlers on the same obvious spot, but they dont see each-other yet
Caledorn: Double move workers etc is fine. Or in an area where it's uncontested. If you happen on an opponents settler in an uncontested area after a double move, then you can freely claim innocence.
2metraninja: but once one of them moves on the settling spot, the other will see his settler
now what? because one of them had the luck or more free time to login in to the game first, the other must give up the settling spot?
Caledorn: Again : never double move a settler in an obvious contested area. It's really that simple. ☺
2metraninja: I ask again - when a race (or potential war preparation moves) are starting and when the turn order is set?
so you say the one who have luck to enter the game first and bring his settler in the spot have all rights on this spot?
Caledorn: For war, as soon as you know you intend to declare war within a few turns, it is upon your honour to restrict yourself and follow turn order. That is gentleman's honour and code.
No, not if that player played first in the previous turnS<--- (that S is critical here)
2metraninja: all of the previous turns?
5?
Caledorn: If that player only happened to play first in the previous turn, he would already have double moved the other player.
2metraninja: 10?
what if they switched playing first?
Caledorn: 5-10 is a good limit
If they did several turns ago, no problem
If they did willfully, no problem
2metraninja:

and what if they played like REM-REM-HBHR-HBHR-REM-REM-HBHR-HBHR-REM-REM
Caledorn: This is about gentleman's honour
2metraninja: and that last REM is REM moving the settler in place?
I know honor
but honor means not to give up when there is not clear definition
Caledorn: Then I would favour HBHR as they were both double moving one another on a regular basis, so neither could claim anything ☺
2metraninja: if there can be clear definition, I abide by the rules
if no, I dont think it is much gentlemanry to just give up
and? can you tell how HBHR-REM turns were in the last 10 turns?
or 5?
why you judge on the last 3 turns?
all I am saying is that it is not clear how the turn order is
and it is not right to judge on the last 2 turns
"he double- moved"
this means the other guy doublemoved the previous turn
Caledorn: With the new tools in the RB Mod, which are also available for an unmodded game, I could tell what happened 200 turns ago. But without that I have to rely on the limits of Civstats, and the players word. If I cannot reach a clear consensus based on that I have to ignore the request and ask the players to move on.
Изпратено в 20:04, събота
2metraninja: you know that if no one misses turns, for one to double-move, this means the other double-moved the previous turn, or he can double-move this turn?
no, it is about principle
I had this arguments in RB
Caledorn: No. That's not correct. If I end turn and play right away, I am double moving.
2metraninja: "but he double-moves with settlers"
ok, if the last 2 turns the turn order was REM-HBHR-HBHR, when was HBHR playing the turn before?
Caledorn: Yeah, and on RB double moving a settler in an obvious race would incur lurker penalties
2metraninja: what if REM played twice before this?
Изпратено в 20:07, събота
Caledorn: Like I said earlier, if both players have no established turn order at all it gets difficult. So the bottom line is to just not double move settlers. As long as everyone follows that rule, or whatever we should call it, noone will ever be upset about it either.
2metraninja:

