Newbie guide

Bamboocha

Warlord
After being a bit disappointed by Civ V and having a toaster that can't run Civ VI, I've looked in the direction of the often praised Civ IV. I've been playing it on-and-off for the past few months and I can see why it recieves more praise than its successor, yet I just can't get into it. I imagine it's because I entirely have the wrong mindset. I know the mechanics of the game so a basic tutorial isn't needed, I'd just like to know how to "git gud". Could you guys perhaps link me to some more advanced strategy guides or explanations of certain concepts and what strategies fit what victory conditions and the like?

I'm also using the Better BAT mod by the way, which improves a lot of things like interface and AI.

(Brief story: I started playing Civ IV back in 2007 or 2008 (mainly playing vanilla and warlords scenarios...poorly). Set it down for about a year and at some point grabbed BTS and found this forum. Rest is history.)

First, I'd be surprised if you really know the "mechanics of the game". I've been playing about 10 years and still learn stuff. However, there are some basic "mechanics" and "guidelines" that benefit any game. To clarify though, newer players, without guidance, often fall into bad habits and traps while thinking they know the mechanics when they come here. Point is, prepare to relearn the game.

If you look at the top menus for Civ IV, you will find the War Academy which has a lot of articles regarding various aspects of the game - mechanics, conditions, etc.. Some are quite old, but still helpful. One of note is Sisuitil's Beginner's guide. The article in the War Academy is I believe a bit dated and there is a newer version (PDF) found in the corresponding thread in the Strategy Articles subforum of the Strategy and Tips forum. Although a couple of points I don't fully agree with, most of that article is a very good introduction to the game.