I am making a discussion. when I tried to have discussion about this "peace-time double-moves" and ways to prevent this, there were RBers who refused to listen to reasons and proposed outright stupid solutions as that no one moves settler 10 hours after his last login
which "last login" also depends on time availability, which immediately goes to favoring the ones with more free time
which is plain wrong
I dont really care what happens in this case, for me important the principle
for me "whoever played first in the previous turn have the right to play first in the next" is plain nonsense
because this "he played first in the previous turn" depended on time availability
and this cannot be traced to turn 1
and even if it can be traced
who gets to play first in turn 1 is also determined by time availibility
Caledorn: A turn order cannot be based all the way back to turn one.
2metraninja: exactly
so when exactly is set the turn order
Caledorn: It has to have some kind of sensible way to figure out.
2metraninja: so someone can "double move"
Caledorn: That is simple to answer: the players themselves
BGN and I am in a war in PB18. We modified the turn order in PMs
2metraninja: how is someone supposed to not double- move settlers? always play first in the timer ?
Caledorn: No. By not moving them 4 moves successively.
2metraninja: agreeing the turn order is 100% fine, I did that a lot of times, but it is not like crying "I was doublemoved" when there is no war at all
Caledorn: Allow your opponent players the time to move their settler 2 too, before you move your additional 2 moves.
2metraninja: opponents?
you mean all of the players on the map?
or just neighbors?
Caledorn: No. Your obvious neighbours/opponents
2metraninja: or just neighbor in that direction?
how is "obvious" decided?
Caledorn: It's about making moves sensibly
On RB, through the lurkers, if the players are unable to figure it out themselves. That's why they have lurkerbased games.
2metraninja: when it comes to calling "sensibility" to decide a game ruling, for me it is clear there is no clear rule
Caledorn: There is. Don't move a settler 4 moves in a row without allowing the person you are moving against the opportunity to move first. It's quite sensible, and makes the game more fair
2metraninja: I am 100% OK with a judge judging on his feelings
Изпратено в 20:17, събота
2metraninja: even if I dont move 4 times, this means that whoever happen to play eralier in the timer, he is guaranteed to have advantage over me?
why is that?
what gives him the right to settle before me?
Caledorn: No? How can you say that? If all players adhere to this everyone is on equal footing..
2metraninja: no
example
2 players
they both produce settlers in border cities
there is a road
or no road - does not matter
but the city can be settled on the second turn
so
on the beginning of turn X, both settlers are born right?
following "dont move 4 moves your settler against neighbor" who will settle the city?
Caledorn: if both players have adhered to a turn order from the beginning in that case, then the turn order decides who gets to settle. if neither player has adhered to a turn order, and they have played haphazardly, it becomes a borderline decision
2metraninja: but how it is possible to adhere to turn order with all 4-5 neighbors?
I would never ever agree to that
Caledorn: you are obviously not going to be in a settler race with 4-5 neighbours

2metraninja: turn order with 4 neighbors, which on their side have 4 neighbors to adhere to turn order is impossible
Caledorn: if that ever happens it would be one of those Terry Pratchett one in a million chance
2metraninja: what if it is toroidal map and the neighbors of my neighbors are also my neighbors?
Caledorn: at most, you could be in a race with two of them
2metraninja: no, no, it is the principle
Caledorn: you are talking about so hypothetical situations that they have never happened
2metraninja: you cant follow "peace-time turn order"
Caledorn: I am not interested in ruling by hypotheticals. I am interested by ruling in situations that are real.
2metraninja: no, just ruling would be following principles
Caledorn: if we follow your line of hypotheticals you could reduce all the rules of the game to a shamble, because you can always find a hypothetical situation that makes the established rules look silly
2metraninja: if you cant make principle which to be worded and thus people can follow it, then it is judging by inner feeling
Caledorn: there's always at least 3 what if's that challenge established rules in simultaneous turns
2metraninja: which is 100% OK
Caledorn: the thing is .. double moving settlers has happened in RB's past too
2metraninja: no, for me, sensible rule is "do not double-move in war or the turn before declaring it"
Caledorn: eventually they realised that double moving settlers created unfair situations, and a lot of bad blood that was completely unneeded
2metraninja: here is firm border
Caledorn: that is also okay - but I disagree
2metraninja: "the turn before war is declared"
100% unbreakable
Caledorn: the sensible thing to do is to stop double moving the turn you realise that "I intend to declare war on neighbour X very soon"
and keep a strict turn order from there on until after the war is done
and that is also a clearly worded rule, with no ambiguations
aka a firm border
it leaves a lot more trust in the hand of the players too
because it means that it is up to the players themselves to decide if they want to follow that code of honour or not
2metraninja: I am tired of explaining that there cant be such thing as "peace-time double-move" because there is no "peace-time playing order" at all. if someone tells me he is following a turn order with ALL of his neighbors since the turn he realised he is neighbor with them, then I might say: OK, dont ing double-move" and give it to the chance that this player played before given player the turn they met. which is also a matter of chance, but well
Caledorn: limiting it to the final turn before war declaration is a rule that will cause bad blood between players
part of the reasoning behind rules like this is to avoid any potential for conflict
to avoid players starting to dislike one another
2metraninja:

I intend to declare war to each and everyone in this game if this suits me. does this forces me to stick to turn order with everyone?
Caledorn: no - you are twisting my words now
of course you do
2metraninja: ruling WILL cause bad blood
Caledorn: that's the point of civ
yes, but the bad blood is against me
and I have no problems with that
2metraninja: just ruling by one way or other, you will make sad and angry different players
Caledorn: that's why I accept to be admin
2metraninja: this is what I am trying to say
that is why there must be rules which can be defined
Caledorn: it is also why RB's system is far better than the system of a game admin, because the rulings are made by a lot of people who are not playing the game and who have observed both sides
2metraninja: because when there are defined rules, the admin have easier time
Caledorn: if you wish, I can clearly define these rules
2metraninja: he say: this is the rule, I look at the situation and say who broke the rule
yes, all this discussion is about rules
Caledorn: the problem is, there is no rules defined for the CFC 2014 Pitboss, so I am left with ruling based on my own preferences
2metraninja: not about how this particular case will be judged
no. there ARE rules
Caledorn:
Caledorn:
7. Dont be a jerk.
2metraninja: I wrote what consist of double-move in the opening post before the game begin
Caledorn: you included that
that is the foundation of the RB rules
2metraninja: 7. comes to describe what is missed
Caledorn: double moving someone you will declare war on in two times = being a jerk
two turns - sorry

2metraninja: but in the case there is a clearly written with examples rule about double-moving, this cannot apply
Caledorn: oh, but the rules only include "war double moves"
they say absolutely nothing about out of war double moves
2metraninja: but he gives him time to double- move him back too
this is rule
Caledorn: they are not mentioned in any way
2metraninja: I specified also there are no "peace-time double moves" because they cant be judged easily
Изпратено в 20:33, събота
2metraninja: plus, the settler race is different case, because it ends with the settling of the city, while the current case does not ends with declaring a war
Caledorn: your rules state nothing about peace time double moves
the only thing you state about that is this sentence:
If you are the last player to play the turn, when you hit "end turn" the
server will advance the turn while you are logged in. You can play your
next turn immediately (don't do this during a war..). Hit end turn
again..
other than that sentence, there is nothing pertaining to non-war time double moves
Изпратено в 20:35, събота
2metraninja: I explained in the thread that there cant be followed peace-time order so my position on this is clear. but even looking on this from strict juridical way, in the Western law system it is "everything that is not forbidden is allowed" because you cant describe each and every single specific case
Caledorn: I cannot rule a game based on that
Изпратено в 20:41, събота
Caledorn: So either I must step down as admin (gracefully of course, I am not irritated - just surprised that you would think moving twice in a row against someone you intend to declare war on in 3 turns is "just a tactical move" and not abusing the Pitboss simultaneous turn system) and you find someone else to rule in this matter, or I will have to rule based on the RB rules which I have found to be the best rules to avoid bad blood between players.

Изпратено в 20:43, събота
2metraninja: it is my firm belief that it can be described by "just a tactical move" because it does not break any rules which can be described with words
rules, not general guidelines or something in the sphere of personal feelings
Caledorn: Well, as I said, you have to be careful with following that firm belief on RB, or you may find yourself being given penalties by the lurkers :-/
on CFC it's different of course
2metraninja: I've been already in that there, but no one can argue sensibly with me there
about what is it "peace double-move"
Caledorn: That's probably because you don't want to listen, because you are very very firmly set in your beliefs that everything needs to be ruled by clear definitions and words - and you disregard the rules that have been made by experience
2metraninja: best was Lewwin's "eat shits, dude" or somethinglike that lol
Caledorn: (that is not an insult btw!)
2metraninja: poor guy
Caledorn: many of the unwritten rules at RB are based on experience. Look at how many PB's and PBEM's they have conducted. They know what causes conflicts, for sure
2metraninja: here is the problem - you mention "rules have been made by experience" is actually not a rule
Caledorn: I am sorry that Lewwyn would write anything like that .. That's completely non-constructive
They are rules - everyone just knows them by heart, and they follow them because they know that they are included in the "Do not be a jerk"
2metraninja: but more like the natives in some countries rulemaking - it have name - it is called "common society judging"
Caledorn: no no
you completely misunderstand how these rules have come into existence
these rules have come into existence by agreement of all the players
everyone there knows them by heart because they remember the horrible conflicts and situations that have killed games in the past because they were not followed in the past
why do you think people on RB dislike Parkin so much for instance?
2metraninja: give me again reason why player A would have the right to settle the spot between him and his neighbor in the example I gave you with the 2 border cities?
because he entered first in this turn?
because he had the luck to enter first in the previous turn?
why he enters first to play, isnt it gaining an unfair advantage?
Caledorn: no - only if he played first in several previous turns
no
2metraninja: why? this gives him 1 turn advantage
Caledorn: because the other player can disrupt it at any time, or have the courtesy to send a pm and ask to have the first half of the turn because of the current game situation
2metraninja: just because he had luck to have his playing window close to when the turn switches?
Caledorn: no
again - please read what I am writing

2metraninja: ok, give me other reasons
I do read
we speak about rules
Caledorn: as I have said a lot of times now .. if a turn order has been established, and is being followed by the players, that is the basis for how this is judged
2metraninja: rules are not "lets be nice and agree between ourselves"
but WHEN it is established?
who establish this turn order?
what if it deviates ?
Caledorn: if a player suddenly stops following the turn order to double move a unit that gives him an advantage, then he is the one who gains an unfair advantage
for the fourth time: just don't double move a settler .. laughs it IS that simple, Dimo

2metraninja: to follow a turn order means that there must be such in first place
and you CANNOT have established turn order with EVERYONE
Caledorn: no, but you CAN have a semi-established turn order with your neighbours, and you CAN avoid moving your settler 4 moves until your neighbours have played their turns
it is really very very very simple
2metraninja: I dont agree that someone having luck to play before me few turns before actual race starts gets right to be 1 turn ahead of me
for me it is really simple too
Caledorn: no because you think you have to be the only one who cannot move a settler 4 moves the way I interpret you
if all players adhere to that, everyone has the exact same ground to play from, and it is 110% fair
2metraninja: but you cant realistically adhere to that
Caledorn: why?
I do
I have done so in 2 pitbosses at RB now
What's the problem?
2metraninja: the fact that there can be a race means that BOTH players intended to settle this spot, they had built settlers and had them on the move LONG LONG ago
do you start following turn order the time you set settler for build?
Caledorn: no
I follow turn order whenever I have a settler completed. I move him 2 moves, end my turn
2metraninja: otherwise, it is again a matter of free time who plays first in a X-10 turns
and then everyone can insist this turn order to be followed
Caledorn: Then I move him again 2 moves after my neighbours have had the opportunity to move their settlers (if they even have any)
if they play after me in the same turn that I moved the settler, then I get to move the settler 2 more moves first thing next turn
2metraninja: but what gives you right to move your settler before your opponent once you complete him?
Caledorn: if I played after them in the same turn, I need to wait until they've played in the next turn before I move the settler again.
2metraninja: OK, I understand what you mean and what you do
but it comes to who played first in the turn the settler is completed?
is that the definition?
Caledorn: the turn the settler is moved first.
2metraninja: whoever have play first in the turn when a settler is completed, he have 1 turn of movement advantage?
Caledorn: if you happen to be lucky enough to move your settler before your neighbours, then that's luck.
2metraninja: oh luck
Caledorn: if you happen to be unlucky enough that they got to move their settler first, then that's their luck.
2metraninja: I know when my settlers will be completed
that have nothing to do with luck
Caledorn: yep - but you do not know when your neighbours settlers will be completed.
you can only speculate
you do not even know if they build a settler at all unless you have a lot of esp on them
so here's where basic common sense comes into the picture, or you make this sound as if you can't move a settler at all.
2metraninja: by the same logic you dont know when he will move his settler in sigth
you may have luck in playing once, then turn switch so you play second time and settle before him?
Caledorn: correct. but with this logic it doesn't matter if a settler comes into sight, because you know that neither you nor him have moved the settler 4 moves where you have only been given the opportunity to move it 2.
2metraninja: no, those who say settler must be moved in turn order are those who make it seems that you cannot move settler at all
Caledorn: no, because you should never move your settlers more than 2 moves until he gets a chance to move his 2. and he is of course following the same rule, so there is no conflict.
no, you are twisting it into that ;-)
because you strongly disagree with the rule, you are trying to find any way possible to make it sound like a silly rule
which is perfectly okay
it works 110% over at RB
and has done for years
so the only problem is players who do not wish to follow it
2metraninja: but how you at all know someone is moving a settler? are you serious you establish and follow a turn order with everyone when you build a settler?
Caledorn: I don't have a problem with that
yes
and again, I've done that in 2 PBs over there now, and I know everyone else does too.
2metraninja: I may say the same thing with more reasons - that because you like that "rule" you try to find things that support it and twist the facts

Caledorn: if there is a crisis about play times etc, you either state in your thread that you need to move it twice, and let the lurkers decide on that - or you ask the lurkers to log in and move it for you after the neighbours get to move. another reason why the RB system is so good, because you can always ask a lurker to log in and do something for you.